Marriot Experience?

Familymanz

950/day/.. Good deal. Does the lower rate comes with comprehensive insurance with 5000 baht excess?

I already sent them a email regarding my weird arrangment, because one of the day in the middle of the stay, I do not need the car as I have a full day tour. From Dwoon post, it seems they should be able to accomodate this arrangmeent.

The condition of the car ain't that great as compared to Hertz (experienced rental only in US)

The Honda City I got had dings, dents & scratches which I went round to highlight when taking over the car. However, when they took back the car, they never even bothered to check for anything.

As for cleanliness, it wasn't clean. The interior carpet had lots of sand which they put a piece of newspaper over. Exterior is quite muddy too. Then again, if you realise.... the roads there are not like singapore, so the car does get dirty rather quickly. I don't think they'll make it a point to clean the car prior to passing it to you.

Brakes was working fine. tyre pressure was kinda low which is not a problem as I pumped it up at the station. No funny external noises etc.... engine also runs quiet.

So for that price of ~$40 a day..... I can't complain much.....

Yes, they are very accomodating. In fact, I think the reason they did not retrieve the car for the 2 days break in-between for my case..... was that I was putting up at the extreme corner of the island (Cape Panwa). If you're staying close to their agency (Mai Khao), I might think they'll do the pick up. (David car rent would do deliever & pickup for such arrangements for a price whereas AP does it for free)

It covers insurance but I can't remember the details on the excess. Don't think its comprehensive though.... if you're looking for everything to be covered, then Hertz might be a better choice and you also pay more. At this price, you can't expect everything.

End of the day, its the consumer's choice and whether they are comfortable with it. At least the options are available for one to choose.

Another questions, I may need to return the car as early as 7am at the airport. Think my flight is aroun 8-9am. Is the rental companies opened at this time to received the car?

Rent the next morning.

No supermarkets near Mai Khao. That's the problem. Either arrive very early or come in late, dine in the resort and then get the car the next morning for the shopping trip. That's what I did. Flight was late, arrived at 9pm Phuket time but got dinner in SG. Next morning got the car and went to Tesco.

Cab fare to Mai Khao is already THB300.

Phang Nga Bay take tour package. Drive to town to book with tour companies or book before you go.

Sounds like your going on Tiger Airways... yes, they will send someone there to collect at 7am. That was the time I returned as well.

Ya, you're right, I'll be taking Tiger Airway..

Thanks to Genie and Dwoon. I'll get some employee number to call.. Good to know we're able to return the car during non-opening hours.

Just got back from Phuket. Apparently, don't even have to book your car in advanced. Once you arrive, the rental car reps will swamp you, and you can bargain for the best deal. Was offered a Honda City for 900bahts.

We got fed-up with the husseling from the car rental personnal at the airport so end-up going to the Marriott Vacation Club Counter at the airport and ask the counter girl for recommendation. She went out and got us a small 7seater Toyota Advanza (cos we have 4 adults + 3 kids) for 1200bt per day. The cheapest I could find prior was 1800 bahts.

Also, found out that if we sign-up for the sales talk at Marriott again, they will pay for the airport transfer to Marriott, plus 4000bahts Marriott F&B voucher per couple. Existing member also can sign-up for the talk [thumbsup]

Edited by Fondue

Thank Fondue for the invaluable tips. Think I'll go to the airport to bargain. Can we sign up for the talk over atr the airport? Becoz we're using my bro-in-law's membership to stay there.

Just sign-up at the MVC counter at the Airport. Thats what we did. If you have kids with you, can leave them at the kid's club for free during the presentation. My kids had cookie baking while waiting for us. Its 800 bahts per hour per kid otherwise [knife] .

With the free transfer to the hotel, can ask the car rental to bring the car to the hotel the next day. For the return trip back to the airport, Marriott can arrange for taxi at 500 bahts.

As the peak season is over, Marriott @ Phuket is offering the 3-day free stay for referrals again. If you have not booked, maybe can get your BIL to refer you and get the 3-nite free stay instead. From what the sales exec told us, they'll offer you a 2-bedroom apartment if you are bringing kids along.

Hmm.... the smallest are 2 bedrooms apartments leh...... [sweatdrop]

Anyway, how to go for the talk once you're a member? They already have your records since booked there under club points. [:/]

For members, they are hoping to get you to purchase more points from them.

After seeing the resort and their new additions, I actually added another 2k to my program cos we fell in love [inlove] with their new ground floor units with private pool, I figured I'll be back for more short breaks and will need the extra pts for these pool units [:p]

2s653zp.jpg

This is the view from the bed of the master bedroom.

35cit1u.jpg

View of the private pool from the common walkway.

Also, the additional pts still qualifies for the 5 to 1 marriott reward conversion, and you can refer your friends directly to them @ phuket to enjoy a 3 nite free stay plus presentation talk. I'm not sure if referrals thru SG can get the free stay.

Anyway, in all, we got the 4000 bahts F&B vouchers, plus a 5000 bahts spa voucher for giving them more names to be invited for the free 3 nites stay , and a bonus 20k marriott reward pts for adding the 2k points.

Seems like we got taken-in by their marketing ploy, but, hey, we really like the place and will most certainly be using those extra pts [:p]

Edited by Fondue

Eh? This Marriott talk at Phuket is the exclusive Phuket Beach Club one hor! Not points ah. It is 7-day week block one. Selling only in USD.

Not sure what it was before, but what they offered me is the same as the MVCI here. Just add-on to existing points. Same point system, same maintenance rate, same membership number etc.

For couples, they will offer the rooms at JW Marriott

Edited by Fondue

Thanks for the pics. So you stayed at the new Mai Khao development with the pool? I was tempted to change my booking for those but decided to stay put at Phuket Beach Club in case the construction debris & stuff was still present.

I can't wait to get there next month.

Hmm.... 4K bahts just to attend their talk... sounds tempting.... but afraid of strong sales tactics and end up like you ... signing on for more points. [rolleyes]

Same same but different. tongue.gif

The decor in the Phuket Beach Club is more like American furniture. I think they know they cannot get more Americans to join already and now aim for Asians or expats based in Asia. Points system works out quite well for us.

Maybe I will go there during the peak season of Nov-Dec but train my Dark Side to the level of KapitanE and wave at them causing them fly backwards when they get too strong. laugh.gif