Mgmgphyo 1st Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Most likely fan if overheat while stationary. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Might be the radiator thermostat or fan motor. plus water way obstructed as per earlier....and maybe faulty water pump, cant circulate properly... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Do Turbo diesels generally have less of overheating issues ? Despite the ultra high compression w Turbo, many commercial vehicles seem to run fine. Taxi uncles tell me that Diesel engine runs better when hotter. Just ensure coolant & eng oil is at good levels. Diesel only overheat, or rather total burn out when oil/coolant too low. If true, are diesel vehicles more suited to Sk's hot & humid climate with constant start stop traffic? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 plus water way obstructed as per earlier....and maybe faulty water pump, cant circulate properly... How can we tell if the water pump is not working? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Diesel engine when idling the coolant temp will keep on dropping. Why it's so, simple because heat generated during combustion is being used during the high compression stoke to creat ignition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 How can we tell if the water pump is not working? I think can check using a pressure gauge or flow meter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Today my car got stuck in causeway jam. and within 20 mins, the engine temperature red icon came on. Air con was switched off in jam. No leak on radiator or hoses. Water came out of the spare radiator plastic tank (it was full). Radiator had water loss. Topped up 2 litres of water, and drove home. No issues. Just now, 12 hrs later, checked radiator and beneath engine bay for leaks. No leak. Done a complete check before trip. Radiator was full, coolant changed in Dec last year. Engine oil was full, changed few mths back. Could it be linked to air con thermostat? Cos my air con termostat is faulty, and someties air con is not cold, cos ice has formed in the condenser, and I need to switch to fan mode to allow the ice to melt before switching to airocn mode again, then air con is cold. What could have caused the engine to overheat? Are you driving a Chevrolet ? Like the older model of Optra, I would advise against driving with aircon off - the twin fan, coolant and aircon is inter-related to one another. Also, incorrect or "exhausted" engine oil can contribute as it is not efficient with heat removal. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Diesel engine when idling the coolant temp will keep on dropping. Why it's so, simple because heat generated during combustion is being used during the high compression stoke to creat ignition. this is so ideal for Sg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kengheng450 2nd Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Today my car got stuck in causeway jam. and within 20 mins, the engine temperature red icon came on. Air con was switched off in jam. No leak on radiator or hoses. Water came out of the spare radiator plastic tank (it was full). Radiator had water loss. Topped up 2 litres of water, and drove home. No issues. Just now, 12 hrs later, checked radiator and beneath engine bay for leaks. No leak. Done a complete check before trip. Radiator was full, coolant changed in Dec last year. Engine oil was full, changed few mths back. Could it be linked to air con thermostat? Cos my air con termostat is faulty, and someties air con is not cold, cos ice has formed in the condenser, and I need to switch to fan mode to allow the ice to melt before switching to airocn mode again, then air con is cold. What could have caused the engine to overheat? I once had this problem,went to w/s and found out radiator cap spoilt.Change new cap and everything ok leow 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Do Turbo diesels generally have less of overheating issues ? Despite the ultra high compression w Turbo, many commercial vehicles seem to run fine. Taxi uncles tell me that Diesel engine runs better when hotter. Just ensure coolant & eng oil is at good levels. Diesel only overheat, or rather total burn out when oil/coolant too low. If true, are diesel vehicles more suited to Sk's hot & humid climate with constant start stop traffic? Diesel engines can run 24/7 with no issues. Those portable power generators also run on diesel, 24/7 365. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 (edited) Thanks to all MCF gurus for your response. Once I send my car to the workshop and get the answer, the one who correctly diagnosed the fault gets a kiss from me. Only ONE kiss. No more, no less. Edited September 30, 2013 by Vinceng 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged October 1, 2013 Share October 1, 2013 (edited) It is the fan motor that is faulty. Original Denso made-in-Japan fan motor $180, labour $90. Expensive or not? Edited October 1, 2013 by Vinceng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ooosh 1st Gear October 1, 2013 Share October 1, 2013 It is the fan motor that is faulty. Original Denso made-in-Japan fan motor $180, labour $90. Expensive or not? Why dont you check from stock parts companies like fong yat if it cost $180? Labour i think its too expensive. Range around $60-$70. I changed fuel filter before (which should be same labour intensive) for $70. I once fitted full underbraces on my car for only $60... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 1, 2013 Share October 1, 2013 Thanks to all MCF gurus for your response. Once I send my car to the workshop and get the answer, the one who correctly diagnosed the fault gets a kiss from me. Only ONE kiss. No more, no less. So the lucky chap will get a kiss from you leh ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 1, 2013 Share October 1, 2013 It is the fan motor that is faulty. Original Denso made-in-Japan fan motor $180, labour $90. Expensive or not? Not sure how much the fan cost, but the labour seems a bit high....how come? Was it very difficult to replace and fix it ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 1, 2013 Share October 1, 2013 Are you driving a Chevrolet ? Like the older model of Optra, I would advise against driving with aircon off - the twin fan, coolant and aircon is inter-related to one another. Also, incorrect or "exhausted" engine oil can contribute as it is not efficient with heat removal. Aiyah u drive Optra. I also drive Optra. I dun hv such issues leh. My cooling system works fine. Slow or fast, never overheat. Maybe yr cooling system got issues? Whats the real problem u facing now? U hv overheating in jams? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 1, 2013 Share October 1, 2013 (edited) It is the fan motor that is faulty. Original Denso made-in-Japan fan motor $180, labour $90. Expensive or not? I told u it was radiator fan problem. Yr fan motor replacement damm super ex. Total u paid $270. Last time my Corona CD fan spoil, I go Markcool ask Ah Huat to help. He change for me only $100 plus all in. Edited October 1, 2013 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear October 1, 2013 Share October 1, 2013 I told u it was radiator fan problem. Yr fan motor replacement damm super ex. Total u paid $270. Last time my Corona CD fan spoil, I go Markcool ask Ah Huat to help. He change for me only $100 plus all in. Usually it's the fan spoil that cos the car overheat, you are always spot on Ha ha Yup my old n current car, all in a fan replacement ard 120 sgd That's about it ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...