Nephilim 1st Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 Rgd St Matthew again, I'm not 100% sure it's still there but I remember the church building was still standing brand-newish when I drove past there 1-2 years (???) ago. As u can see I don't drive past there often. I did a check on streetdirectory.com and the building seems to be there but it says 'St Matthew Church (Former)'. There's also a wikipedia entry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Matthew's_Church,_Singapore and it says they have moved to a new premise in Tiong Bahru area. So don't tell me another of my childhood icon is going to go??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 The EE HOE HEAN CLUB in your photo became a Chinese restaurant, if I'm not wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 Rgd the coffeeshop, long time gone liao. I actually went back there a couple of years ago to check out but the whole stretch of shophouses there all converted to interior design offices etc. The old lady selling the wanton noodle watched me grew up ... wonder where is she now??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 So that Fairfield Mehodist school became part of Fairfield Methodist Girls School at Dover? Incidentally, I shifted to Clementi/Dover area 20 years ago too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 [reply]http://202.172.178.226/DJVUServer/getImage.jsp?file=/picas_data/tn_pcd/19980005086-8073-3222-4811/img0074.jpg Lorong Buangkok Shell station.Date unknown. http://202.172.178.226/DJVUServer/getImage.jsp?file=/picas_data/tn_pcd/19980005045-6320-3081-0029/img0098.jpg Punggol Fish Market, 1985 The first picture is definitely not Lorong Buangkok. Lorong Buangkok is not a coastal road close to the sea. The road is somewhere off Yio Chu Kang Rd. The fish market mentioned in the other picture should be the Kangkar Fish Market, at the end of Upper Serangoon Rd near the mouth of river. As far as I know, there was no wholesale fish market in Ponggol. The fish markets in Singapore used to be Jurong Fish Market (shifted from Ellenborough market area in the 70s), Kangkar fish market (closed down) and Senoko Fish Market. Agree the pic of the petrol station can't be Lor Buangkok which cuts through farms. One end of Buangkok is YCK Rd and the other is Ponggol Rd. The sea behind the station indicates that it could be at the end of Ponggol Rd if photo is taken in that vicinity of the fish market. Was there a petrol station at Kangar fish market? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inimatad 1st Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 When you look back...you kind of sigh and then you smile. These are the really good times not like what the kids are getting these days. Remember the street hawkers in Chinatown selling "low mei". Pay ten cents and you then dip your stick of fishball or squid or whatever into the big cup of sauce and then with that stick you can slowly walk and eat your stuff from People's Park to Kreta Ayer... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carchngchia Clutched February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 Ya shifted from Neil Road to Dover in 1981 and has been expanding ever since. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 so was there a St Matthew 's Church around that area? Yes there was or is a St Matthew's Church (Anglican Church) at Neil Rd besides the then Fairfield Methodist Schools (Pri & Sec). I attended a wedding ceremony at that church! I also had the passenger door of my brand new car knocked against one of the parking poles that were only knee high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somebody 1st Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 Vintage Shop cum petrol kiosk at Changi Point. is that the "petrol kiosk" at the changi village jetty?? the old jetty??!! =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 I don't think it was at Changi Village Jetty. The signboard said 14 1/2 km Changi Road, not even Upp Changi Road or Nicole Drive which leads to the jetty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 (edited) [reply]TOA PAYOH http://202.172.178.226/DJVUServer/getImage.jsp?file=/picas_data/tn_pcd/19980001720-8106-3181-8035/img0027.jpg Toa Payoh,1968 The market/food in the centre was where I frequented to la kopi till 2 or 3 am in 1969/1970. That's where I picked up smoking. The chicken rice . Later the chicken rice moved to coffe shop in the bldg on the right. Edited February 19, 2007 by Dumb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Touch_n_go Neutral Newbie February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 this petrol kiosk is at Changi village jetty, it was demolish in 2004 to make way for the new jetty. i rmb back in 2002 my frens and i took a pic here as the shop uncle tell us tat the place is goin to tear down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 http://202.172.178.226/DJVUServer/getImage.jsp?file=/picas_data/tn_pcd/19980007450-8263-3201-0181/img0089.jpg Shenton way,1975 Notice the bldg before fullerton bldg? It was even more majestic than fullerton bldg. How could they ever allow it to be demolished? Now even money can't buy or bring back such bldg. I think the bldg belongs to one of the shipping companies, mansfield or straits? Really really sad that it's gone. How could our earlier leaders not value such heritage especially they been educated and have seen England & Europe? Even Shanghai does not pull down what they have along the bund. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 What was the name of that majestic building? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 General Post Office? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 I thought the GPO was at Fullerton Bldg. I think the other bldg belong to a shipping co. There was a light house on top. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 (edited) Ok, I think that building used to be/and still is HSBC/change alley. Anyone can clarify? I also thought the lighthouse was on Fullerton Building itself? Edited February 19, 2007 by Nephilim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear February 19, 2007 Share February 19, 2007 (edited) No,I don't think the lighthouse was never at Fullerton Bldg. Flint's Bldg and HSBC do right a bell. May be the lighthouse was on Flint's Bldg or the Shell Tower. The more I look at the pic, the more sad I am that it's gone. Edited February 19, 2007 by Dumb ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...