New C Class coming...

Mcfguy

Haha I am not a fan of cars like Ferrari, Zonda, Lambo and Veyron. Alfa has come up with really fantastic designs, and the only other brands I can think of that can rival Alfa are Jaguar and Aston Martin.

Lexus' smallest car is already a V6..

I would say when it comes to value-for-money, nothing beats the Lexus.

that may be true for as a generalisation....sadly i admit that for driving pleasure, certain in line 6 bmws can beat the lexus....

but the upcoming IS-F is going to change all that for lexus, it will truly be a hard core driver's car first and foremost.

however one can argue that the IS250 is a far better drive than the anaemic 320i and C180 kompressors....and costs far less [flowerface]

in the states or UK, driving a four pot petrol c class or 3 series is unheard of...the smallest bmw there is likely a 325i......somehow i feel that if u want to buy a bmw, it's a in line 6 or nothing at all. [:)]

Actually the 320i can be had for about 120k, about the same price as the IS250? In terms of value for money, the IS250 definitely wins, without a doubt.

the new C class will be a good challenger to the genre....however i still think the IS250's looks to be superior to the bmw and c class, although the avantegrade model of the C class will be a close rival, especially if u buy a split two exhaust model like the future C 320 [flowerface]

Hi guys,

I need to know one thing: So the new C-class is the W204? I thought the present C-class is also W204?? Please correct me if I'm wrong.

I also heard that the "new" C-Class is actually the same platform and engine as the present C-class, except that the new C-class was given a new look. Can anyone confirm this? [:)]

Thats true, but not for driving pleasure..it falls far down the list

Hmmm.. I kindof disagree with that.

I have tested the IS250 and it was a great pleasure to drive. The handling feel, the road hug, the snug body feel seems all just right. The V6 is so smooth, the car quiet and feel secure. But the best part is it doesn't lose out on the fun. When I throttle, the power delivery is so... I don't know how to describe it but it just feels like the power is not obstucted by anything. The power just kept delivering and delivering and delivering.. even when I'm hitting 120kmh already - and I realised that only bcos the sales guy asked me to slow down.

Then my sales guy taught me to switch to steptronic mode, down to 3rd gear using the paddle shifts and then throttle. Guys I tell you, holy sh*t is what I can say. [sweatdrop]

Really fun car to drive.

I have also tried the beemer 323. I like it's initial throttle response. You can really feel your body thrown back against the driver's seat when you move from stationary. However, I'm quite sure the pickup of the IS250 will win from there. This is how I will describe it: floor the accelerator from stationary and the 323 will lead one bonnet length for 10 metres. The IS250 will then take over from there. [;)]

I also like the 323's interior. Although it's plain and not much changes from the E46 batch, it's still done in a very pleasing manner. You won't feel that the car is small when you are in the 3-series. [:)]

Might try the 159 one day. Something more special with a teeny bit 'exotic' touch as compared to the likes of the BMW, Merc, Lexus.

Edited by Jeje008

Oh I just clarified, thanks to one of the bros here.

The good thing is, the new C-class is now from Germany! No more South Africa (the 3-series still from Africa right?). So 1-up for the C-class there!

But hor, the new C-Class (W204) is using the same, old M271 engine as the current C-Class (W203) ley. Like that sian liao.. [:(]

The IS250 is probably the best lexus to drive now, but something is still missing. Its still kinda soulless unsure.gif. The steering still lacks that edge that makes driving pleasurable. And the engine really lacks torque, as compared to a 325i (not 323i). But as I said before, for the money, yes, its a good car thumbsup.gif

The IS250 steering is way too light and feels like it could come off anytime if u hard corner, weird combo for what is supposed to be a sports sedan. They had better reverse that in the next model.

I drive one from each brand everyday. The Lexus, began to grow on us as we lived with it. And when you take it up to unspeakable speeds in testing terrain, the Lexus shines, and the steering balance is perfect. So it really depends on one's preference. Judge a Lexus by bimmer criteria, and it loses. Same the other way round. But for me in the most important criteria of ownership experience, one beats the other hands down. As for the percieved lack of low end torque, its partly an illusion as the car always feels a little slower than the speed its actually travelling, and also power setting on the ECT switch remaps the throttle curve, quite similar to sprint booster.

Still, the bimmer is a good car too. Just a shame that enough power cost so much more. And I have seen the new C klasse in the flesh. Finally there is build quality to challenge Lexus in this class. My favourite bimmer at present? The 130i hatch I saw a few days ago in beautiful blue.

But hor, the new C-Class (W204) is using the same, old M271 engine as the current C-Class (W203) ley. Like that sian liao.. [:(]

A 1.8L SC M271 that is retuned from 163bhp to 184bhp with 250Nm. It's more than decent 4 pot choice.

Next year, Merc will launch their new TC engine series.

Edited by Vblaster_w211