Sq123 Neutral Newbie March 27, 2007 Share March 27, 2007 Is optitron speedometer = digital speedometer? Quoting from Toyota's websites: Optitron instruments Optitron driving instruments are designed for greater clarity and reduced eye fatigue. Ergonomically optimized, they use individual LEDs (Light Emitting Diodes) on every figure and indicator needle, doing away with traditional instrument illumination. Optitron provides outstandingly clear readability - leading to less eyestrain - and enhanced driving concentration, whatever the ambient light conditions. The instrument panel lights up when you turn the ignition key. Turn the ignition key and the sleek, dark facia transforms into a crisp, clear, luminous display. Optitron Technology, which was pioneered by Lexus, improves clarity and reduces eye fatigue. Whatever the driving conditions, you'll be able to read the instruments, with their illuminated needles, quickly and accurately. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear March 27, 2007 Share March 27, 2007 buy high doesn't mean sell high, buy low confirm sell low unless the years to come COE shot up but replacement car will be Ex too. if you can wait then wait lor, if not go in liao. i prefer to wait, i'm considering getting a used mpv or used continental Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesbin Neutral Newbie March 27, 2007 Share March 27, 2007 Er...didnt know that I can contact him for test drive..thought he only in charge of purely sales. Is it too late to do so now? As I havent receive call from mazda yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithpapa Neutral Newbie March 27, 2007 Author Share March 27, 2007 New Vios gets entry-level version By Samuel Ee - March 14, 2007 The Business Times A lower-grade variant is being introduced with the new Toyota Vios to cater for greater customer choice and expand sales for authorised distributor Borneo Motors Singapore. The Toyota brand is already Singapore's most popular make, accounting for one out of four new cars sold last year (among members of the Motor Traders Association of Singapore). The Vios was the fourth most popular model in 2006 but was No 3 since it was introduced in January 2003. 'We want to have a wider range of products to reach out to a wider spread of people,' explains Gavin Yeo, Borneo's director of sales and marketing for Toyota. The old 1.5-litre Vios was available in two grades - E and S. The new model will still have the same engine and the E grade, as well as the higher G, which is basically a renamed S. But below them is the newly created Vios 1.5 J. Unlike the 1.5 E with its twin airbags, the 1.5 J will only have a driver's airbag. 'It is good for families looking for a well-priced quality product because a single bag will defray the cost of the car,' says Mr Yeo, referring to the new Vios 1.5 J. 'This variant is also targeted at the car rental and car sharing business, where companies prefer a less expensive model.' But he adds that this is a 'test introduction'. 'We want to see how this product will be accepted, or whether the market will demand more sophistication.' The new Vios range starts from the manual 1.5 J at $48,288, right up to the 1.5 G automatic costing $55,288. But overall, the new car is priced higher than the old car, the last of which was sold in mid-February. For example, the old 1.5 E manual cost $45,788 in early February, but the new 1.5 E manual is $5,500 more at $51,288. Borneo says this is because the new car is longer, wider and taller, with a 50mm longer wheelbase that translates into a roomier cabin with better interior packaging. The new price is also said to reflect the premium for a new model, which also has a different brake system. While the old car had four disc brakes, the new one has two front ventilated discs and two rear drums for what Borneo says is equally effective overall braking performance but with lower maintenance costs. Despite the higher pricing, Mr Yeo says sales are good especially when taking into account the relatively quiet showrooms across the island last weekend. Vios orders were taken after last Wednesday's COE premiums rebounded strongly following the big plunge in the preceding tender. But even though the new Vios has yet to appear in the showroom, more than 60 customers have booked one. Deliveries of the new car are expected to begin in the second half of April. Last year, 6,442 units of the Vios were sold by Borneo, behind the Mitsubishi Lancer (6,639 units), Nissan Sunny (6,646) and Toyota Corolla Altis (10,910). Although Borneo is the market leader among MTA members by a wide margin, its market share has been reduced slightly in recent years. The resurgent parallel import market, which is dominated by Toyota brand models, has also eaten into its sales. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hi577 Clutched March 27, 2007 Share March 27, 2007 Sounds logical. So does that applies to other cars as well? I am targeting to buy my first car before June. But looking at the COE price increment, it worries me if I should. i am also tinking of getting my 1st car b4 june.with coe price expected to increase due to less coe given out fr april onwards and the much anticipated rise of gst in july,it worries me a little too.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peregrine Clutched March 27, 2007 Share March 27, 2007 ...legroom is better, and the best part is the rear floor is flat... The flat rear floor and the 50mm lengthening of wheelbase from the 2500mm of the outgoing G2 Vios, makes a noticeable improvement to the leg room and sense of roominess for rear passengers. Current G9 Corolla/Altis has a wheelbase of 2600mm and it seems that the new G10 Corolla will retain this dimension. This compares unfavourably against 2700mm for G8 Civic, which is more roomy, also partly because of its flat floor. Note that G1 Vios was the Soluna (Vios) which was the first Thai-built Toyota passenger car introduced to Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesbin Neutral Newbie March 27, 2007 Share March 27, 2007 Just wondering if its a wise move to get a used car that is a year old or less. Any advise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear March 28, 2007 Share March 28, 2007 (edited) new vios exterior and interior is much better than old vios especially rear seat legroom and width are bigger than old vios, and the best point is rear floor flat design[thumbsup], if I'm not wrong, in current market only Civic and Axio got this type of design slightly disappoint for rear seat cabin height, like me (1.75m) sitting at rear seat, my head already touched the cabin ceiling liao , imagine if people height over 1.8m or Ang mok sit at rear seat, what is the scene? Edited March 28, 2007 by Quantum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear March 28, 2007 Share March 28, 2007 IMHO, the smartest design is Toyota dumpped plenty of vios owners pride 4 disc brakes in Model J and E eccept City vtec, old vios is the only one to 4 disc brakes in 1.5L cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear March 28, 2007 Share March 28, 2007 (edited) I am also tinking of getting my 1st car b4 june.with coe price expected to increase due to less coe given out fr april onwards and the much anticipated rise of gst in july,it worries me a little too.... Aiyah, don't worry... There are approximately 100,000 new cars registered on the road each year for the last few years. The buyers' momentum will surely plunge, coz all those who wanted to buy a car had already gotten it and will be stuck with it due to high loan, low paper value etc. Everytime, whenever car price goes up, all potential buyers remain on the sideline. Unless Singapore population increase to 6.5 million in double quick time, economy boom like in the mid '90s, then we may see sky-rocket COE prices. The 2% GST increase is negligible in the car cost. Do you see your HDB flats or low tier condo increase in prices? Only the few 55,000 millionaires in Singapore can change car often, but I doubt they will change car every year. Sit back, relax, price will soften Edited March 28, 2007 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear March 28, 2007 Share March 28, 2007 IMHO, it is not necessary to have 4 disc brakes in a small car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithpapa Neutral Newbie March 28, 2007 Author Share March 28, 2007 will go now to see it. My colleague tempted especially his Optra break down again. Wat wrong with optra? QC quite bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear March 28, 2007 Share March 28, 2007 (edited) Bro, if you intend to change your ride frequently then it is more worthwhile to get a 2nd hand ride This is because most of the depreciation would have been absorbed by the 1st owner Edited March 28, 2007 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithpapa Neutral Newbie March 28, 2007 Author Share March 28, 2007 exercise patience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear March 28, 2007 Share March 28, 2007 is it? i had heard numerous complaints abt optra. and the aveo seems to be better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithpapa Neutral Newbie March 28, 2007 Author Share March 28, 2007 His optra has broken down for more than five times with numerous problems. QC was quite bad if you asked me. He regretted getting it and resale value is very low. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear March 28, 2007 Share March 28, 2007 ic. tat's sounds very bad. he will lose big time if he sell it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithpapa Neutral Newbie March 28, 2007 Author Share March 28, 2007 yes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...