Beei 1st Gear August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 Mine memorable time 1. 6/7 days of raining during fieldcamp.. Giant centipede, digging fire trench, wild boar that look like baby hippo, eating stonelike combat ration that cause u to have constipation for 7 days 2. POP parade - basically interesting much except seeing ur 3SG kenna f by RSM because they strolled out of the parade sq slowly.. 3. Skills course - Those Sispec, OCS, then after that go for special course like armour, signaller, etc.. Mine was signal, so dammed slack.. but unit time siao on one.. 4. Setting up drill in the daytime, 5 push up for 1 mistake or every 1 min exceed.. 5. Turning Ops in unit - your OC and CSM and PC and PS(basically the whole battlelion will come in the middle of the night(like 3 or 4 am) and after doing a hundred pushup, changing parade, basically tekan you.. mine last for 6 hour around 10 am.. ended with a road march outfield.. end time all of us rcv our beret and cookhouse breakfast.. 6. Oversea Exercise - Best time of my NS life.. Basically eat, sleep, beer since i go there as a support unit.. Exercise Wallaby.. but then combat ration + Roos' sh1t smell is horrible.. Nice weather.. hot in the day and cold at night.. relax.. 7. SAF parade and NDP - NDP is nothing compared to SAF day parade.. if u got 'chance' to take part in both parade, then u will know what i mean.. 8. Mind switch off to ORD - Act lao jiao until a bunch of reservists come in who is having their last ICT 9. Many many more.. like how come the toilet alway spoilt like never repaired like that Basically, life is considered not bad.. meet a lot of Kuku jiaos, ba5tards, friends, good people, bad people.. For those regulars, most of them are just 'clones' of each other(those SSGT and above).. Keep looking foward to ORD but when taking pink IC time, my mind was a blank.. only happy for that 5 mins.. No jobs, no income, nothing to do, no money to spend, mind dead after 2 1/2 years.. Now outside meet NS friends, alway got so much to talk about our 'suffering' inside.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 remember my CSM alway say.. u all commander right, so u all do.. understooded?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 meet men who got leadership quality and officers who behaved like spolit brats.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 how to siam.... your vocation is assigned to u one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 Huh? I enjoy myself b4 enlistment cos my friend say ppl in there will train u even if u CMI. U train yourself no matter how hard also no use, better enjoy first. U suffer anyway, so why suffer early?? Not exactly true. Some of my platoon mate did took your suggested 'enjoy first' route and was tekan later jialat jialat because their physical fitness was below the coy average .Plenty of RT and some burn long weekend to take physical test . However , I believe some who are already very active in their sports during their school days may fair much more better than the above. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 and i suggest..aim to be the top few in your platoon and make it into OCS..after 9 months of tekaning and gritting teeth in OCS, your remainder in NS life is virtually relaxing liao.. and btw..few years IS STILL DAMN LONG LAH!! start worrying when you recieve your enlistment letter.. I'm not the TS lah.I have completed my 13 cycle liao...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 many men have good leadership...so we push them to be 2ic and runner. can't agree meet too many spoilt brats officers...wonder how they get in and how they pass Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 Just asking a few questions lah.. have to go for ns soon in a few years time .. Firstly right, which part of the military are you guys mainly positioned in? Just want to know which kind of positions are the easier ones.. I know almost all of the basic positions are tough but at least I can know what to siam Are there any special and memorable moments in NS that you guys can share? And also those special events that you think that those who didn't go for NS wouldn't know.. And then what is so special about NS that makes it NS? Because it seems like there's a change in my cousin since he went for NS.. I also wonder why.. Lastly.. is it very important to know how to swim? Because I can't. Go in with a positive attitude, NS makes men out of boys. You might like to know that avoidance, will create trouble for you. They will teach you how to swim... You might also like to know that today's SAF is easier than days of old...SAF stands for Safety Arm Force. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 these so called officers are selected thru those tests we took during BMT..most are selected just based on what the reservist officers see in those 2 days.. but when it came to real work, some of them just cannot make it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 more like a holiday chalet nowadays with the amount of relaxation and the food they get anything not right tell mommy and daddy and you will be given preferrrd treatment Man, NS is so diff from the past...when the Israeli buggers used to train them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 You are absolutely right...we are training for National Day Parade type of soldiers...personally, do question the ability of many soldiers today. Then again, remembered my uncle commented on my time, saying "time are easier for you today", that was 20 years ago. Oh...they have air con buses today!!! cannot imagine the smell....and charged 2 guys trying to hitch a ride on my car carry their rifles at Riffle Range road. It shows the type of soldier we have... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 Last time we use "cow's strength" to build and launch bridges. Nowadays, they use vehicles to launch bridges. They are very much into what they call the "3rd Gen Army". Less focus on muscles and more focus on brains. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 (edited) Now also with Basic Flying Phase, done in more relaxed manner....think Xbox more strenous Edited August 27, 2007 by RadX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 our NS now machiam NCC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 It is yes and no...in my view, it is more of a working around the situation. Certain training, eg...stall manourve in flying, is a fobidden manourve, they are trained in the simulators (no bodily feeling) but not in actual flying. What happened when things go wrong, and in my view, is only a calculated lost. Imagine that you ask yourself, when my car is turning left and the back is moving towards my right, what should I do....the moment I think, you do not have time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 You are absolutely right. Failed quite a few students but was reviewed and passed . Are we training for the event of war or NDP fly pass. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 Yes...No Combat but Ceremony....NCC... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 Well, that is exactly what my wife said, training oni for NDP ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...