Kianbeng Clutched December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 Issit? Never heard before that they'll charge you in court for traffic offense. Maybe if you don't pay up....? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 It seems things never change or they seems getting worst, even with a new PM, vowing to stamp out corruption. Recently was travelling on the NS Highway. Always know this stretch before Machap got speed camera and TP hiding in bushes. Was careful to keep speed at 110km. But still stop by 3 Malaysian TPs. See Singapore car like see gold. Up goes the frantic waving of the red flag and pull you to the side. "Our speed camera at 37km mark caught you speeding at 122km/hr." "(In my heart): English not bad leh, line used also very professional but chow turtle, either my friend and I are both blind or what...where got speed camera and when was I going above 110km??!!!" " Encik, I going only at 110km" "You want to see the photo? Follow me back to JB Police HQ and see. Then you pay RM300" "(In my heart): Chow turtle, same trick, same line" "Encik, can help?" "How you want me to help you?" Ho seh liao... go back to car, Encik follow... "Now where got 20? Price went up already" "Huh?" Can't believe this is still happening and the price has gone up. They are no better than robbers. There are literally robbers along the highway. Some even do their business preying on cars queueing to get through the checkpoints. Case to note ---> My friends from Navy (naval divers who went through navy seals training) went on a trip. While waiting on the 2nd link, 2 guys approached them and motioned for them to wind down the windows which they did. They whipped out a knife demanding money. Poor bastids never knew what was coming next. My friends grab them through the window, pulled them in and hammered their heads until very jialat.. The 2 robbers fled the scene. Damn funny if you ask me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 i'm not too sure either....heard its the new policy for traffic offence now....wasn;t too sure..so wana ask folks here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 hammered big time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 That's why I only travel on NS highway after 0030hrs.... if they are so hard working... then I'll give it to them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 Yep .... agree Which is why I am so tempted to buy a Malaysian plated car Actually... if M'sia really wanna stamped out corruption for car related fines... very simple... 1. Advertise everywhere don't pay "fines" to police on the spot 2. Advertise everywhere the fines rates 3. Provide a hotline no. for pple to SMS the police's ID no. Given S'poreans' nature to complain... will probably work... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 For myself, only went MY once a yr in CNY to visit relatives but going in using my dad's car. Other than that, my parents will not even dare to go into MY as they heard horror stories, not just these more "civilised" robber and also the real robbers. As for myself, i got no guts to go there for holiday too especially in my own car as my car already approaching 10 yrs will break down anytime, scared of these "nothing but money" face TP and the real robber even though car 9 yrs old. I myself would really hope not to give in if i meet these "civilised" robbers but most Singaporeans went there for holiday, not to go MY to argue with the robbers, who will want to spoil the mood by following them to police station n pay the fine? If u not willing to pay the "official" fine, then u have to pay them a small amount to avoid any trouble. It's not easy.... unless they show prove to the drivers otherwise how we believe those "bastar*s"? These SHAMELESS IDIOTS really ought to be punish n get fired immediately. Even though we Singaporeans don't like our own TP but to some extend, I do respect them when compared to MY TP. If they feel working as a TP is under paid, go for other jobs, don't disgrace themselves as policeman, they are to protect the people but rather they r harming civilians by extorting money? What the world has come to???? LAST WEEK, I FLEW TO KL FOR BUSINESS. MY COLLEAGUE WAS STOP BY THE CUSTOM BECAUSE THE OFFICER FOUND 2 BOX OF CHINESE NUTRITION PILL. HE WAS HELD UP BY THE OFFICER FOR ABT 10 MINS, KEPT ASKING HIM WHAT IS INSIDE THE BOX, HOW MUCH IS THE HEALTH PILLS ETC..... MY COLLEAGUE TOLD HIM JUST SGD10.00 AS HE KNOW THAT HE WANTED TO "TAX" HIM, ON HEARING $10.00, HE ASKED HOW COME SINGAPORE SELL SO CHEAP, MY COLLEAGUE REALLY WENT ALL THE WAY TO EXPLAIN TO HIM WHAT IS THE ADVANTAGES FOR CONSUMING THE PILLS SINCE HE ACTED LIKE HE IS INTERESTED. HE ALSO WANT MY COLLEAGUE TO OPEN UP ONE OF THE BOX (BOX SIZE OF cHICKEN ESSENCE 1/2 DOZEN BOX), HEY IT'S SEAL AND ACTUALLY MEANT TO GIVE IT TO OUR CUSTOMERS. mY COLLEAGUE EVEN PRETEND TO OFFER HIM A SMALL PACK FOR HIM TO TRY SINCE HE ACTED LIKE HE IS INTERESTED. LATER HE GAVE UP SINCE HE FOUND OUT MY COLLEAGUE SAID $10.00 AS NOTHING MUCH TO TAX.... AIRPORT NOW ALSO GOT THESE KIND OF PEOPLE NOW!!!! BEWARE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 Good idea, i definately call if got hotline and also want the photo of my car speeding with speed indicated on photo, attach it and send me the fine if they really insist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S_yeow Neutral Newbie December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 Hotline to call for JPJ (Road Transport Department) is 03-88884244 or email [email protected]. The thing to be aware of is even if you bribe, there is no guarantee that your ticket will be void. You may still end up finding your car number on the blacklist. As Julian suggested, ask for the photo with speed indicated, esp if you feel strongly that you are not in the wrong. If you insist, corrupt cops trying to make a quick buck, may even back off. Anyway, sorry to hear of your bad experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ehonda Neutral Newbie December 14, 2004 Share December 14, 2004 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie December 14, 2004 Share December 14, 2004 mazda pre facelift hatch is it call mazda astina. at there they call it 323F The Astinas can be found in MY ... but there is the 323 hatch also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 14, 2004 Share December 14, 2004 the pm should take a ride in an innocuous looking singapore plated car... then that should care the life out of these buggers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear December 14, 2004 Share December 14, 2004 well, was driving my sunny then. at NS highway. was all along travelling behind a MY plate harrier. speed was around 120+ ba. so approach the roadblock. they did not stop the harrier, so thought i was safe. but in the end they stopped me. well, was speeding..wad to do.....RM50. so far, i myself has not been accused for speeding, becos everytime they stop mi, i;m guilty. but i heard now they implement the immediate fine of Rm300 where if u can;t find. they charge u to court, am i right? u blocked the number plate of the harrier ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David3305 Neutral Newbie December 14, 2004 Author Share December 14, 2004 Well the thing is, who would want to follow them back to see the photo...I am sure they cannot produce the photo but they may charge you with so many other things just to cover up their scam... I heard from my Malaysian friend that occassionally, a convoy of TPs from KL district would come down JB NS Highway just to do this sor of lucrative business. Imagine each one stop 1 car, collected 50. 2 hours stop 20 cars and they have RM1000 in their pocket... Whatever we do is a lose lose situation...so boh pian...be nice, pay up and hope he don't play you out by issuing a ticket days later...and your car is on wanted list. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mavvy Clutched December 14, 2004 Share December 14, 2004 As a Malaysian, it's dishearting to hear corrupt cops are still around lurking for easy prey. Singaporean cars are not the only victims, Malaysian cars get it too. You can help by not bribing. If you are not in the wrong, why shd you bribe? If you bribe, you are admitting that you are in the wrong. I know it's easier said than done. But give it a try, I believe justice will prevail. I'm not implying that you are not truthful. In my years of living in Malaysia, I have never been stopped by TP without commiting some traffic offences. Once I beat red light, kena RM150 which I paid the official way, eventhough I was very tempted to ask "encik, boleh tolong ah?" yeah.. I bet regardless whether SG or MY drivers will get it somehow... I refuse to speed and refuse to pay unofficial way if kenna.. moreover i dunno my way there.. I often drive 80 only.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear December 14, 2004 Share December 14, 2004 Man, I wish u have a hidden cam in your dash facing the driver's window and capture the whole incident, send to both side press and whack them. If frequently drive to My and kenna, make a montage and send to them. They cannot say 'isolated' incident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear December 14, 2004 Share December 14, 2004 Good idea, i definately call if got hotline and also want the photo of my car speeding with speed indicated on photo, attach it and send me the fine if they really insist. Yah... as long as they made it very CLEAR to everybody... then they can't hide liao... but the problem is that... they are not clear... and we are left to guess... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zming Neutral Newbie December 14, 2004 Share December 14, 2004 Never kena this before but heard horror stories of people who ask for photo evidence but being told to wait at some corner while the officers 'retrieve the photo'. After 2 hours of 'waiting', they come back with some 'computer problem' and ask if you still want to wait. Most people will just pay and go If you insist on seeing photo, maybe they let you to wait another 2 hours and ask you again if u still want to wait ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...