Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie September 17, 2004 Share September 17, 2004 Hmm.. Not as jade green ? Maybe the colour is quite subjective. Also, I think I did not put the lights at full brightness. But what I show is most probably about 70% of the max. 1) ABS, EDB - Yes. EBA (I assume it means "Brake Assist" in Toyota terms) is not. But definitely Power-Asssisted brakes. Brake Assist in Japanese cars (and I think Merc also use that term) means if they detect rapid releasing of accelerator and quick depression of brakes, they will INCREASE the amount of brakes for you, so it brakes MORE. Gentle touch on the brakes and you feel as though you have press the e-brake. 2) Currently only Driver airbag. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear September 17, 2004 Share September 17, 2004 I cry when I see KR or JP cars in SG. All stripped down like crack whores. The US Aveo has more equipment than the Optra here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic September 17, 2004 Share September 17, 2004 nice doggy.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie September 17, 2004 Share September 17, 2004 Yeah lor.. I told the Sales Manager at SA.. ask him to feedback to GMDAT... Additional Airbags Electric Foldable Mirror Traction Control System Additional Power Outlets. Turbo Charger.. Handbrake at the right position Electronic Seats These are some of the things I dun mind paying a bit extra... Just make it available and let me choose lor. Everything also dun have.. But ok lah.. at least some of the luxuary items better than Altis 1.6, which are only available on Altis 1.8... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie September 17, 2004 Share September 17, 2004 Oh.. haha.. yeah.. Doggie disappeared into the night... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic September 17, 2004 Share September 17, 2004 wif all those stuff, the optra would probably cost over $90k+. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie September 17, 2004 Share September 17, 2004 (edited) True lah, but then, put it as options lor.. for those who want all those little extras.. Airbag, $1k. Electric folding mirror, at most $100, since the mirror are already electrically adjusting.. TCS - $500 ? Just a program upgrade right ? Afterall, sensors, pressure release are already built in with the ABS. Ok wat.. still cheaper than Altis 1.6 by about 1.5k ? Edited September 17, 2004 by Sotong_kia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic September 17, 2004 Share September 17, 2004 not so simple lah. oso dun forget every $1 is multiplied by >250% for gahmen taxes. if the price diff is so marginal, they would've oredi packed it in without hesitation as SG is seen as a premium market for most manufacturers. unfortunately, in this price sensitive segment and given the state of the economy, hyundai is in the lead and has set the tone wif it's bare bone package and the market is lapping it up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitrate Neutral Newbie September 17, 2004 Share September 17, 2004 agreedor a march even yeah! a MARCH! one of SG's TOP TEN UNDER-RATED CARS!! (featured in this month's CarBuyer mag) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie September 17, 2004 Share September 17, 2004 [reply] hyundai is in the lead and has set the tone wif it's bare bone package and the market is lapping it up. I think Kia is in the lead for stripping down everything.. No ABS, No Airbags.. All I am asking from GM is more options.. maybe the volume not so big lor.. so no point stocking or create more logistics problem.. I think I understand that.. but I wouldn't mind if they tell me that I have to wait.. as long as options open, rather than say "No." outright.. I have to go to the web to find all these features available in other countries.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic September 17, 2004 Share September 17, 2004 (edited) know wat u mean but most of these stuff are factory fitted. so yr SE is not pulling yr leg. if SG-spec car dun hv realli means dun hv. Edited September 17, 2004 by Soya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear September 18, 2004 Share September 18, 2004 Yeah lor.. I told the Sales Manager at SA.. ask him to feedback to GMDAT... Additional Airbags Electric Foldable Mirror Traction Control System Additional Power Outlets. Turbo Charger.. Handbrake at the right position Electronic Seats These are some of the things I dun mind paying a bit extra... Just make it available and let me choose lor. Everything also dun have.. But ok lah.. at least some of the luxuary items better than Altis 1.6, which are only available on Altis 1.8... what are the luxury items tat in OPtra which are better than ALtis 1.6 ? having tried the altis...notice it has ABS,EBD, folding side mirror.rear and front fog light..lots of fake wood trimming or stickers ( biggest turn off for me)...and a big big center hump at the rear.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Looneytune Neutral Newbie September 18, 2004 Share September 18, 2004 Same here, I chose Optra also because of the comfort and silent drive. As for FC, it will still be better than my previous Matrix which drinks fuel like water!! Also, part of the reason is that there's not many chervolet on the road but not any more. MORE & MORE can be seen on the road. drink fuel like drink water better than drink fuel like drink beer right?? that one, car cannot drive straight! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Looneytune Neutral Newbie September 18, 2004 Share September 18, 2004 I read a US report. Top 3 brands in consumer survey in 2003 : Toyota, Hyundai, Honda. And they quoted number of complaints within 9 weeks (I think) per 100 or per 1000 vehicles sold. Basically, the number has removed the factor of volume. And the number I remember is very close. Something like Toyota - 420+, Hyundai - 440+ and Honda is 440+. Difference is like only 5%. so u mean hyundai as good as toyota & honda, or rather, toyota/honda as bad as hyundai? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie September 18, 2004 Share September 18, 2004 to me, all brand new cars are supposed to be problem free. so i guess this number is oso applicable to all other brands.(manufacturing fault) the real/actual 'complaints' will come in 2yrs later when those wear & tear parts start to give way. then....we can see the Difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eko6 2nd Gear September 18, 2004 Share September 18, 2004 How come the one without flash, the idling rpm so high? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie September 18, 2004 Share September 18, 2004 so u mean hyundai as good as toyota & honda, or rather, toyota/honda as bad as hyundai? ------ I think same thing rite ? Read somewhere in the same report that Hyundai last time very bad.. But improved. So I have no doubts that Korean car has come a long way, and almost on par with Japanese. Japanese now looking at "cost cutting", while Koreans still at the "Improve Quality" mentality. Anyway, the survey is USA. So the only problem is, did they pay attention to cars going to USA, while those going to other parts of the world, QA/QC lower standard ? That I have no idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie September 18, 2004 Share September 18, 2004 (edited) [reply] How come the one without flash, the idling rpm so high? bingo.. see my thread on the Optra Engine Startup.. I think something to do with the grade of petrol I use.. must monitor again.. Edited September 18, 2004 by Sotong_kia ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...