Garmin NUVI 610 purchase/install process **MANY PICS**

Chickenbackside

Not sharp eyes but having he same ride...haha. Which shop may I know..am interested in getting one also need the sifu to teach how to use.

Got my Nuvi 610 (without maps) from Hoan Enterprise (Sim Lim Tower) for $790. Took my friend there last week to buy identical unit and price still the same. However, it now comes with a SD card that is already installed with Malsingmaps - free. The Malsingmaps are great for both Spore and Malaysia; I recently used it up in Penang and it was very, very useful indeed.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jeff, thanks for the info....will seek your help if you dont mind once I got the set...cos I am the slow learner type. [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed]

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

finally got my set of 610 w/o maps but the got the sd card separately and the guy downloaded the malsingmaps for me. The question now is how to check the maps downloaded are the latest ?

nice. after reading this thread, I'm now very tempted to get one too for my new car. ... do you think they'll still have stock if I go next weekend? Any idea if the coming PC show will have it? [;)]

Dun bother looking for free downloads for maps. The most u'll get is a trial ver for 3 days.

FYI for every country's map u have to buy the "license/rights" first, subsequence update of map is so call "free".

so far in PC shows, tibo is the most aggressive in marketing,followed by HP etc..

never c garmin advertising their products.i tink they no need 2 advertise,already hav a huge following here..

get the set from any dealers will do. Some come with sd card loaded with maps, some dont. Garmin so far is very user friendly and am very satisfied with it.

Hi All;

I intended to sell away my Garmin Singapore/Malaysia NT v2 year 2007 for $170.....

pls PM me if u are interested.

I just got it last Thursday......

Not sharp eyes but having he same ride...haha. Which shop may I know..am interested in getting one also need the sifu to teach how to use.

Got my Nuvi 610 (without maps) from Hoan Enterprise (Sim Lim Tower) for $790. Took my friend there last week to buy identical unit and price still the same. However, it now comes with a SD card that is already installed with Malsingmaps - free. The Malsingmaps are great for both Spore and Malaysia; I recently used it up in Penang and it was very, very useful indeed.

I went to Hoan Enterprise to enquire today. The shop keeper quoted me $790 also. But no SD card leh.[:|] He say want SD card must add $30++ to $40++, and he say he dunno how to DL the maps, ask me to find out myself. [thumbsdown]

Maybe it was another person who sold the unit to your friend? know his (the seller) name or contact? can PM me if you know, then maybe I can get better deal with the preloaded SD card from him too. [rolleyes]

Can't remember the guys name but he's probably in his early 50's. His number is 98638178. Otherwise, you get get a SD card and download yourself the Malsingmaps. It is easy enough. Good luck.

i but from Hoan 2,he advice me get SD card in sim lim sq and download myself.It is veri easy.

Tink some1 in this forum ever complain 2 malsing map dat hoan charge $30-40 4 map.I tink its a misunderstanding la.mayb he sell sd card at a higher price.

i went back 2 hoan wen my set got bluetooth problem,he check 4 me w/o fuss..manage 2 rectify it.So far ok with the shop.

I'd finally bought my set from PW in Sim Lim Sq (#01-36). Super friendly services from them. [thumbsup] I asked alot of questions abt the differences in models, functions, maps, etc and both the shopkeepers answer all questions gladly with a smile. The lady shop keeper even let me try both the Original map

(top up $200) and the malsingmaps (top up abt $20++~$30) and point out the main differences to me. And even demo to me how to use most of the functions on the spot. Even though there were many other customers around, somehow they can manage to tend to all customers with our queries and not neglect any of us! She even prompt me to try on the set myself in the shop (left me to fiddle with her set for a while) and taught me the way to mount properly on the bracket(she says just in case I don't know later) after I decided to pay up for the set. I didn't buy the SD cards from her, but she also say no problem with a smile. I requested to buy a screen protector, and they stick it on for me w/o me having to ask. And the male boss tested my set for me and even clean the screen shiny shiny before keeping back to the box. [thumbsup]

I'm totally impressed by their services! No complains. [thumbsup]

even though both these shops selling same price,Hoan shopkeeper services cannot make it lah [shakehead], even when I called again the next day to ask of the availability of the set he sounded so tao and unfriendly on the phone.

PW service always been gd,can manhandle the set etc,u go buy SD card.They even download malsing map 4 u.

wat set u buy btw?i ask her 4 nuvi protective film..she dun have..in the end buy from the handphone shop.I asked them 2 customise 4 me. [:)]

i bought the nuvi 610.

The lady shopkeeper say it uses the same size screen protector as Sony PSP, so it should be easily available outside as well. she was selling at $12 in her shop, but rounded down the total cost by giving me $2 disc to $800. since they offer to stick it for me, I bought the protector from them. I'm not sure about other protectors sold outside, but I found that my fingerprints stays on easily on this one.

I'm having fun with my set now, and I'd found a way to save MP3 files in the SD card and use it to play with the set. Now only regreting never buy higher memory card for the MP3 files, coz intially thought don't need so high memory for the maps. [sweatdrop]

Edited by Sq123

y wld u 1 2 download more mp3s into the set?1 it 2 bcum like mp3 player ah?

i juz bought 512mb,deleted the crap mp3 inside,download a few mp3 to test..the rest mainly pics on the spare space.

something like that...so that it'll be a perfect travel companion if I want to bring it along while traveling overseas . [thumbsup]

My mistake. Many apologies....

Yes, most people like TTS. But I personally get irritated by cos it makes instructions much longer. "Left" or "Right" is good enough for me.

Hi, is the 610 version also able to announce instruction such as "turn left in 500m ahead" although it does not have TTS function? Pls assist.