Sony 1st Gear April 29, 2007 Share April 29, 2007 just to give you a rough gauge, i paid around 17k for a 0.7, D, VVS1, tiffany setting. Lee Hwa gave me a sweeter deal of about 15k for a 0.7 something, D, IF. what is your cut grading for the tiffany? Seems rather ex.. maybe the D jack it that high.. is the price recent? Coz when i pop over tiffany and Cartier, it's not really that ex.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whiteblackred Neutral Newbie April 29, 2007 Share April 29, 2007 cut grading i dont really remember. but i rmb the lady said the price was because its D. it was last year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 29, 2007 Share April 29, 2007 Hi ppl Time has come for me to tie a knot but i am a idiot when come to diamonds .. . My girl has set me on a Tiffany engagement ring How much would .4 carat from Tiffany cost me? my budget is about 6 k Do I need to make a appointment to see it? payment can done by installment plan or not? Married brothers...please advice or share experience Payment for wedding ring by instalments marks the beginning of trouble. She should know your financial capacity but yet asked for something that you can only purchase via instalments although its rightful that she wants something fancy since its once in a lifetime (or maybe not? ) My advice as a non-married brother... be wary and be very careful on your choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear April 29, 2007 Share April 29, 2007 since the rest said it is within ur budget. forget the negativity of it being more pricey. just bring her there to choose. the last thing u want to do is argue over a few hundreds $ with her. u can also check out singaporebrides.com forum since this has been thoroughly discussed there b4. good luck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 my rule of thumb.... colour grading inversely proportional to cup size but seriously if u're a salaryman try don't pay instalment lah. $ situation likely to get very tight after wedding/honeymoon/married life etc lastly congrats and all the best! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 aiyoh fren wat kind of material ger do you hv ?? ok... screw tiffanny go to robertson walk opposite UE Sq on the ground floor there is a guy ... he is a private jeweller / designer think the name is Adam ... forgot the name of the store already Walk into the lobby, first shop on your left for 6k you shd be able to get VVS1 + maybe G color or something close to it . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 just to give you a rough gauge, i paid around 17k for a 0.7, D, VVS1, tiffany setting. Lee Hwa gave me a sweeter deal of about 15k for a 0.7 something, D, IF. what is your cut grading for the tiffany? Seems rather ex.. maybe the D jack it that high.. is the price recent? Coz when i pop over tiffany and Cartier, it's not really that ex.. it is the D D is the cause of that hefty price increase Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 Tiffany diamonds are way overpriced. You pay for the snob appeal and brand, that's all. nah.. he's paying for the box and paper bag... cannot like that say Box can get you a blow Paper bag can get you a swallow might not be that expensive afterall Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 skali all her frens all married rich man... dan his bank going to be empty juz for the ring alone not to tok abt wedding dinner.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 Hi ppl Time has come for me to tie a knot but i am a idiot when come to diamonds .. . My girl has set me on a Tiffany engagement ring How much would .4 carat from Tiffany cost me? my budget is about 6 k Do I need to make a appointment to see it? payment can done by installment plan or not? Married brothers...please advice or share experience Bro, I think Tiffany diamonds are rather expensive, you should be able to get a similiar quality diamonds at much cheaper price.... Note that the most important thing of the 4 C (Cut, Clarity, Colour and Carat) is the cutting. It will make a lesser colour grade seems more colourless than it is. The depth, angle and width somehow determine how well a diamond reflect lights. There is also a programme on the website whereby if you key-in the portion (dimension) of a diamond it will calculate and show you the score on how good it is. Do go for diamonds with either AGS or GIA certificate, the rest of the certificate including in-house certificate may not be recognised world-wide. I believe those GIA certificate dated year 2006 onward they have included an additional component of "Cut grade", if possible aim for the excellent cut grade diamonds. Do read up more on diamonds stuff, if you like I can provide a few website as I was in your similiar position 1 year ago. I got my wife a 0.51 GIA excellent cut diamond ring on platinum setting from Larry Jewelry, but its not their house brand diamond. Good luck on your search for that special diamond for your future wife. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Memory Neutral Newbie April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 (edited) There is also a programme on the website whereby if you key-in the portion (dimension) of a diamond it will calculate and show you the score on how good it is. Care to share the web add? Edited April 30, 2007 by Memory Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 Hi ppl Time has come for me to tie a knot but i am a idiot when come to diamonds .. . My girl has set me on a Tiffany engagement ring How much would .4 carat from Tiffany cost me? my budget is about 6 k Do I need to make a appointment to see it? payment can done by installment plan or not? Married brothers...please advice or share experience Payment for wedding ring by instalments marks the beginning of trouble. She should know your financial capacity but yet asked for something that you can only purchase via instalments although its rightful that she wants something fancy since its once in a lifetime (or maybe not? ) My advice as a non-married brother... be wary and be very careful on your choice. Sadly, that is still the trend for new debtors... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Memory Neutral Newbie April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 Hi ppl Time has come for me to tie a knot but i am a idiot when come to diamonds .. . My girl has set me on a Tiffany engagement ring How much would .4 carat from Tiffany cost me? my budget is about 6 k Do I need to make a appointment to see it? payment can done by installment plan or not? Married brothers...please advice or share experience Your girl has an expensive taste. She will love you no matter Tiffany or not. Diamond or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 just to give you a rough gauge, i paid around 17k for a 0.7, D, VVS1, tiffany setting. Lee Hwa gave me a sweeter deal of about 15k for a 0.7 something, D, IF. what is your cut grading for the tiffany? Seems rather ex.. maybe the D jack it that high.. is the price recent? Coz when i pop over tiffany and Cartier, it's not really that ex.. it is the D D is the cause of that hefty price increase Still, it doesn't really justify the price... but then, buy liao.. enjoy.. I must still say that D is quite hard to find but it's good to have a balance among the Cs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 Tiffany diamonds are way overpriced. You pay for the snob appeal and brand, that's all. nah.. he's paying for the box and paper bag... cannot like that say Box can get you a blow Paper bag can get you a swallow might not be that expensive afterall wah lao.. that sound crude leh.. let's not mar the happy ocasion with such dirty thingy... we shd be sprirtually clean for now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 skali all her frens all married rich man... dan his bank going to be empty juz for the ring alone not to tok abt wedding dinner.... there's always installment mar.. and there's so many bank.. if his credit limit is 10k, then I think that's enough for a lot of things liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 Hi ppl Time has come for me to tie a knot but i am a idiot when come to diamonds .. . My girl has set me on a Tiffany engagement ring How much would .4 carat from Tiffany cost me? my budget is about 6 k Do I need to make a appointment to see it? payment can done by installment plan or not? Married brothers...please advice or share experience Wah!! $6K budget? Frankly .... $6K is not a budget liao ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear April 30, 2007 Share April 30, 2007 There is also a programme on the website whereby if you key-in the portion (dimension) of a diamond it will calculate and show you the score on how good it is. Care to share the web add? No problem... http://www.pricescope.com/cutadviser.asp ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...