Performance Spark Plug

Geforce

err... how abt for new cars with old tech like hyundai accent 05?

Heard it uses tech frm old mit engine.... true?

Actually the difference is better idling. Plugs affect emissions a lot more than all out performance. For all out performance, Cu is better........

I need more pickup so a copper will be good? any brand and series to recommend?

Answer to your questions. Gap is the space between the tip and the ground electrode.

As for Accent 05, you got to check.

No recommendations. To me all the same but people have preference for NGK or Denso.

but my ride manualstates "only use iridium spark plugs" so how ???

btw i used the SK series (stock iridium for toyota) and fuel consumption is higher and car pickup is sluggish...

changed to the ik-20, and now pickup more responsiveand fuel consumption improves....just as good as ngk iridiums (non IX).....next time i order ngks from u ok ?

I was considering them all yesterday.. was totally disappointed with the Denso IK16... end up swap back to stock copper ones for $13 for 4 pack.. and my engine is lively again !!!! Prob keep using copper from now.. can change fresh ones 4 times for the price of iridium !??

If I replace my ride's plugs with performance spark plugs such as NGK or Denso without changing the "sotong-chiu" aka power cables, will there be any difference in performance?

Thanks.

I stay with either Denso or NGK Platinium plugs, which ever is in stock. I dun find much diff between them but they are very good, consistent spark even for long drives at high speeds along HSHW

how often should one change spark plug cables?

mine isn't the sotong head type.

2 cables, split into 2 each to connect to the 4 plugs [confused]

Ho bro,

How much and where do you install these plugs?

I am sending my IS200 for servicing next week. They quoted me $120 for the plugs. Dunno wat brand one leh? Every hoe many K need to change?

Tks!

Yes, they do deteriorate. That is why I am not in a rush to replace my cables when I got my car to high performance ones.

When they deteriorate, they will leak current. Happened to me when I was driving the Starlet. Obviously the cables were not changed when I got them for God knows how long. The car was 18yo! Mechanic checked it and found one of the cables leaking current.

I'm running at 86k mileage already. Most likely replace next year.

Just replace the cable. Buy the cable and get some wiring sifu to re-use your connectors/boots. Of course if you want complete replacement some places sell the entire cable loom with the connectors/boots. It is up to you.

FYI, bulk 8.0mm cable at forgot how many feet is just short of USD10.

Suggest you look to Kingsborne.

They also sell the Beru tools if you want to master the art and become spark plug cable sifu yourself.

Edited by Genie47

I'm hitting 100k soon too. So the starlet was using stock cables? 17 years x ave of 20k a year gives 340k of usage, assuming. So why the 100k theoretical reference? Also, does deterioration occur due to the wires, connections, or the rubber housing? Due to heat or vibrations?

My apologies for so many questions. Just want to find out as someone posted an old article that shows old stock cables can last much longer than that. Link for the article is given below.

http://asia.vtec.net/beystock/tuning/plugcable.html

Its the operation and the heat. Everything comes in. Yeah they can last longer but you want a potential failure in your hands when you drive?

Stock wires are not expensive. Don't get expensive performance once. Stock will do just well.

Me too!! Interested to change sparkies and cables too... Coming to 35K liao..

Bro, can PM me place and damage to wallet?? wave.gifwave.gif

Edited by Nullbig