Kelfinity 1st Gear July 30, 2007 Author Share July 30, 2007 My way of playing stocks/gambling... is say I make 10K, and if losses hit 2.5K, i will quit. So the margin for losses is always 25%. Better to be safe than sorry of losing all ur profit. But that applies only when u have winnings to begin with. If losses from start, then better dun play anymore. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear July 30, 2007 Share July 30, 2007 yeah Discipline is the word Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear July 30, 2007 Share July 30, 2007 (edited) Dont borther if ppl say they make so much from market. Why? When they make a little they announce to whole world but when lose they diam diam. I dont think u can make a Lambo trading stocks unless u have a creditline of a few million & even then U wud have lost a few hundred thousand if you bet the wrong way recently. Some business ppl do make enuff to buy a Lambo to show off but the smart ones reinvest their money cos their know when u buy a 500k car 60% of the money goes to the garment, 20% to dealer & ur left with only 20%. normally those who can afford lamborghini don't use their first million to buy it.they have uncountable millions in pocket. Edited July 30, 2007 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched July 30, 2007 Share July 30, 2007 There is too much liquidity in the market. So many people with so much cash waiting to jump in when the market turn around my good friend bought a 1200 sq feet condo for 700K some years back, few months ago en bloc took back 2.7 million he is one really rich man. so envious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 30, 2007 Share July 30, 2007 Don't need to meddle. Just accept it will meddle you. Find a company, look into its profitability and prospects. Buy and hold. No need to buy big amount. Just buy and hold. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 30, 2007 Share July 30, 2007 That is called trading. You cannot beat a real trader. As a private investor. As I have said, research, like the company and what it does. Buy and hold. More you trade, the more you pay for the broker's kids to go to university. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear July 30, 2007 Share July 30, 2007 I have absolutely no financial sense in these kinda things so leave it to my wife... Have some CPF investments which I got it just to get my friends started off in their insurance trade... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Destiny03 Clutched July 30, 2007 Share July 30, 2007 i kenna last thur and fri one lor... sibeh sianz... but i cut losses liao lah. Now only holding some for long term. I use to contra only. to be honest, small trader has very little chance in the market trading short term unless you are making this your profession and have a certain discipline and methodology to it. So for those who try contra once in awhile, luck would run out one day and so will be your losses. IMO, small trader should just focus on long term investing like selecting fundamentally good stock and keep it for long. It is wrong to say that stock market is dangerous. It is only dangerous if you do not know what you are doing there. Everybody seems to be sucked in by contra thesedays and there is no way a small trader can survive on that just basing on luck. So my suggestion is to learn how to select good stocks and keep them for long ignoring all the market noises. You will have higher chances of being wealthy this way then to play contra without knowing what the hell is going on. this is the correct attitude. but just dont cross the line and invest out of your risk tolerance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spas Neutral Newbie July 30, 2007 Share July 30, 2007 The poll's profit brackets are too narrow leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear July 30, 2007 Share July 30, 2007 didnt trade in stock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 See blood today...ai mai chiong? is everyone waiting for today? or more to come... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 Waiting. Watching. Aiming. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 waiting for tonite at US side..see ready to tomorrow anot...fire at will[rifle] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 Local market panic. Good for the long term investor. See tomorrow got more panic or not. If continue, might hit many long term investors target prices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 Haha, I guess I am almost an idiot in this area, cannot understand what you guys saying Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 any fans of nicholas darvas here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jive Neutral Newbie August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 Back to the topic, do u feel richer in the current economy? I dun leh... no increment, no extraodinary gains... I guess it applies only to the MDs, businessmen bah... I agree. I dun feel any richer too. Yes now is up market and yes i did make a little but at calculated risk. I think l'm too kiasi or i would have got more from the market. l'm not a conservative investor but sad to say i profit less than my peers who take more risks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 (edited) Hi guys, just trying to do a poll since the economy is doing so well..though I am not a beneficiary of it... Sunday Times reported ppl buying fast cars, luxury apts, designer furnitures like there's no tomorrow... Is it due to the stock mkt? Pty mkt? or their profession? U believe in spore media? Its the rich tats getting richer. Middle and low income ppl need to wait long long. My gf uncle a billionaire juz get a ferrari spider. Last year juz upgrade to another bigger mansion at those bukit timah district. Even thought shift to bigger house, his cars overflow till need to park outside, inside garage not enuf space. I see normal ppl around me still all the same lei. Edited August 1, 2007 by Curahee ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...