COE Bidding - May 2026

On 5/7/2026 at 9:32 PM, Daniu82 said:

So BYD provided wrong data to LTA? Misleading leh. And LTA don’t need to double check? Everyday just sit in air con office shake leg ah? 

I am normally the 1st one to gan LTA, but in this case, I can understand. The AD prices are so opaque with over-trade, various discounts and COE bidding schemes, LTA can only take the AD list prices to be fair.

In any case, after LTA provide the basic cost (which is good of them already), you are free to go car showroom to find out the real cost and work out the numbers yourself.

Edited by Ake109

On 5/7/2026 at 9:31 PM, Daniu82 said:

That was Mar data. Now COE much higher but don’t think their prices changed very much. 

What I shown you is based on $123k COE from April 2nd round and April 26 price list 

5th Gear
On 5/7/2026 at 5:50 PM, Ake109 said:

THIS IS COCK LAH DEY.

Its using rack prices. A sealion 7 premium is 210k out the door before overtrade. Not 280k++ from that table

This is give potential buyer the perception that the dealer has thrown in a lot of goodies and discount and the buyer has bag a good deal (feel shiok factor).

Just like Mercedes, most buyers may not realized that list price reflect a 6 digit profit, but will be thankful and committed when Cycle and Carriage give them a higher trade-in price under the overtrade smoke screen.

So BYD provided wrong data to LTA? Misleading leh. And LTA don’t need to double check? Everyday just sit in air con office shake leg ah? 

As a car owner you should know that car price can be bargained, even during promo and motor show. Another hidden reason for the high list price is to provide an avenue for buyer to take higher loan in a legal way. For example if say there is an $40K overtrade given, the amount can be contributed as down payment, while the buyer loan calculation will be based on the list price. Sorry, I am not as good @Carbon82, not able to provide detailed calculation to illustrate my point.

You say some more later they will take away the statistics🤣. But if the data is wrong, might as well remove it.

5th Gear
On 5/8/2026 at 7:27 AM, Ct3833 said:

You say some more later they will take away the statistics🤣. But if the data is wrong, might as well remove it.

Thinking aloud, how many buyers / owners actually care or know about the OMV vs selling price thingy? And with the revised ARF/PARF scheme, where bread and butter models has $0 or peanuts-like PARF value, I can safely said that >90% or even 99% of the buyer's decision making are based heavily on selling price and/or monthly installment amount, features, appeal and maybe reliability.

The data provided by LTA is not 100% accurate as other cost such as 6 or 12 months road tax (already bundled in the sales package), free charger or charging credits (for EV, PHEV), petrol voucher (for ICE, hybrid), and other freebies (service credits, shopping vouchers, solar film, free/subsidized insurance, etc) are not included in the cost computation.

End of the day, if LTA decided to remove this basic car cost table from their website, it doesn't affect anyone since most buyer don't care, and the calculative few (like you and me) will still be able to work out the sum using the OMV value provided. From @RadX perspective, if you need to ask, calculate, think hard on which car to buy, you are not ready.

• Haha! 7

On 5/8/2026 at 8:57 AM, SGCM928 said:

Thinking aloud, how many buyers / owners actually care or know about the OMV vs selling price thingy? And with the revised ARF/PARF scheme, where bread and butter models has $0 or peanuts-like PARF value, I can safely said that >90% or even 99% of the buyer's decision making are based heavily on selling price and/or monthly installment amount, features, appeal and maybe reliability.

The data provided by LTA is not 100% accurate as other cost such as 6 or 12 months road tax (already bundled in the sales package), free charger or charging credits (for EV, PHEV), petrol voucher (for ICE, hybrid), and other freebies (service credits, shopping vouchers, solar film, free/subsidized insurance, etc) are not included in the cost computation.

End of the day, if LTA decided to remove this basic car cost table from their website, it doesn't affect anyone since most buyer don't care, and the calculative few (like you and me) will still be able to work out the sum using the OMV value provided. From @RadX perspective, if you need to ask, calculate, think hard on which car to buy, you are not ready.

none of my friends care about dealer margin... unlike some people here...
the sticker price ultimately decides everything.

• Haha! 9

On 5/8/2026 at 9:05 AM, Lala81 said:

Heng ah, like that I think I can be consider one of your friends. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

4th Gear

Off topic, the pop up BMW ad is irritating, how to remove? 

On 5/8/2026 at 8:57 AM, SGCM928 said:

WORD!

like some ppl talk until cockroach recincarnated 6x and end up as kaiju, still never buy and the cows become wagyu also........

in short, this

image.png.a08329662eff5d64f72de8ecd5782ef7.png

• Haha! 9

On 5/8/2026 at 9:14 AM, Tianmo said:

Heng ah, like that I think I can be consider one of your friends. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Lich man and lich man friends spotted. 🤣

On 5/8/2026 at 9:42 AM, Cumzilla said:

AI knew that you viewed BMW before, it is why it keeps feeding you BMW. For my case, xxx keeps popping up 🤣

just use a browser with pop up blocker extension.

I use brave as default which doesn't show any ads.

On 5/8/2026 at 10:31 AM, Ct3833 said:

Lich man and lich man friends spotted. 🤣

Why care about dealer margin. It's not like comparing PI dealers prices.

Even if you know the margin, what can you do about it? You think like wet market can bargain price meh?

On 5/8/2026 at 12:23 PM, Benarsenal said:

Even if you know the margin, what can you do about it? You think like wet market can bargain price meh?

Some ppl think so apparently 

compare compare until coffin liao

as long as the deal is better than friends/relatives/colleagues/neighbours who bought the same car can already 😁

I find it irritating too

but MCF access is free

so I diam diam 😅

• Haha! 7

4th Gear
On 5/8/2026 at 10:32 AM, Ct3833 said:

AI knew that you viewed BMW before, it is why it keeps feeding you BMW. For my case, xxx keeps popping up 🤣

Not really, never view anything. Use mobile surf never pop out, but PC one kept coming out when I went in and out every thread, was thinking must be sponsored by BMW gao gao so ad keeps appearing.