Slacker001 Clutched June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 I have driven a 1000cc car to 4000cc car some in between are company's vehicle after driving for many years I figured out, actually it is passengers that feel the most difference between different cars (I am talking about mass production cars) for the driver, if you dont consider the performance of the car but basically the 'drive' it feels about the same especially if it is on a well paved road dont know if you feel the same way Hmm on a well-paved road...with no imperfections AT ALL? Ok assuming that is possible, and you're talking about driving in an absolutely straight line, maybe yes, it might feel the same. But that's like saying all durians smell the same anyway once you pinch your nose, so might as well buy a less delicious one since it's cheap. Otherwise, I have to say that there's still a difference in that can be felt driving down a stretch of road on a Lexus and on a WRX. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hmanxx 2nd Gear June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 the thread starter may have a numb butt You can feel the difference even with 100M drive. I am talking about the feeling..of the car..excluding performance... Talking about it ..also good..if no difference..i just buy a 650cc car to drive. if road tax,fuel consumption, car price make no different..I would pick a 4000cc car to drive as compare to 1.6L.. one is sure rock stable as compare to the pony car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kameltoh Neutral Newbie June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 The thread starter is bohliao lah, fancy saying these things in a car enthusiast forum. It's like going up to a group of chefs and tell them "after a while, all meat taste the same" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zheshi Neutral Newbie June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 Nope.. Beside performance wise. There are still lot of different, the comfort of the day, the drive poisition of the driver seat and lot more.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 ....speechless.... maybe....u should try a rear wheel drive..... & I meant a bicycle...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lorbinhoot Neutral Newbie June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 I drive mostly Saloon car all the while But, for once I have a MPV before. What I can say is the driving "feel" between a MPV vs Normal Saloon vs Merc/BMW is totally different for me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slacker001 Clutched June 9, 2007 Share June 9, 2007 That goes without saying, about the general feel of the car. Hah bro why stop at 4000cc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2K_83 1st Gear June 10, 2007 Share June 10, 2007 Minus the performance, I still feel a difference when I alternate between driving a SUV and a sedan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 10, 2007 Share June 10, 2007 What are u saying? How can it be the same? How can performance not be considered in the drive? Or ride? U still need to accelerate from standstill to crusing speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear June 10, 2007 Share June 10, 2007 I have driven a 1000cc car to 4000cc car some in between are company's vehicle after driving for many years I figured out, actually it is passengers that feel the most difference between different cars (I am talking about mass production cars) for the driver, if you dont consider the performance of the car but basically the 'drive' it feels about the same especially if it is on a well paved road dont know if you feel the same way Well, it doesn't feel that way for me, having owned, 88' Ford Laser 1.3L, 89' Alfa Romeo 33 1.7LQV, 92' Alfa Romeo 33 1.7L 16v, 01' Honda Civic ES5 1.5L VTI, 03' Ford Focus Mk1 1.6L and current 04' Hyundai Trajet 2L CVVT. I can say that I like my Alfa 33 1.7L 16v best, love the handling and high speed run on N/S HW at 210km/h back in 93-95 The Focus also scores highly in the handling department but loose out big time in the power department If you have brought your car to PG or Sepang for a couple of spin, you know to appreciate how each car will have different kind of handling in corners and turns. Back when I was driving both my Alfa, the local road and expressway becomes a race track for me, yes, I know, it's dangerous to race on the road, I was young back then, will just take any challenge it comes and race immediately, I almost hit 200km/h along the ECP on the stretch that were use as an emergency runway, boy was I really stupid, lucky there isn't much traffic, I was actually racing with a 3 dr Honda Civic Sir, with stickers on for our local Kallang CarPark rally Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanzy Clutched June 10, 2007 Share June 10, 2007 I smell a troll. Anyway, the thread starter is setting very strict limits to this discussion. you are to compare cars without taking into account, performance, comfort, trim levels whilst traveling on a very smooth road in a straight line. i.e. Blind folded, in a metal box, wearing gloves and earplugs, with the only difference being engine capacity but not allowed to use bigger CC engine's power because you are cruising. Hyper hypothetical situations. Makes this discussion totally nihilistic. I consider this nothing but intellectual masturbation. Keep on stroking! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Landex Clutched June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 hey..bro..think u gotto pay for advertising fees for this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 thanks perhaps I made the question too generalized what I really meant was the road feel on a well paved road (level and smooth road) minus all the creature comfort, insulation (sound) and etc I agreed with you completely but I was just getting fascinated that smaller cc cars their technology are catching up with big cc cars real fast eg Toyota RAV4 new version has keyless go (factory fitted) that previously was only seen in big cc cars thanks I think you are inviting a whacking from the brothers here. Well-paved roads of course will be smooth and nice to drive on for all types of cars mah. It is on rough roads then better cars show what they are made of. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 I would say for feeling (dun consider performance), it will be diff if you driving a 1000cc and 2,000cc or 3,000cc cos all are from diff category. Cos in terms of brands and model, you will feel its either up grading or down grading for diff catogory. Example when a lady see you walk towards a 1,000cc car and 3,000cc car; you will also feel it one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 thanks perhaps I made the question too generalized what I really meant was the road feel on a well paved road (level and smooth road) minus all the creature comfort, insulation (sound) and etc I agreed with you completely but I was just getting fascinated that smaller cc cars their technology are catching up with big cc cars real fast eg Toyota RAV4 new version has keyless go (factory fitted) that previously was only seen in big cc cars thanks heard of product differentiation (PD)? if everything is ceteris paribus, den there will be no PD and if there is no PD, then there is no way for so many brands to co-exist. Understand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 Wow bro, talk about product differentiation and target group? hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 becuz the TS is saying, dun compare HP, sound insulation, AYC,LSD,AWD, or even leather seats, etc. So what you have is actually really a tin can... and all tin can is the same mah..... and the type of tin use must be same too if not it affect sound insulation, stability, etc which is not what the TS is asking. SO what does everything mean? It means the TS is boliao to start the thread and i am equally boliao to reply to it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...