POST UR CAR PICS IN THIS THREAD!!

Mondeost220

Personally for me, I would recommend a straight flow concept.

Intakes

For pod filters there are Simota, Apexi Power Intake, K&N HKS, APS, MRT etc.

I decided to go with Apexi as its near maintainence free and doesn't use oil. HKS and K&N uses oil which runs a high risk of screwing your MAF sensor resulting rough idling, stalling etc. PS* Apexi is not an intake you will want if your after 250bhp and above.

Exhaust

Exhaust will definitely be a Turboback. Preferably Stainless Steel and 3". Make sure it runs on 1 Hi flow cat and 1 resonator. Reason why you need a turboback is because the down pipes of Rexs and STIs have a cat in it. Its extremely restrictive and penalises heavily on performance. TBE can be of any brand. Apexi N1 is pretty good but on the pricey side.

ECU

The reason why you need to change your ECU is because MY01+ rexs and STIs are smarter. Your intakes and exhaust mods are bound to increase air flow. Upon detecting higher air flow, your ECU will relearn and crank up fuel mixture causing it to run rich resulting lots of backfire and carbon form up.

You have 3 type of ECU to select from. Piggyback, Standalone, Reflash. Whatever it is please bear in mind an aftermarket ECU is only as good as its Tuner.

Also note that 2 cars, same mods, spec, year etc etc using same ECU with different tuners will get you 2 different gains. It is worth the extra buck to get a reputable tuner to tune your ECU. If possible, get a fellow rex owner's dyno chart and ECU mapping and evaluate the tuner's style and method and see if your happy with BHP and torque curve in reference to RPM.

Piggyback pretty much is an add on to your existing ECU and is meant to trick your ECU. In my opinion, you get you pay for. Not much gains for the money you pay. Several Brands are Unichip, SM6T, Utec, E-manage etc. Piggybacks are good for high 200s bhp application and below. Price Range: Anywhere from $800-$1500 (Not including Tuning)

Standlone ECU is a full replacement ECU. Meaning removing the whole stock ECU and replacing it with an aftermarket. You have brands like Motec, Autronic, Link, HKS FCON V pro etc. Definitely worth the money + lots more additional features like Anti Lag System. Price Range: $4500 onwards.

Reflash softwares like Ecutek provides more than what a piggyback offers but lack of a physical unit. Tuner plugs into your factory ECU, and tune from there. Good for up to 750bhp application. I'm currently running on Ecutek and for the money I'm paying, it is worth it. If your keen, I can provide my dynochart for reference. For Ecutek you have Type 1, 1.5, 2, 3(custom tune) to choose from. Price Range: $1900++

This should be your typical Stage 1 mods to consider. Stock components such as brakes, suspensions are still capable of handling. Stage 2 onwards is another story. Aftermarket ECU will help your TD04 boost all the way to redline rather than dying off at 4500rpm+ Enjoy modding.

Just noticed your ride is 3 weeks old. Make sure you do all mods AFTER you've gone for your first inspection.

As well as wait for your odo to hit 1000km before changing your exhaust.

Post: Sweet looking ride you've got there. But you gotta lower it. sly.gif

Ha hA told u humble ride liao...... now on budget. still saving up for my coilover.hahahalaugh.gif

Nice looking ES. The background are Cosy bay & Marina rite? rolleyes.gif

ya lor... lidat also can tell har... next time must find new spot liao......too bad spore too small go anywhere also can recon.

next time try park geylang take pics with china gal ..........hahahahahasweatdrop.gif

Edited by Spoonsports

In that case you better enjoy the comfort of stock suspension coz once the coilovers go in, its bye bye to comfort. [sly]

If I were you I'll take it to the track and find out what the stock suspension is capable of. After installing the coilovers, track it again and find out the difference. You may also wanna tune your suspension to your likings. [;)]

Wah Sylvia is one of the bengest cars ever, and you've managed to make it even more beng and it looks great. Sexy red. Sexy beng car. Super beng super chio. I like your Beng ride.

[thumbsup]