Viviobluerex Clutched September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 Did any of u guy receive this call? Say its by invitation only & its all abt Marriot groups thingys. Sit thru 90mins (sounds like time share hor) & chose either a $100 taka voucher or $125 marriot dining voucher. Comments? Think they call everyone frm the Yellow Page, hahahaaha! Timeshare Scam. http://kcarclubsg1975.spaces.live.com/ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 You might want to read thru the rest of the post before your declaration or usage of "scam" as a description. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear September 18, 2007 Share September 18, 2007 Well, they would only call those who are recommended by members. They don't get your number through other means. Therefore, it is through "invitation" in this sense. They would also mention who recommended them to be "invited". In fact, Marriott actually called me to ask whether I had informed those whom I recommended prior to their calling them. I too was sceptical about this time share in the beginning.... and I wasn't "invited".... I actually signed up for the presentation at a booth which was setup in the shopping mall. You don't encounter the very hard sell tactics .... though some persuasion does occur in any form of sales. In fact, when I was at the presentation, I see 95% of the people walk away after their alloted presentation slots w/o purchasing... and with their $100 voucher. Anyway, this product does not suit everyone. It is not cheap to begin with..... unless it fits into your travel lifestyle, then I guess it'll be considered a worthwhile buy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear September 18, 2007 Share September 18, 2007 It is pricey, but good deal for those who likes to stay in fanciful hotels when they travel. Coz if you calculate the cost of travelling with 5 Star Hotel packages, this is very very good deal. Personally, I am those who needs only 3 or 4 star, as I find that hotel is just a place to sleep and shower after going out shopping or watever, and I do not need bath salts and bath tubs with jaccuzi facility. But there are some ppl who feels that they can only stay in 5 and above star hotels, then this is a good deal. I did a calculation and it cost about US$2500 for a weeks stay in a 6 star hotel in Japan or US for 2, with return air tickets. Though definitely can get cheaper outside, but that is 4 star hotel lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear September 18, 2007 Share September 18, 2007 Errr... I can actually make do with even a 2 star hotel (not even 3 or 4 star).... but with a family... I guess my opinion doesn't matter much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear September 18, 2007 Share September 18, 2007 i went but didnt sign up cause i wasnt ok with the monthly premiums and the payment duration. usually i travel via packaged tours or free & easy, so this scheme dosent suit me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear September 18, 2007 Share September 18, 2007 Yes, it is expensive when you consider that the travel accomodation can be cheaper using 4 star or lesser hotels. When you do a calculation, it does seem cheaper than purchasing from tour/accomodation agencies/sites..... but when you factor in the yearly club dues, although there is still savings, is not so much..... so you might ask....why does one want to get this then. Well, for myself, I think inflation and cost increases over the years will make it very unaffordable in the future (unless I make big bucks then, so I lock in at today's prices for the rest of the club's lease). Also, as I go into my twilight years, I don't think I'll want to settle for anything lesser than 4 star accomodation. ( I want to enjoy my retirement holidays mah... ) Anyway, these are basically 5 star and above service apartments so the size is usually much larger than hotel rooms. Also, they are self contained units which has washing machine, large TVs, fridge, cooking facilities, etc.... it'll be more suitable for families. (As compared to just a couple travelling) I treat it like any club membership, where club dues need to be paid regardless of whether you want to use the facilities or not. e.g. town clubs, country clubs, marinas, etc.... payment is not much different from that aspect. The diff is that instead of a club premise locally, it is used for good accomodation in different parts of the world, for a certain lenght of stay per year. What this membership does is to force one to continually stay at 5 star Marriott establishments or their equivalent from their tie ups with other hotel chains. So no more staying at lower grade accomodations for the rest of one's life (49 more years till club lease expires).... well, maybe not no more, but rarely stay at lower grade accomodation in the future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear September 18, 2007 Share September 18, 2007 like to add that another issue for me is the air ticket. my rough calculations done on the spot showed that if air ticket is included with accomodation, chances are that a couple can only go for a trip once every two years. unless of course, u opt for the more expensive schemes, which comes with higher premiums personally, i rather pay now and go now, rather than pay now and travel once every two years. this of course dosent apply if u buy your own air tickets, which is an extra cost on top of what u are paying monthly and marriot dont provide airport transfers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 Just came back from Bangkok... stayed 3 nights in the Mayfair (Marriott's service apartment). I would say that the service was very good, the hotel was very clean and room very nice. Has everthing you need from cooking to even washing m/c & dryer. But the apartment is nothing much to look at from the outside. Location wise, it is near all the embassies (Lumpini Park) and due to the one way street and the road congestions, its a place that few taxis would wanna go to. (Although those non-meter ones do offer at about 3 times the metered fared). Overall, I'm neutral on this.... can't wait to try Phuket as that is supposed to be the star attraction. Oh BTW, there is also a Berjaya Vacation Club which costs less than half of Marriott's and has been in operation for 15 years. Its apparently an even better deal as you can get back your principle amount after 38 years...... might be considering joining this as well, so that it can cater to my self drive holidays which Marriott does not seem to have many resorts in Malaysia for that purpose. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 u paid your own air tickets right? how to get into this Berjaya Vacation Club? is it by invitation only? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 Of course must pay air tickets mah..... But if you consider the many budget carriers around, its not expensive if you can get the tickets at their promo rates. For the Berjaya Vacation Club, you can go to their website and then find out about 80% of the information. The other 20% can only be available when you talk to the sales manager. e.g. financing for foreigners, etc.... oh BTW, the rates shown there is inaccurate. It is actually much cheaper.... but that is available only till end of this month whereby they will change the scheme to one that has no refund..... http://www.berjayavacation.com.my/mfeatures.php Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 i calculated, if u dun wanna pay air tickets, u have to keep your "credits" for 2 yrs. then u can use the "credits" to purchase ait tickets. but yah. now budget airline is cheap. but they fly to limited destinations Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 5, 2008 Share April 5, 2008 OK I educate you about this timeshare thingy lah. Hopefully you will be prepared to field questions. Traditional timeshare is 7days block. You buy the vacation home depending on when you want to go for the vacation. I use Phuket as example. Gold season is around Mar-Sep. Around xxk USD. Platinum season is Oct-mid Dec. yyk USD. Then the Platinum+ season which is basically mid Dec - Feb at zzk USD. xx That amount buys you 7days of vacation time for that home resort of yours. It means you can stay 7days for that particular season you buy. The lease on the Phuket Marriot is 83yrs, so that means that amount you pay entitles you to vacation for 7days/yr there for up to 83yrs! So you grow old already going to die (touch wood), but this vacation timeshare is really a property you own. What to do? You can will it to your children. Yes. you can will it to your children. It's damn strange but yes, you can pass it down. Depending on the lease left, you can sell the timeshare. This is not w/o costs though. The resort needs to be maintained. Yearly there is a maintenance fee of USDaaa.00 to pay. You can call this membership maintenance fee. What happens if you don't use the vacation time? You got to transfer the 7days into this "holding company" called Interval International (II) which holds this vacation time for you for 2yrs. You can use these "saved days" to exchange for stay at other resorts in the II catalog. BTW, II HQ in Asia is in SG. Got direct phone number. After 2yrs, you still don't have time to vacation to use up this 7days, they will be forfeited but Marriott got way out. You can convert the vacation time of 7days to "Marriott Rewards" which never expire. Can use to stay in any of the hotels in the Marriott group, Hertz car rental, air ticket..... This above is the traditional timeshare. The one held in Ngee Ann Marriott HQ is different. It is in points. Instead of days, you buy into the program with points. A bit more flexible instead of the dead 7days vacation time. Main reason is that Asians like the take short breaks. Another difference is that because it is points, you don't have 1 home resort. You have 5 home resorts. If you interested in the vouchers and also about this, just go and attend. .... i just signed but for 30k points but i believe this will be good investment. next time old leow every year can go good prepaid holidays!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 5, 2008 Share April 5, 2008 - airfare not included. Imagine budgeting a chunk for stay but you still have not factored in travelling costs. so no go for me. airfares included* this points can be converted to marriots rewards points and there are travel & accomodation packages where u spend like total 150,000 MRP for 7 night stay in cat 5 hotel inclusive of 2 return airtickets from SQ. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 5, 2008 Share April 5, 2008 wah..really? the person who attended to my wife & i was a . But she was married liao. Hehe..good thing abt the package is that the prices are fixed during the validity of our contract (until 2040 if i'm not wrong) i just signed mine, its till 2056. however the marriots rewards points will not have any expiry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 5, 2008 Share April 5, 2008 At least you got 30k points. I have 14k a year. No it is not an investment. Don't fool yourself into thinking that it is. It is prepaid vacations. I'm going to Bangkok this May. Will be staying at the Mayfair Exec Apartments. From what I know, this place is good. Dwoon's review has not been harsh. Looking forward to staying there for 2 nights. Will be heading off to Kanchanaburi for 2 nights (fork out own cash) and then back to the Mayfair before flying off. Got Jetstar tix on promo last month for the trip. They got HK and Gold Coast up. They have been very strategic in their points. HK uses up a lot more points while Gold Coast a lot less. You know why? Flight tix to Gold Coast more expensive. Also have to consider the transfer from Brisbane since Gold Coast has an airport but it is not an international airport. However, I must tell you. The star of the chain in this region is the Mai Khao at Phuket. If you got cameras like the photo siao guys at Clubsnap, confirm lots of opportunities to shoot advertisement standard resort photos. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 5, 2008 Share April 5, 2008 But must save and convert points like siao to get there for those with low points like me. BTW, do you know you can buy Marriott Reward Points? Don't believe me? Go to the Marriott Rewards Website to check. They sell by USD and now USD so low! However maximum can only buy 50k a year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugsbunny Neutral Newbie April 5, 2008 Share April 5, 2008 50K for a hoilday? damn rich... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...