Hollud Neutral Newbie December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 exactly. but he stated singapore road Singapore road = Singapore Expressway? =P Well, it definitely has to be a manual. Probably achievable if you just free-wheel when coasting and if you shift below 2000rpm. Tires have to be super-inflated (close to bursting). But most probably it will be due to the driver's driving logic -- things like coasting to a stop instead of using the brake, using the biting point to make the car move off rather than using the accelerator, driving well within speed limits and taking the bus/MRT when heading to the CBD. Achievable, yes. But it will take an intense amount of effort. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 i went overseas for 1 week and didn't touch my car. FC should be average 10km/L. after that, drove for abit (1-2days).. occassional spirited driving, suddenly become 7.2km/L, a figure which i've never reached before. how come ah? anyone can help? claimed figure should be 14-15km/L.. my lowest ever was 9km/L Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 16.05km/l........... clap clap... but seriously bro... takes the joy out of driving liao... if you really wanted to save petrol you should have gotten a hybrid? or smaller car? shell mileage contest... bro thats held in very different circumstances... i remember an angmo drove a sunny or subaru to genting and back in one full tank... but i wouldnt wanna drive like that sia... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 are you sure insurance does not cover if spare tyre is taken out? Where did you read it from???? i think he was asking a question... not making a statement... anyways maybe insurance companies in the future will pay out % according to the driver's I.Q level... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 Knowledge of motor vehicle mechanics, too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiasuking88 Neutral Newbie December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 The best fuel consumption saving tips is to take bus. With the price of petrol at sky high levels this days, I have been adopting a conservative driving styles with grade 95 petrol and it is amazing how much I am able to hit 16.05km/lit with my face lifted 7th Gen Civic. I also would like to know if I can use grade 92 now. Anybody can give me some insight here? Thanks in advance! Rgds, GigaCrusher Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear December 9, 2010 Share December 9, 2010 Yes, its do-able. Yes, in singapore roads. Yes, it SEEMS damn bloody impossible. I admit that it is difficult to re-learn how to drive the Eco way when one is so used to "spirited-driving". I have tried relearning to drive economically and failed many times. So i DO know why some people are skeptical. After some time, I have also managed to break my old habit and achieved the results i wanted. So don't expect over-night results just by gathering all the info here. It TAKES EFFORT to relearn how to drive. As i have mentioned earlier. I don't know if some readers choose to deliberately ignore reading. I did say anticipate traffic way ahead to avoid "rev-brake" driving. Rev & Brake driving is one of the main reasons for high fuel consumption. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brendon1980 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 i am only getting 8-9km/l on my ody. Very hard to achieve 10km/l, its like you got to drive like a tortoise and crawl at every traffic junction. Somemore ody heavy chassis 1.7ton, pickup is beri beri slow with a gentle tap so need to depress a bit more for a decent pickup if not cars behind will be tulan. No matter how i try can never go above 10.8km/l for one tank. Highway driving 65% and city 35%. Tires also 17' and stock setup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear December 27, 2010 Share December 27, 2010 Hi guys, my 2006 IS250 is only getting 9+Km/litre, anyway to bring up to 2 digits? I mean seriously, does taking out spares help? I already pump the tires to front 40psi, rear 42psi. Anything else? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tune2themax Neutral Newbie December 28, 2010 Share December 28, 2010 Ur car is a 2.5L so I guess it is normal. The best control is ur right foot actually. Another way is to reduce the weight. change ur seats to lightweight bucket seats. Remove all accessories and clean out the boot to reduce weight! If you've upsized ur rims, make sure they are lightweight ones! Hope you didn't do extra sound proofing cos that is heavy!! cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear December 28, 2010 Share December 28, 2010 Actually, I have been seriously considering alternative mode of transport, not so much to save fuel, & running cost, but rather building physical activities into everyday life. Maybe not to work, or long distance, but to nearby places like town centres. But thinking about it, I could have park my car at none congested area, & skid scot to the area. I am thinking of skid scooter or a beater bicycle. When I was in Amsterdam just a week ago, most of the girls (even aunties, but maybe not as much) are very slim & curvy, & I think the cycling mode of going places must aid to it. You hardly see any fat people. The down point is unlike Amsterdam, our weather is a killer, walk at night also sweat, let alone doing more, & in the day.....& I hate to be sweaty unless I am doing delicate exercise regime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear December 28, 2010 Share December 28, 2010 Resonably, a 2,000 plus cc car can get you about 12km to 14km/litre on singapore roads. If you do have a turbo boost meter installed TRY to keep the needle below Zero boost as much as you can when you cruise. All other tips are already mentioned in the earlier part of this thread. One of the non-technical methods is to anticipate the traffic way ahead of you to avoid unnecessary hard acceleration and also to avoid "rev & brake" driving. The smoother you drive, the lower the consumption. Its that simple. I'm light footed and when I drive fully urban, I get about 9 kpl or less with no cheonging and anticipating the turn of traffic light. If 50/50 urban/hwy, 11 plus kpl. Only on NSHW can I get 14kpl, that is if I drive mostly on cruising speed of 110kph with the occassional speeding for overtaking. Which make and model of a 2,000cc car can achieve the figure you mentioned, other than a Hybrid? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mona-vie 1st Gear December 28, 2010 Share December 28, 2010 Hi guys, my 2006 IS250 is only getting 9+Km/litre, anyway to bring up to 2 digits? I mean seriously, does taking out spares help? I already pump the tires to front 40psi, rear 42psi. Anything else? ITs quite normal for your car. Mainly due to the weight. The 4GR-FSE engine is pretty capable as its has direct injection and able to run super lean and 12:1 compression. However, you have to be light footed to achieve good FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duk33d Neutral Newbie December 28, 2010 Share December 28, 2010 seems honda accord dont have traction control? :) No problems coasting on my vw caddy, neutral coasting or in gears seemed rather controlled. I had one close call and one collision. Which is the reason why i discourage people following behind vehicles or coasting on neutral no matter how safe we might assume. Both occasions happened when i was driving a manual car. I was coasting gleefully along clementi road towards bukit timah plaza. Road was a little wet. No cars around at that time. Before maju camp just where there is a small HDB park I happily cleared the "peak" and was rolling gently downhill. Out of no where, a moron decided to cut into my path suddenly. I slammed on my brakes. So i thought it was safe. I wasn't even going fast. How wrong was i. My car skidded and i managed to stop. Yes, but side ways with my door now facing impending coming traffic. Second incident. Road was dry. Down 6th avenue. Coasting nicely. Enjoying it. Passed a stationary car parked alongside road outside the rows of houses. All of a sudden Moron decided to start engine and shoot out and make illegal U-turn without indication. Hit my brakes hard and steered right to avoid Moron. my car spun right. Then loud bang! My backside hit his door. Moron's passenger door crumpled in. Nothing on my vehicle. No dent. No scratches. Luckily no one injured. Just my heart thump thump thumping so fast. Two lessons are more than enough. By the way vehicle in the second incident is a ambassador's Jaguar limo. The ambassador's wife did not want to pursue the matter. So no nothing after that. The driver is a local. A uniformed chaffeur. Shouted at me with hokkien vulgarities. Pure moron. I was driving a Honda Accord then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear December 28, 2010 Share December 28, 2010 also heard volt stabilizer helps in reducing FC... really? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doraemarc Clutched December 28, 2010 Share December 28, 2010 haiz... my personal best is only 15.8km/l with my Fit.... somemore is from Seremban back to spore.... getting avg of 14km/l nia... with RON98 and very light-footing.... staying below 2k rpm most of the time.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanchiam 1st Gear January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 (edited) Yesterday managed to achieve 22 km/litre. 1) Light footed. Not above 3K rpm unless necessary. 2) Kept 3 to 4 car lengths away .. above 60km/hr. 2 to 3 car lengths .. below 60km/hr. 3) Cruising between 70 ~ 80km/hr. 4) Smooth acceleration and deceleration. 5) Tyre 25% above recommended. 6) 50% highway. 50% HDB estate. 7) Air-Con was ON all the way. 8) Added a bottle of $2.89 japanese fuel additive. 9) Fuel = Caltex 92. 10) Human additive ... 1 can of Redbull (thailand export). haha...your driving style same as mine, the only problem i face is drivers behind me get frustrated then try to overtake me and go to the front of me. not that I cannot speed, just trying to drive safe and also safe some fuel. To me, not only it is safe to keep 2-4 car away, it also helps to save some fuel cause when the front slow down, i can still travel a little instead of braking. Twice saw in highway some stupid impatience driver follow close behind other vehicle and when the front slow down, they knock into their back. Managed to get about 17-20km/l for my QQ 1.1L ;) Next time u see a black QQ that is 2-4 car away from the front vehicle, its me....lol Edited January 1, 2011 by Stanchiam Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ag123 Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 oil prices are going up, i'm also trying spark plug upgrades on an old set of spark plug on a accent clocked some 70+ K km prior to this changed air filter, strangly fuel economy improved from 10+, 11 km / liter to ~ 12 km / liter so next 'mod' is a fine tipped spark plug, surprisingly a supporting article on spark plug fuel economy is found from planes http://www.ramaircraft.com/Maintenance-Tip...-vs-Massive.htm "RAM flight test data has shown fine wire spark plugs to be around 2.2% more efficient than massive electrode spark plugs. The TSIO-520-NB engine at high cruise or climb power ( 232 hp at 2400 RPM; EGT at Peak +100 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...