Performance vs Quiet Tyres

Sunnyvip

i'm oso on the a500. really lik the quietness and comfort.

my average speed is 100km/h. so tis tyre is defintely suits me.

oso heard abt the average wet drip. thus i tried 2 keep a safe distance whenever it rains.

at the end of the day, it really depends on individual needs and driving style.

but if u really need 2 balance between performance and comfort, i would recommend yokoyama avs100. i mayb using tis tyre when my a500 life ends

That's the spirit!..thumbsup.gif

At least you know what you want and know how to live with the compromise,

not like some people who wants ultra high dry and wet performance yet at the same time want the best comfort and quiet....thumbsdown.gif

got a problem with noise and ride comfort:- drove wifey home tonite and she noticed that the Assthreat is "harder" and more "bumpy" over not so smooth road surfaces ..... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop] ....... man, today the car is still running on Yoko db500 leh, and she said like tat..... actually before she said this i was all planning to change the tyres to at least ES100 or even better..... but now really thinking twice... coz these tyres will surely be more noisy and bumpy..... how???.... looks like to save my ears from daily nagging (we go to work together every morning, in the Ass...), i have to stay with the db500 and risk wet driving and mediocre grips even in dry conditions..... until say 18 months later, when car not so 'new' and wifey's attendtion shifts to other things in life.........then change to better performance tyres...... what do you guys think...??.... life is full of compromises....

cheers

As for harder and more bumpy ride, it is because the Ass is a Sport Version with Sport suspension to cope with the Sporty Turbo Engine and also due to the fact that you are running 17" tyres and rim.

If you had remain 16" and tyres, would not be so bumpy liao.....

You got to live with it....Maybe a slighly lower tyre pressure will help soften the ride...

actually i am pretty fine with the ride and noise, to me it's well acceptable.... but her bums seem to feel otherwise......

In my own experience, the AspecDBs I shod on before, actually felt less comfortable (more hard ride) than my current Kumho 712s?? Believe the AspecDBs sidewalls are quite stiff compared to the Kumhos - maybe that's the reason?? But still, the Aspecs are definitely much quieter... [:p]

So switching to UHP tires may not be all that bad....Then again, others who've tried the AspecDBs more extensively may care to comment...[shocked]

"......put a custion on her seat lah....."

already thinking about it.... but this will 'raise' her further from the floor, she's about 5 feet, so her feet will be tangling....... hehehe.... now i got a passenger seat problem to settle..... hey, maybe this will be a good excuse to get a pair of real Recaro seats....... [sly][sly]

hey bro, where have you been??..... din hear from you for quite a while leh.....

Edited by Super7

Been busy organinsing my life! [laugh] (more like my room actually) hahahaha [:p]

How's the new ride? Can't wait to see it [inlove]

Not so sure about what I said actually, can anyone else confirm this? if the profile of the tyres play a part in the comfort area [confused]

(although I prefer low profile tyres for the killer look! [inlove] ) [:p]

although 240 japanese horses pulling a 1.5 ton car is not that spectacular.... but the turbo rush is very addictive..... only trouble is my daily route does not really have stretches of clear traffic long enuff to really stretch the Ass legs...... it's like hard accelerate to 100 or 120 kmh in say 8-9 sec, then quickly must decelerate after this..... you guys have same experience??

yep....but make it nice and comfortable for your wifey lah.....so when she is comfortable, you will also be more comfortable getting all the performance parts liao.....laugh.giflaugh.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Hi Eddie,

would you think that the 712 will be more quiet than ST115? I am looking at 16"...

Also, changing the rim from 14" to 16" will this stiffen the suspension?

Thanks

Dennis