Pisces69 6th Gear May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 Compressed natural gas is not liquid. It can never be liquid. Only when frozen it becomes liquid but it will be called LNG. =================== OK. Cos I read that at the pumping station it is cooled till liquid for storage. That means it is in gaseous form in the car. Like that the amt able to store in the tank/s in the car wil b very limited. If it's kept at 200bar, then the pressure is very high. That means another problem is leaks or explosion if the tank is damaged in a crash or due to old age & wear & tear. I think like that, petrol is a safer option then. The way I feel is CNG is still very new & chances of things happening is higher then petrol or diesel. Maybe I'll consider it at a much later stage once all the bugs have been worked out. Friend Diving gear also 200BAR lahhh ... =================== 200BAR = 200ATM = 2,840psi????? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtrider_ak Neutral Newbie May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 so u now know petrol even more dangerous Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear May 16, 2008 Share May 16, 2008 cxxxxxe waiting for you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 17, 2008 Author Share May 17, 2008 Petrol burns more readily actually. It is a liquid and will coalesce meaning form pools around. One thing for gas is that you need an enclosed space. There was a horrible gas accident in Brazil I think. Some gas leaked out of a pipeline and into some building basement. Some gas engineers went to investigate and then kaboom. So there was an investigation. They wanted to know if the gas was from a company's pipeline. The gas is synthetic town gas. Meaning it has propane in it. Propane is heavier. The other theory is that there is natural gas seaping out of the underground causing the explosion. The explosion caused a beam in the building to bend upwards so they know it came from below so it is a heavier gas. So they concluded it is a leaking gas pipe from the gas company instead of natural gas. If it is natural gas, the beam would have bent downwards because it would have coalesce into the ceiling and exploded on top. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 18, 2008 Share May 18, 2008 imagine that tank supposed to last a diver 40-50 mins underwater... those SCDF breathing apparatus set bottle even smaller, but charged to 300 bar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gasgasgas Neutral Newbie May 18, 2008 Share May 18, 2008 Hi, i'm keen to get a CNG camry for my next car...what would be a good tank configuration for maximum fuel tank capacity? say 1x YY (kg) or 2 x ZZ (kg) tanks...? am prepared to sacrifice half the boot space in exchange for higher tank capacity..thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched May 18, 2008 Share May 18, 2008 ya lor. I saw the increased price...wahlau....now reduce the savings for ppl using CNG liao. Somemore they are setting up more pumps at residential areas like serangoon north.... Currently the waiting time for CNG installation is like 3 months! sigh. Very sian. Should have went for it much earlier. My plans for CNG: 1) Install CNG for a 7yo W210 kompressor. Hopefully can use similar parts like the E200 NGT. Currently checking with Melchers. 2) Scrap my 323 and buy Axio or Airwave with CNG. btw, I don't think we have a sticky for CNG yet. As it's getting more and more popular, I think it's beneficial to even have a folder for this...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ironstarz 1st Gear May 18, 2008 Share May 18, 2008 There is a forum at http://sgcng.free-forums.org/ Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twixified Neutral Newbie May 18, 2008 Share May 18, 2008 Yeah, understand that the waiting time to install is 3months and more, very long wait. However, I'm aware that there is going to be one more installer in a couple of weeks time. Will update where the new workshop will be located at. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alf08 Neutral Newbie May 18, 2008 Share May 18, 2008 Start on petrol but idle on petrol or CNG is entirely your call. Aiya...i think i ask wrongly previously. What i mean is after collecting a new CNG car, for the 1st 1000km to 5000km mileage, should i run on CNG or petrol first. Will it cause any maintenance issue if CNG is use for the beginning, hope the sifu can share some advise. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dygm Neutral Newbie May 18, 2008 Share May 18, 2008 it should be RM$0.68 per litre. You may want to advise how to convert between price per litre and price per kg. Tks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 18, 2008 Share May 18, 2008 so u now know petrol even more dangerous ===================== Er....I wud think CNG is more dangerous. Petrol is under very low pressure only. If tank leak, it only spill on the ground & even then it's hard to ignite. CNG leak, any naked flame will cause it to ignite. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 18, 2008 Share May 18, 2008 cxxxxxe waiting for you ====================== Hi buddy. I got the contact for this guy selling RP so I think I'll get a couple of qts of 10w40 & use up all my balance stock of engine oil & ATF at me next service. I'll prob get CL for the service after that. No point wasting the stuff I still have in my store. Heart pain to throw away all that good oil. Like throwing away $$$$$. Anyway, thanks so much for your help. Maybe I can return the favour 1 day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 18, 2008 Share May 18, 2008 (edited) imagine that tank supposed to last a diver 40-50 mins underwater... those SCDF breathing apparatus set bottle even smaller, but charged to 300 bar ===================== 1 scuba tank sud last abt 30 mins. Did some diving long long ago. The BA tank also abt 30mins IIRC. I have taken the BA course b4. Long long ago. Edited May 18, 2008 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 18, 2008 Author Share May 18, 2008 I saw the Camry taxis using a large cylinder plus a small one at a 60-70 degree angle off the main one. Looks like a 70L plus 30L. Awesome capacity but no space above for whatever ICE mods I think. Spy on them to have an idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 18, 2008 Author Share May 18, 2008 The one setting more filling stations is SembGas. They have not increased price at all! FYI SMART Energy and SembGas get gas from two different sources. SMART Energy uses boleh gas. SembGas gets the gas direct from Indonesian gas fields. SMART Energy has always been more expensive than SembGas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gasgasgas Neutral Newbie May 18, 2008 Share May 18, 2008 thanks genie47...will get lobang from the Camry taxis...thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gasgasgas Neutral Newbie May 18, 2008 Share May 18, 2008 Hi all, saw a 'CNG' decal sticked on the windscreen in my carpark...there was no 'CNG' sticker on the bumper...is decal permissible? Would be great then...nicer look. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...