ER-3682 Supersonic May 24 Share May 24 On 5/22/2026 at 10:25 PM, Throttle2 said: There is always a choice Opposition too Weak.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic May 24 Share May 24 PAP will only scare,if there is only ONE Opposition Party.! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged May 24 Share May 24 On 5/24/2026 at 4:28 PM, 13177 said: This is why coe demand still very high cause people are buying new car. So coe price would maintain over 100k plus. As some say, if you have to full cash pay for your COE you will see demand come down overnight. The problem is that the COE price is now baked into the selling price of the car, sometimes even the previous loan might be "overtraded" into the new car's price, which lets financial institutions make their fortunes on credit 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator May 24 Share May 24 On 5/24/2026 at 3:24 PM, macrosszero said: Went to walk walk showrooms as my car's COE is up in a few years I realised the current system is geared towards nudging people to buy new car To renew will require you to come up with 100-120k cash or "sell" your car to a dealer so you can put the renewal on loan Or you can buy a new car, trade in your old car for its paper plus nominal body value Take BYD Seal 6 for example, since "mandatory" loan is 70%, downpayment is "only" less than $55k Less trade in the old car at 10k or more PARF So much less upfront financial pain! And new car smell! I think I rather save up to renew COE at this level if I cannot full cash to buy a new car From what I know only Honda, Hyundai n Tesla allows u to pay full cash for new car without penalty for not taking loan. Any other AD allows? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged May 24 Share May 24 Thats the bloody problem. People willing to loan loan loan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 24 Share May 24 On 5/24/2026 at 9:16 PM, Spring said: From what I know only Honda, Hyundai n Tesla allows u to pay full cash for new car without penalty for not taking loan. Any other AD allows? They allow but the sales person will probably quote a different price for full cash purchase. i would ask to speak to the boss when that happens. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 24 Share May 24 (edited) On 5/24/2026 at 9:16 PM, Spring said: From what I know only Honda, Hyundai n Tesla allows u to pay full cash for new car without penalty for not taking loan. Any other AD allows? Doubt any Others. Unless it’s a AD that is desperate to move units.then maybe they do one off. Else they will wait for one who will loan. there will be a penalty to the min loan price. so can forget fish market brands to budge. They will kindly tell you to F off one side…. 🤣 Edited May 24 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged May 24 Share May 24 On 5/24/2026 at 9:16 PM, Spring said: From what I know only Honda, Hyundai n Tesla allows u to pay full cash for new car without penalty for not taking loan. Any other AD allows? Back then I bought from an AD the incentive to loan from them but redeem after one year was only a few hundred dollars gained but I still took the money I would have spent to cash buy the car but put it to a fixed deposit, just out of principle and spite. Know that buying a car and making you take a loan is making you an opportunity for another entity to make money off from. The entire car industry is structured around credit and loans - cars are just a convenient excuse for giving people credit and charging them interest Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cloudfire 2nd Gear May 24 Share May 24 @Throttle2 On 5/24/2026 at 10:04 PM, Throttle2 said: They allow but the sales person will probably quote a different price for full cash purchase. i would ask to speak to the boss when that happens. To the best of my knowledge, Honda is fixed price with or without loan. Just that the salesperson earns less with no commission from loan and harder to bargain for freebies. A few friends and I brought from Honda with no loan. No problem. I did a 2-car deal and manage to squeeze some freebies from the salesperson. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 24 Share May 24 On 5/24/2026 at 11:14 PM, Cloudfire said: @Throttle2 To the best of my knowledge, Honda is fixed price with or without loan. Just that the salesperson earns less with no commission from loan and harder to bargain for freebies. A few friends and I brought from Honda with no loan. No problem. I did a 2-car deal and manage to squeeze some freebies from the salesperson. Actually I prefer the car as if from factory with maybe just carpet type car mats. Don’t need their solar film, camera or what not. cheaper can liao. If no warranty and reduce even more I might take. Heck, the few brand new the Japanese cars that me and family bought over the years, had never claimed anything from warranty. when I once tried to claim, they fobbed me off by just greasing the brake calipers till I gave up and changed the disc myself, then the sound disappeared. but of course with EVs now, more unknowns hence one needs the warranty. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cloudfire 2nd Gear May 25 Share May 25 On 5/24/2026 at 11:52 PM, Mkl22 said: Actually I prefer the car as if from factory with maybe just carpet type car mats. Don’t need their solar film, camera or what not. cheaper can liao. If no warranty and reduce even more I might take. Heck, the few brand new the Japanese cars that me and family bought over the years, had never claimed anything from warranty. when I once tried to claim, they fobbed me off by just greasing the brake calipers till I gave up and changed the disc myself, then the sound disappeared. but of course with EVs now, more unknowns hence one needs the warranty. For us back then, we took the no frill package (think now call essential) which has the bare minimal. Our SE recommended it. He breaks down the sums and showed us that the upgrade is not worth it. It consists of 3 free servicing and only front camera (which our SE upgrade for us FOC to front and back). For Honda, I think the solar film is added in by the AD themselves and no option to remove. Anyway, for such items, I believe the ADs will get them cheaper due to economies of scale. Save me the trouble and time of getting them ourselves as well. So why not? I cannot imagine getting a bare bone new car, then going to different places to fix car cam, solar film, paint protection, visors, etc etc. Other than travelling, each installation will take quite a bit of time. Hours spend waiting, or the trouble of dropping car off and then picking car up later, are a waste. My previous Nissan, I felt the engine vibration in like 2 years after purchase from Tan Chong. When I voice it out during servicing, was of course brushed off by service advisor. Was not happy and feedback to my SE, whom I kept in contact with and maintained a good relationship. SE settled it and told me to drive back to look for servicing center manager, which I did. They changed my engine mountings which lasted me till I sold it. Besides getting a good deal, I think having an old bird SE who can and is willing to push for things when needed is very important also. And yes. for EV and hybrid, with all the unknown, non-proven track records of the batteries in our tropical climate, warranty is probably very good to have. Just my 2 cents. Cheer! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 25 Share May 25 On 5/24/2026 at 11:52 PM, Mkl22 said: Actually I prefer the car as if from factory with maybe just carpet type car mats. Don’t need their solar film, camera or what not. cheaper can liao. If no warranty and reduce even more I might take. Heck, the few brand new the Japanese cars that me and family bought over the years, had never claimed anything from warranty. when I once tried to claim, they fobbed me off by just greasing the brake calipers till I gave up and changed the disc myself, then the sound disappeared. but of course with EVs now, more unknowns hence one needs the warranty. By giving warranty is one thing, but whether can claim when something spoilt is another thing. No point even for most EV now is giving 10 years warranty but if this cannot claim, that cannot claim also no use. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic May 25 Share May 25 (edited) On 5/26/2026 at 6:21 AM, 13177 said: By giving warranty is one thing, but whether can claim when something spoilt is another thing. No point even for most EV now is giving 10 years warranty but if this cannot claim, that cannot claim also no use. Worse,some ''Pariah'' Brands,even before Warranty end,Factory Closed Down...don't say warranty,even Spare Parts also don't have.! Edited May 25 by ER-3682 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged May 25 Share May 25 On 5/26/2026 at 5:52 AM, ER-3682 said: Worse,some ''Pariah'' Brands,even before Warranty end,Factory Closed Down...don't say warranty Spare Parts also don't have.! just saw on Tik Tok the ah beng salesman said got more than 30 EV brand in Singapore wor.. and our Father Land got over 20 among the 30.. so i guess use butt think oso go with the major brand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic May 25 Share May 25 On 5/26/2026 at 6:54 AM, Ody_2004 said: just saw on Tik Tok the ah beng salesman said got more than 30 EV brand in Singapore wor.. and our Father Land got over 20 among the 30.. so i guess use butt think oso go with the major brand But usually ''Pariah'' Brands offered better Value for Money...also some People find popular Brands like BYD too common,wanted to ''stand'' out from the Rest. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...