Gnoikj Neutral Newbie August 15, 2006 Share August 15, 2006 Agree...a car is "functionally" meant to transport u from point A to B. 86% of Singaporeans think their cars are functional anyways... Still I think AC Nielson must have surveyed the wrong group...if most of those surveyed were from MCF, then duhn think Mazda can claim 86% functional priority... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged August 15, 2006 Share August 15, 2006 Yah.. got triangle one.. think it's season parking at the carpark a couple blocks from the mrt.. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear August 16, 2006 Share August 16, 2006 All vehicles have their pros and cons. We have said our part. Let's leave it up to the individual to make his/her personal decision. At the end of the day, it's their personal and private decision and we got to respect that. PS: Your French made Renault Kangoo has its tonnes of faults as well & is not perfect either. I think so far CARMA magazine is pretty kind in their review on QQ. However, it did mention that QQ is a generation behind Picanto and Kelisa, in addition, it is an overpriced car and should be priced 10% lesser compared with its competitor. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cristy Neutral Newbie August 16, 2006 Share August 16, 2006 (edited) the 1st qq i saw was yesterday at eunos link ... near the show room .. SGK Edited August 16, 2006 by Cristy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felcron Clutched August 18, 2006 Share August 18, 2006 I totally agree with u. People is here is give their 2 cents take on the car and all the rest do is to the person down until whole body full of holes. Even if the person might be a SE but still it gives you no reason to run her down like that. It's all about personal preferences and perceptions so it's unfair to rally up and gang one a person. Why the strong feelings about the car when it's just a body of steel? I know it's out of a good heart to warn people of the disadvantages but please do it in a more tactful way and not hurt other people feelings in the process. Personally, I was skeptical about QQ in the beginning due to the bad reviews and comments floating around. Seriously who will trust a MADE IN CHINA product nevertheless a car. But after test driving both picanto and QQ, I have a changed mindset. First, picanto comes off as a better drive and have a better build than QQ. But let's not forget the aim of getting a small CC car, it's all about budget. Even though on the surface, the price diff is about $3000(Picanto-$35000 QQ-$32000), it seems to be a no brainer to get picanto but there are some unseen costs that I was surprised no one brings up. The standard deal for picanto is minimal while for QQ, they throw in a lot of stuff that will bring the price diff to about $6k like leather seats, spoiler and fog lights. And the insurance for QQ is about $500 cheaper than picanto(due to QQ using China Insurance) and the interest rate now is cheaper than picanto(QQ- 2.88% Picanto-3.5%) For the test drive, I can say it's comparable to old cars that is about 10 years old as the brake is not very responsive and the torque is pretty bad. But for the non-fussy who just wants a ride to go from point A to point B, it still seems to be a good choice. All I'm trying to say is that with more competition and more choices, the only people who benefit will be the customers as diff people have diff priorities and I'm sure QQ will fit in nicely to the lower tier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hutan 1st Gear August 18, 2006 Share August 18, 2006 good say!! bro but unfortunately, lots of MCF's member still think only H car is car to own, not others Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khee Neutral Newbie August 18, 2006 Share August 18, 2006 for a Point A to B, Short distance... for a 2nd family car, just to do some groceries every wk/day... i think it should be ok... juz tat, price can be lower... be patient bro, if u are interest... if they can throw in around $3k of goodies, means that the price can be 3k lower.... I would not be surpise if this is going to be the 1st sub 30k car in maybe the last 1-2 decade... i think a nice 600-800cc motor bike should be around $20k range liao... why not buy a 800cc QQ for 20k+... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Biting 1st Gear August 18, 2006 Share August 18, 2006 Understand that in China, the dealer is selling this for only S$5000. When come to Singapore, even after the tax and coe, the markup is quite high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glyuen 3rd Gear August 18, 2006 Share August 18, 2006 Personally, I was skeptical about QQ in the beginning due to the bad reviews and comments floating around. Seriously who will trust a MADE IN CHINA product nevertheless a car. But after test driving both picanto and QQ, I have a changed mindset. a rare breed indeed The standard deal for picanto is minimal while for QQ, they throw in a lot of stuff that will bring the price diff to about $6k like leather seats, spoiler and fog lights. I don't think even the best leather seats, spoiler and fog lamps will cost $3000. anyway, i have spoken with Kia SE, they are willing to throw in free leather seats. anyway, QQ's leather is half leather (approx $500) spoiler (approx $200) fog lights (approx $300). less than $1k is all that is required to zhng the Picanto to the same equipment levels of QQ. And the insurance for QQ is about $500 cheaper than picanto(due to QQ using China Insurance) and the interest rate now is cheaper than picanto(QQ- 2.88% picanto-3.5%) C&C has half a dozen financing packages, low interest-no rebate or high interest-high rebate for the customer to choose. does 2.88% comes with cash rebate? For the test drive, I can say it's comparable to old cars that is about 10 years old as the brake is not very responsive and the torque is pretty bad. But for the non-fussy who just wants a ride to go from point A to point B, it still seems to be a good choice. All I'm trying to say is that with more competition and more choices, the only people who benefit will be the customers as diff people have diff priorities and I'm sure QQ will fit in nicely to the lower tier. i agree with you on this. but should be the lowest tier. cheapest ma... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glyuen 3rd Gear August 18, 2006 Share August 18, 2006 i seriously believe that the price will go down. this car has the lowest OMV. if price is right, i can close both eyes on its demerits if i need a car. at least better than motorcycle. if sub $30k think a lot of ppl will consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear August 18, 2006 Share August 18, 2006 i seriously believe that the price will go down. this car has the lowest OMV. if price is right, i can close both eyes on its demerits if i need a car. at least better than motorcycle. if sub $30k think a lot of ppl will consider. Yap, its an overpriced car and a generation behind Picanto and Kelisa according to Carma Magazine. Well, better than taking public transportation, hopefully. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear August 19, 2006 Share August 19, 2006 for some people, they feel that it's ok so long as it has 4 wheels. diff people diff needs. Hhmmm.. wonder how resale value is like? Even Picanto owners who bought their cars are already losing big time when selling in 2nd hand mkt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnie Neutral Newbie August 19, 2006 Share August 19, 2006 if is sub 30k u still think about resale value? it's already cheaper than what it cost to go overseas for 2 years to study. that you can repay in like 3 years of working. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucien Neutral Newbie August 19, 2006 Share August 19, 2006 U can pay the car in 3 yrs. But wat about upkeep. will take at least a good 6 yrs to pay it all up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gamax Neutral Newbie August 19, 2006 Share August 19, 2006 But those crash tests are all the same mah. Even Mercedes got their fair share of accidents until the body split into 2. (Or was it BM?? think it's Merc) This merz is travelling at abv 100 mph while the QQ and kancil is travelling at less than 100km/h. As for the QQ it is at 60km/hr! in singapore, who travel below 60km/hr? Cherish your life, dun buy QQ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joneses Neutral Newbie August 19, 2006 Share August 19, 2006 (edited) Chery QQ no matter how bad cannot be worster than Motor Bike, meat wrap metal, rite? I think it would be good if some motorcyclist were to be tempted to switch to QQ car because of the low pricing. Edited August 19, 2006 by Joneses Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carmour 4th Gear August 19, 2006 Share August 19, 2006 Even for sub $30K, it would still probably make more sense to go for a car with renewed 10-yr COE. Maybe a 1996 Nissan March with new 10-yr COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavver 4th Gear August 19, 2006 Share August 19, 2006 It was true that Chery cars hav parts from germany, cause Siemens VDO is one of the supplier of automotive electronics and mechatronics of Chery. The other suppliers were, Delphi, Tower Automotive and TRW. I heard that manufacturing plant of chery is using Lean manufacturing and six sigma for it production control.. any engineers gurus care to hav a disscussion on this topic, while educating-cum-enlightening the rest of us? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...