Lol thanks, another possiblity to add to my already long list? [sweatdrop]

1) Check hoses for leakage (unlikely)

2) Check thermostat switch/see if thermostat is sticking

3) Check water pump and associated seals

4) Check temp. housing valve

5) Check fan/rotation direction - possibly rewire to run all the time

6) Check radiator for chokes/leaks

7) Check temp. flow valve

Wonder how I'm gonna tell the mechanic all this when I bring my car in.. [sweatdrop][knife]

wah wat a long list..kekeke..anyway think a good mech shd have necessary tools and experience to check it. Where u intend to go to?

Maybe just describe to him what is the problem & let him do the trouble-shooting.

If he is good, he wud b able to find the fault quickly.

Basically is that the temp fluctuates too much while driving, right?

Can prompt him on the above possibilities. [nod]

indeed..if we were to tell him every single point to check..then no need a mech liao [:p]

normally i would check if coolant is leaking...touching the hoses in morn may be some leads. Also see ground any coloured coolant..

Once mine all coolant leak..sibei jialat..the whole car overheat..with smoke coming out..passer-bys even pointed to let me kw [sweatdrop]

Just brought the car down to the Shell nearby, mechanic there had a look and said that probably the radiator was leaking/choked as he saw dried coolant at the bottom somewhere. Then he switched on the air con but the radiator fan did not turn on, should it have? He says it should have. Lucky thing is I have a spare radiator complete with fan with me.

Also when I asked him if the radiator pressure test was necessary, he mentioned that he could do it, but the pressure would probably cause some stuff to break. Any truth to this?

dun think radiator fan shd on unless the temp gauge showed certain temp. Hahaha...how can a pressure test break the stuff [dizzy]

First, ask him to trace the leak to where its coming from... there will be a trail that he can follow... why change your radiator if its just the bottom radiator hose???

For A/C, there should be a fan that turns on when its turned on. you can check that yourself with help from someone. start the car with the AC off. then turn it on and watch for the a fan to start spinning. Some cars have 2 fans, one for the rad one for the a/c.

on the rad cap.

As for the pressure test, yes it can break some things, BUT its only if you use the wrong pressure. The general rule is you check it at 0.1bar more than the rating. In your case 1 bar is pressure to be used.

that'd would be the aircon fan...once mine spoilt..the aircon not cold at all..

"For A/C, there should be a fan that turns on when its turned on. you can check that yourself with help from someone. start the car with the AC off. then turn it on and watch for the a fan to start spinning. Some cars have 2 fans, one for the rad one for the a/c.

on the rad cap."

Yep my car has 2 fans, and the a/c fan does switch on. He says however both that and the radiator should switch on [:|]

I guess he doesnt really know what hes doing?

u shd check the temp gauge and the radiator fan will turn on when it reached a mark on the temp gaug..mine is 3/4..urs maybe 1/2..

actually i'm curious how would a mech do the check for thermostat? cos i kw the assembly itself is made of a material that would react/expand at near boiling point..hence allowing coolant to flow thru

============================

The temp it activate is stated on the body of the valve.

The coolant valve works with a wax which expands & contracts. The one for the rad fan uses a metal strip to activate the contact.

U prob have to remove the thing to check it. Sud b done b4 it is installed.

why i found out was the temp reading was forever near zero..i mean how can it be..so i simply open bonnet..and check..the fan forever running..siao..this would mean a shorter lifespan for the fan motor..

==================================

OK so u refering to the temp switch for the rad fan. I tot he removed the coolant flow valve.

indeed..if we were to tell him every single point to check..then no need a mech liao

=======================================

Well some mech not so good liow. They also need to b reminded sometimes. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

That's why when I give my input to the mech, he know this guy cannot play play. Better do it properly cos cannot bluff one. [sly]

dun think radiator fan shd on unless the temp gauge sh

owed certain temp. Hahaha...how can a pressure test break the stuff =========================

Well if the parts r old & worn, too much pressure will cause something to give way sometimes. [shocked]

My car's rad fan has 2 speeds. Slow when the AC is switched on & faster when the temp rises.

The other AC fan comes on as soon as the AC compressor runs. None of my previous cars had this.

if it's a gradual thing, then it's not a leak, i think its more of a blockage.

i've experienced leaks b4, and the temp will just shoot up. when open bonnet, can see coolant spraying all over [laugh]