New B170 ... Any comments ?

Hungee

1st gen Vito is front wheel drive

2nd gen vito (the newest) is rear wheel driven

B - Class is an all new designed platform, not much related to vito but somehow more to A-class.

Any views on the B200?

I got a B200, and is loving the ride....FC is abt 11km/l which is reasonable for a 2L car....ride is very comfy...only thing i don't like is the fabric seat but it's ok....other than that, i would say this is a damn spacious car with alot of good power....i can easily hit 100 within seconds without the need to floor the accelerator, and this is done at Cruise mode....Sport mode is even much more awesome as it allow u to rev up to 3k....the manual switch quite useless to me, cos i prefer the auto style...classy and feel high on the road....

I read in the adverts it's going for like, 88k? then there's the overtrade, etc etc

88k for the car and still get overtrade for old car? or can i get this financial booster for the new car, i.e. paying a nett price of 80k?

At the end of the day, I chose the Golf GT but bought the B170. It's for my wife and kids, you see ?

I think you made the right decision there.

Taking into account VW's lower reliability in the base case (read rattles & squeaks, electrical issues etc.), as reported in car surveys globally, the 1.4 TSI twincharge engine only adds to the problem - being a pioneering technology marrying turbo and supercharging together, is not yet tried and tested for long-term ownership.

There is bound to be problems with the engine (go read vagsg.com forum) - hesitations, rumblings, rough idling etc.

Coupling a TSI engine with a new-tech DSG tranny can only make matters worse - e.g. jerks at slow speed / low rpms, as the dual-clutch shifts between gears 1 and 2 intermittently (e.g. in a traffic jam/crawl).

No fun at all and comes with lots of worries.

Edited by W210k

I read in the adverts it's going for like, 88k? then there's the overtrade, etc etc

88k for the car and still get overtrade for old car? or can i get this financial booster for the new car, i.e. paying a nett price of 80k?

Nope price still 108888, that price after heavy overtrade.

I am going to collect my B1170 this Friday, booked slightly less than advertised price with some freebies threw in.

the latest i heard from the SE is a 6k markdown, so its 102 888.

But that is before the overtrade, loan rebate etc, so it can go to 88k.

I test drove the B170 and B200 three weeks ago and i do feel that B170 is quieter. Below are my comments:

1. Steering is really light.

2. Interior abit plasticky (personal view).

3. Feel giddy after the test drive. Maybe because the height of the car as compared to my existing ride.

4. CVT roar during initial pick up is loud.

5. Last but not least, CVT gearbox??!! No way.

One good thing is that it is coming from Germany, not South Africa.

Yap man, I'm also skeptical about CVT. Tried the B200T, B170, A200 before. But paying such high price for a new 116bhp car? IMHO, the brand is more important that anything else in a A or B class buyer's decision.

Talking about space, for a car that is built this tall, spaciousness is expected. The car is wonderfully easy to drive minus the noise when pick-up. B200T is the one to go for, still available?

Regards,

just traded in my altis for a new B180 today. delivery is on next month. first time owning a mercedes :D

Mechanically, it's a good time to buy a B180 now. Congrats. [:)]

What's the price you have paid for it?

Make sure you buy it with front parking sensors IMO. I heard the sloping bonnet makes it hard to see where the front ends.

Edited by Alfisti168

Mechanically, it's a good time to buy a B180 now. Congrats. [:)]

What's the price you have paid for it?

Make sure you buy it with front parking sensors IMO. I heard the sloping bonnet makes it hard to see where the front ends.

$110,888. include 4 point parking sensors, parking camera, solar film etc

Edited by Stooky

$110,888. include 4 point parking sensors, parking camera, solar film etc

Is the price after overtrade? C&C usually offer an overtrade to bring down the price of MB rather than to lower the selling price. BTW, how much is the B200 Turbo going for now?

Pretty decent lah...hahah

I had the B170 as a courtesy car for two days - quite nippy to drive and good enough for our roads :)

i heard when going up MSCP slope/ramp engine sometimes will stall due to bo lat. and must always keep in sport mode because comfort mode too slow.

dun c--k la, mercedes will stall? then knn all those picantos, kelisa how? reverse mode when upslope?

common sense le...if a $100k car can stall on ramp, then what will a $30k do on a ramp?

the B170 is now the B180...

i actually testdrove the B170 about a year ago...if i remembered correctly, the 1.7L 116bhp engine was rather sluggish...as what the 12.0sec from 0-100kph suggests...barely enough for our roads la frankly...

however, the interior is very spacious, much more spacious than the E-Class, even for the new E-Class...rear passengers seat high, so they can choose not to stretch out their legs...like seating on a high chair...however, the interior is a bit too plasticky for my liking and the grey interior is a bit too dull.

Mercedes-Benz Germany dun make the B200 or B200Turbo already...and i just called yesterday to ask about Mercedes Singapore promotions...

i thought last week MB advertised the B180 at $93,500 nett??

i was more interested in the B200Turbo as i needed the power...

List price was $133,988 but the salesperson could give an upfront 3k discount...

plus if you traded in your car, you could opt for a cashback scheme from the bankloan...i think it works like this...

min loan 70k, from 7-10yrs...you get 30% cashrebate of your loan car price...

so i guess the lowest B200Turbo pricing is around $120k?? not bad for 200bhp, 7CVT and the space you're getting...only 5 units left...interested parties, go grab one now!!