Elfenstar 3rd Gear April 19, 2007 Share April 19, 2007 What do you want out of each car??? The answer will bounce back and forth depending on how you like your drive to be like. I like performance and in this scenario, honda's vtec pulls it off better than toyota's vvt-i. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 19, 2007 Share April 19, 2007 2nd Salvo here...INCOMING!!!! Honda's VTEC is not known as king of NA for nothing..the current generation of VTEC abit tame liao..the previous one..once kui..no NA engine in it's class can beat it.. F20C is still ok. The surge is not as strong compared to what you get in the older gen engines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 19, 2007 Share April 19, 2007 that one quite fast you know? aiyah, still lose to your vtec lah. His RX8 got VTEC one. Be very scared bro. Decksurgeon jio jio him to run with RS4s and 997 Carerras but no answer leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apong1471 Neutral Newbie April 19, 2007 Share April 19, 2007 (edited) Vtec is a tecnology that doesn't belong to it's generation when it's launched near 17 years ago. it has created a revolution that even till now if you use the 16 years old single cam vtec 1.6L engine, it still beat most of the current latest 1.5/1.6 car model on the road. VVti is just a fuel economy smooth engine that good in it's reliability. Nothing fancy, which you appreciate it more when you grew older/mature. Hope this lay man term explanation helps...... Edited April 19, 2007 by Apong1471 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 20, 2007 Share April 20, 2007 Yaloh. But ppl complain it like TC. So, i think that's why they 2 stage VTEC now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear April 20, 2007 Share April 20, 2007 how about this CVTC from Nissan? no one seems to mention it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear April 20, 2007 Share April 20, 2007 Nissan CVTC function is excatly identical as Toyota VVTi function[:p] if I am wrong, please rectify Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stivo Neutral Newbie April 20, 2007 Share April 20, 2007 basically 2 different thing... putting aside which is faster ... VVTi is buitl for FC whereas old school VTEC is built for performance... i would compare vvti with the current ictec for fc comaprion instead.... as for high cam changeover... then u should be comparing VTECs or IVTECs with high cams (not those 12-16valves switchovers) with the VVTLi from toyota... there are basically the same without going into details and design which one is mechanically controlled whereas the later is electronically and mechanically controlled.... If you are saying who is faster than... this is a never ending story.... the fastest car would be the one in the car who is not afraid of being wrapped around a tree!!!!!! Bear in mind... Honda's power to weight ratio have always been great.... if you do not believe... SEARCH... there are tons of articles around it..... Then if you are asking ... is honda faster than TC or SC car... another never ending debate....:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie April 20, 2007 Share April 20, 2007 i think the members argue since MCF had started its first day until now...... never ending war... this is worse than the Cold War. you will have whole army of honda die hards coming in again to praise VTEC... i'm one of them.... but i dun wan to say too much... let other ppl do the talking and i will sit back and watch the fun.... I will fire the first shot. Once VTEK kui, WeeWeeTee Ai smell smoke and eat dust. are u sure ... I am using a vee vee Tee I ... it goes zoommmmmmmm......but sometimes ...only very few sometimes that it goes putt putt 2nd salvo: It is up to the Honda driver want to kui Vuitek or not. If he want to kui Vuitek, confirm not zoommmmmmmmmm like the CMI wee wee tee ai, the sound is poom pi pi ah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ls430 Clutched April 20, 2007 Author Share April 20, 2007 put lowest gear..then slowly accelerate..once you hit abt 30kmh..then gradually floor it...sure can hit redline easily.. i have hit redline on AYE, accelerating from 70kmh to 100kmh in abt 3 sec on 2nd gear on my CVT gearbox..but don't dare to try too much as scared spoil.. won't it ko the gear box Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ls430 Clutched April 20, 2007 Author Share April 20, 2007 arr.. ya can give a bit of face ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ls430 Clutched April 20, 2007 Author Share April 20, 2007 therefore is it true also to say that VTEC sacrifices fuel economy for power VVTI conserved fuel consumption but what happens when say like VVTI is in a 4000cc car ... is there a significant fuel saving and because of higher capacity would compensate for power i ask because I am getting really lously fuel consumption thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ls430 Clutched April 20, 2007 Author Share April 20, 2007 if it is true won't nissan or toyota sue each other Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ls430 Clutched April 20, 2007 Author Share April 20, 2007 Vtec is a tecnology that doesn't belong to it's generation when it's launched near 17 years ago. it has created a revolution that even till now if you use the 16 years old single cam vtec 1.6L engine, it still beat most of the current latest 1.5/1.6 car model on the road. VVti is just a fuel economy smooth engine that good in it's reliability. Nothing fancy, which you appreciate it more when you grew older/mature. Hope this lay man term explanation helps...... no wonder i am appreciating it already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ls430 Clutched April 20, 2007 Author Share April 20, 2007 I'm driving a manual car. My method to redline. veri simple. At the traffic light, gear 1 jam the accelerator. Redline liao. Suspect that the vans and lorries redline more than me, cos' their engine really roar sia at the traffic light. will TP stop me for doing that whether using VTEC or VVTI Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ls430 Clutched April 20, 2007 Author Share April 20, 2007 What do you want out of each car??? The answer will bounce back and forth depending on how you like your drive to be like. I like performance and in this scenario, honda's vtec pulls it off better than toyota's vvt-i. can't we have the best of both worlds .... only can afford to buy one car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilmaycry Neutral Newbie April 20, 2007 Share April 20, 2007 to similar or different technology to give us an edge on the road .,.... or car companies ..... pulling a fast one on us.... My ride DC5R. Type R "Racing" Rev to redline 9000 rpm 2nd gear at 160km/h. I'm not sure which one is better but when I rev to 4K at 1st gear my meter jump not climb instantly to 9K. Like I say before my rev jump not climb. This is why i like K20A. There's a clip showing Honda engine that can climb to 10000rpm. And show his Vtec open at 5K, pity that he throw too many gears on. I need a 12000rpm scare out of sxxt car like the AE86 in initial D to feel the surging raw power http://www.protonmania.com/wp/vtec-roar-at-10000-rpm/ My current mods includes, TODA Racing Stroker Kit,Racing Spec A3 Intake & Exhaust Cams, Toda Racing Exhaust Manifold. Hondata K-Pro. RM01A Fujitsubo exhaust. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 20, 2007 Share April 20, 2007 Vtec is a tecnology that doesn't belong to it's generation when it's launched near 17 years ago. it has created a revolution that even till now if you use the 16 years old single cam vtec 1.6L engine, it still beat most of the current latest 1.5/1.6 car model on the road. VVti is just a fuel economy smooth engine that good in it's reliability. Nothing fancy, which you appreciate it more when you grew older/mature. Hope this lay man term explanation helps...... In the same era, we also have Nissan NEO VVL. I think a lot of ppl forget about it. Most famous is SR16 producing 197hp in limited edition Nissan Pulsar. The biggest difference btw d 2 is that VVT-i can also be tuned for power. Whereby VTEC cannot be tuned for fuel economy without massive sacrifice on power & torque. Toyota 3S-GE is very good example of VVT-i found in Toyota Altezza RS200. It is the same ka as Lexus IS200 except difference engine. Tis engine produce 209bhp. I am saying either 1 is better. However, i juz putting straight comparison btw d 2. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...