17" wheels

Sassylass

Guys... need help here... [sunny]

was wondering whether will it b advisable to change to a 17" wheels... heard dat there's 2 diff thickness of the wheels oso, mainly for stability is it?? if i din learn wrongly, there's one @ 195 n another thickness of d wheels @ 215.. is it okie to change n will it affect d performance of d car? petrol consumption, RPM??? [gossip]

whats yr ride and sizing now? U alsop can check form yr manual about sizing. There are various of tyres sizing, must have to check yr current one before deciding which to use.

Dun ever use the wrong sizing bro.... U will suffer like I did... [shakehead]

17" abit overkill leh no doubt it will look nice. So it depends on what you want. Sure 17" gives you more stability but at the expense of FC and pickup and not forgetting the replacement cost next time will be more expensive. wink.gif

It'll depend what car that you are getting, if it's 1.6L car, then 16" will be just nice, 17" a bit too big liao & will suffer on pickup & heavy on the fuel consumption sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Guys... need help here... [sunny]

was wondering whether will it b advisable to change to a 17" wheels... heard dat there's 2 diff thickness of the wheels oso, mainly for stability is it?? if i din learn wrongly, there's one @ 195 n another thickness of d wheels @ 215.. is it okie to change n will it affect d performance of d car? petrol consumption, RPM??? [gossip]

like the guys said.. depends on your car power etc. One important thing to watch out for is the weight of the rim. If your stocks are say 14" or 15", and if they already are alloys, switching to 17" would usually weigh you down. Most 'reasonably priced' 17" (reasonably I mean around $200 to $300 a piece) would normally weigh in the region of 9kg or more. The forged/light weight ones weigh in at 6+kg or 7+kg - but usually cost more than $500 a piece. Personal experience - 7.5kg vs 9kg is a very NOTICEABLE difference in pickup.

As to the tyre width, again, the wider, you MAY have better grip on dry, but it also means greater rolling resistance, and greater tendency to aquaplane on wet roads if your car is not heavy enough. really dangerous.

As to consumption - it's usually higher with heavier rims because you would likely end up stepping harder to get the car going, and with wider tyres also you need to keep the gas pedal down more to overcome the rolling resistance (e.g. when you want to just roll at cruising speeds, the resistance would slow you down sooner).

Hope this helps.

guys! i need your help.

my stock rim and tyres are 195/60/15.

I went trough the tyre and rim calculator at various website but still quite blur.

can you please advise me what is the best for both 16" and 17"?

Thanks.

Hi, my stock tyre is 205/55/R16. If i want to upgrade to 17 inch, what is the recommended configuration?

nope

closest fit for 205/55/16 is 205/50/17, then 225/45/17 then 215/45/17

these 3 sizes easier to fit that 215/50/17 (low demand for size)

Edited by Furrynadz

seriously not advisable unless u hv intention for BBK (big brake kits)

no benefits.

replacemetn tyre also more exp

stock is best

Hi I am driving a mazda 2sp stock 185/55/R15 and plans to change to 205/45/R17. just wondering if this is a suitable size??

Will there be problems when turning or will tyre kenna the body when carrying more weight?