The correct run in technique.

Cancanken

when we receive a new car...the mileage if around at most a 100..but when they reach PSA, send to store, workshop, showroom..u think less than a 100 meh?

Is it? I din noe that... So normally we receive new cars with what mileage?

I guess it's still safer to follow what's stated in the manual, which has countless engineers' support, rather than follow ONE person's website.

================

Well said. Whoever follows this new run in style will be guinea pigs. If wrong $$$$$ fly away.

Car manufactures spend millons of $ testing the best way to do it, even upto what grade oils/grease to use for various parts on the car, so they sud know better.

Also running in a new car involves much more than pistons & rings. So do it on a new car & u might have solid tight pistons/rings but every other moving part will shake, rattle & roll. [laugh]

If anybody tries it out, let us know how it turned out & next time we might try lah. [laugh]

Edited by Pisces69

yes, most of the cars are RUN-IN by our respective distributors

so we just need to follow their advice, drive slowly til the first servicing :)

hehe doesn't matter, mine is a 2nd hand car, no such thing as run in [laugh]

This isn't a new way of running ur engine.

The 1st existence of such high rev run in method had been around in europe since 1992, when internet is just blooming at that time.

The car manual suggest that u drive slowly and bring the revs up gradually as the milleage get higher.

To do a hard run in, it means breaking any speed limit of any countries.

Imagine what will happen if the manual suggest a high rev run in and everyone especially the P-platers just get a new car and "hey, hey~ the manual says rev the rpm high and engine brake till low rpm."

A car is revving high while the car infront is engine braking it to low rpm. *BanG*

Tp catches u speeding and u replied its in the manual.

So, who will get the blames in the end?

The car manufacturer.

So can the car manufacturer suggest a high rev run in even though it is good for the car?

To cover their backside, the answer is no.

Moreover, when ur car do not last, and when ur piston is leaking which lead to power loss and problems arised, u will think of changing ur car as u tot it is already 'old' when it had only clocked 20,000km. The car manufacturers will come up with attractive packages which prompt u to flash ur card again.

I had done this high rev run in personnally on my bike.

Compared it with other friends bikes(same model) who did the 'normal' way of low rev run in and the difference is immediately felt when u rev the engine.

High rev engine have quicker response time, faster increment of rpm, engine is much smoother.

On paper, a whopping 10 hp difference.

All the mechanisms in a vehicle when assembly is done with little force.

When a combustion took place, u r toking about thousands of PSI pressure.

Can the force which put the mechanism together during assembly keeps the parts together?

Yes, to a certain extend.

If not, ur car will just break down and u r left holding ur steering wheel only.

But the moving parts is not totally sits into the place there are supposed to, firmly.

U need to create load by reving hard to make sure that the parts are sitted properly at their own place and do not move around, at the early stage.

So, if u do not do a high rev run in, ur parts will not be sitted properly and will shake rattle and roll like u mentioned when the time is up.

To do a high rev run in is not reccomended for a normal family saloon car actually as it is not capable of good handling in high speeds. Things can go very wrong.

And it's even harder to do a high rev run in with auto car.

This high rev run in method is more suitable for performance car.

But how many people will be able to high rev their baby when they just got it?

Heart pain sia, but if u think logically, u should be more heart pain when u r not revving it high.

Anyway, to do high or low rev run in is each to its own.

Low rev run in car is also running good since 5 years ago.

I just thought that this article is of use for people with the aim of acheiving the best for their car and to know something more indepth.

Its really worth getting ur license gone during the run in stage.

Cheers.

Dunno leh... I never collected new car b4, haha...

If it's 100km, that means no point for us to run in using the above stated method lah, cuz he said effective for 1st 20miles.

Conclusion: Just follow the manual. [thumbsup]

How u noe got 10HP diff? U measured on Dyno ar?

Do u think cars and bikes should be run in differently?

Actually one of my frens ran in his Alfa 146 using this method. He claims it's good. But I wonder if it's in the mind. When we collect e new car, it's odo is already past 20miles. So the crucial period mentioned is gone already.

I think revving e new engine hard nowadays, will not harm e engine, but will not do any good either.

Hi Cancanken,

This is not the first time I see this article on this kind of run-in. It was on the net last year too.

In fact it was used to do quick run-in when we just changed PISTON RINGS back in 1980's. Quick rev to 70% redline then idle then quick rev to 100% redline. All done in neutral.

Quick & fast way to get our bikes run-in when we changed piston RINGS only.

But to run in a new car this way???

If it is so good & quick to do, why dont the manufactures just do it for us in the factory on a test bench with the engine loaded? ( So far only Rolls Royce does a full run in on a test bench using ethanol not petrol) Won't it be good for them that they know all their cars leave the factory properly run in & they don't have to worry about warranty problems with a badly run in engine??

================================================

You said : Quote -On paper, a whopping 10 hp difference. - Unquote.

How on earth did you get this figure. On paper summore???.

=================================================

You said : Quote - Moreover, when ur car do not last, and when ur piston is leaking which lead to power loss and problems arised, u will think of changing ur car as u tot it is already 'old' when it had only clocked 20,000km. The car manufacturers will come up with attractive packages which prompt u to flash ur card again.- Unquote.

Nowadays if any manufacturer see one of their cars in poor mechanical condition after only 20K km (about 1 year usage), they will try to hide this fact from the general public as can u imagine the bad publicity if pple find out that such & such brand of car give so much problems after only 20K km. Nobody is going to buy this make for many many years to come. ( Think Skoda, Lada & some other brands I don't want to mention).

=================

It's nice of you to put this article up for us to see. Thanks for some amusing reading.

I think i'll wait till the manufactures tell us to do this kind of run in in the "owners handbook". Just to be safe than sorry. IMHO [;)]

well, i dun care much for run in method..jus dun overdrag my gear and dun speed too fast. i collected my car..already clocked 120km/h on highway liaoz.....

20miles will easily be done in the country of the make....

around there.....i never clocked 10 b4....most of the time is 9++

fellas here saying they got best 13km/litre on a manual...

urs FL sunny oso?

Edited by Ahdi

Hmm.. it seems that the cars is not easily dynoed in sg??

It is easily available for bikes though.

For riding feel, i have tried on high and low rev run in bikes(same model as mine) as mentioned in my previous post.

For on paper, i had mine dynoed at 150++hp(when stock), but i wasn't able to find another same model bike with low rev run in who had his dynoed.

But other guys had their bike(same model) dynoed with low and high rev run in and their difference is a 10hp.

Whether a bike and car should have different run in way, as the article had mentioned, its for all 4 strokes engine.

This type of run in is emphasizing on creating load to the engine. And i dun see how load can be created using neutral gear. Maybe thats why people of that era just keeps changing a new set of pistons.

Think of the extra cost and time the car manufacturers got to come up with to implement this run in. Most importantly, where do they find such drivers to do it, for that amount of distance and how many of them? This run in is not as easy as u might have read it. It requires a lot of concentration and technical body coordination. Think of the number of dyno run in machine they got to come up with. A bike dyno machine cost up to SGD100k, so how much does the dyno machine will cost then?

Its cost and like i mentioned in my previous post, the sooner the driver feel the car gets 'old', the better for them.

If this run in process is not good, why does the roll royce do it?

So why not honda do it?

Whats the price difference for these 2 makes of cars then.

The thing is that not many people who own a vehicle is a technical oriented person. When someone do finds out that there is such problems, what can they do? Complain to the car manufacturers? Dun see any chance of them winning the case.

So, what do they do? They set up website like this 1 lor. [:/]

Even if the piston rings is leaking, it doesn't mean that ur car is going to fail on u.

It just reduce ur horse power and only after a few more years that the car started to give problems. That time, it is considered an old car and what u do? Change the parts lor. [:|]

If this run in process is not good, why does the roll royce do it?

==========================

Hi Cancanken,

Rolls Royce does the old style run in for their engines.

You might just be right with this new type of run in process but who wants to be the guinea pig with his $70,000 brand new car.

If it's good, fine. He has a more powerful car. But by how much??? It's not proven.

If it's wrong, then he will have to live with his piece of junk for dunno how long till he possiblity gets a buyer & probably sell at a loss.

If this method is good, IMHO the manufacturers will recommend it to new car owners or have someone do it for a small fee.

As you said, many pple who own vehicles are not techinal pple. So isn't it a risk for them to try out this very technical method then.

As I said, why be the guinea pig here. Let the big boys agree that this is good after they spend alot of their own $$$ testing it out & then it could become the new way to run in a vehicle from then on.

Let the pple with the $$$ take the risk & then we enjoy the benefits. [thumbsup]

Cheers [:)]

Can be also like me... When first start driving, drive like a snail... Once the car engine properly warms up, go gradual acceleration... Sudden hard reving is a no-no. From this method, my ride (auto) gives me about 15-18km/L which is pretty decent I reckon.