Voltage Stabilizer

Slonez

yarlor, i forgot to mention to include grounding with V.S. completes the electrical filtering. Mine all done D.I.Y., & parts all from SLT. Total cost me ard S$25.00 for both V.S. and grounding cables. sweatdrop.gifthumbsup.gif

Btw, do u DIY yer car oso? smile.gif

Bro, can PM me which shop you got the V.S and grounding? And what are exact item to get?? I know I will need to strip the wires and cramp all the connectors.

I did it at Mcwell. Paid $240 for it. Pivot stabilizer + Maximum Velocity (Mcwell in house brand) 6 points cable. 6 points more than enuf unless you have ICE. The MV cable is suppose to be the thickest cable in the market.

There are other places that can sell cheaper, but I like Mcwell Workmanship. They tied up everything nicely and arrange the VS in a cool position. Not all techicians there are good. Only a few senoir ones can make it, so if you do it there get a Senior Technician.

A few places they can install the 6 points - engine, accerlerator,chassis,throttle,aircon and a spare point which can either to connected to any ICE or to your engine/chassis. Double reinforcement.

You want cool cables get HKS or splitfire, but be prepared to pay 'cool' prices.

Edited by Kax2

Aiya I know got cheaper ones for only $75 even cheaper if you DIY. But $85 include pivot VS ?? Got fake look alike from Taiwan leh. And then the thickness of the cable used. Got gold plated or not, got rubber insulation ??

Edited by Kax2

I thought you guys may be interested.

I remove the E-Power VS and immediately noticed less eager pickup, engine seem more strained & ICE sounded more coursed.

i kinda agree with Kax2 on how the VS works.

another think is that i used to have a VS in my car. everything fine, no super great diff in power, respond..blah blah blah.... then 1 fine day, back side ichy, go and remove the VS and lent to a friend, 2 days later, a main fuse in the car blow, it's a fuse that very near to the battery, it blow, and the whole car got no more electricity.

i know nuts about all these electrical things in a car, so tow to workshop, and after a bit of inspection by the mech, found the fuse blow (the fuse is actually a piece of cable, i dun know if it's like that in new car, but my lao pok car is like that one.

so i think the VS does help in maintain'g the current one way or another lor.

hope this is relevant....

aiyah, just coincident, the fuse was old and probably after fiddling, the fuse wire inside broke by itself after so many years. Is normal for old cars..... just like old sayings "If is not broken, don't fix it"

Idea behind a Voltage stabilizer is actually very simple. Your car works on a 12.0 v battery and batteries use Direct Current (DC). Most if not all of your car's equipment are built to run on 12v power.

However problem with DC is that it tend to fluctuate and is not always constantly 12.0 v ie. can range from 11.1 -12.9v.

Some electronics may not be able to power at it's full effectiveness when power supply is crazy and inconsistent. However some car may have inbuilt measures to tolerate this voltage inconsistency, which explains why VS works for some cars but not others. Another factor would be individual sensitivity.

A Voltage Stabilizer (VS) has it's own batteries that help to maintain that 12v.

When it's 11.1v, the VS will supply the 0.9v from it's batteries reserve to maintain that 12v.

When it's 12.9v, the VS will charge the additional 0.9v to it's batteries for future charging usage.

Additionally, a VS may help to charge your car in event of drained car battery.

actually, it's the Alternator that's the cause of voltage fluctuations as the DC is never clean. Only way to provide stable DC is from batteries or switching-mode power supplies, batteries will drain and we need the alternator to charge them up, as for switching-mode power supplies, maybe someone can design one than can be used for the car's electronics, eg. ECU, Sensors, Fuel Injectors thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Alternator just help charge the batteries when the car is switched on, it's the battery itself that's supplying power to the rest of the car.

You can't start your car on a flat battery can you ?

Edited by Kax2

actually, battery starts up engine, after that, it's mainly the alternator that's maintaining the DC power requirements for the car, if your car battery is below the 12v, eg, you forget to switch off the main headlights overnight, you just need to jump start the car & the alternator will charge the battery & at the sametime providing the electrical currents to the car sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

I've travelled in a car with an almost dead battery before. The alternator was doing the job as long as the car is running. Have a dead alternator, forget about travelling far even if your battery is alive. shakehead.gif

Edited by Genie47

VS is plugged to the battery terminals. if VS can help to supply a more steady DC current, does it help in this case? since the alternator is the one that power the car ?