Skidded again!! Wanna change tires..

Tkseah

I called to ask abt GR80 from one shop. He told me GR80 now come from Taiwan instead of Japan. Is that true?

i would rephrase it to "if you don't mind 13" rims, you don't need sports tyres"

GR80 is a decent tyre available in 13". i used it myself, on my 'goo with 13" rims. braking and cornering grip is pretty decent, and i was driving quite aggressively even when i was driving my van

if GR80 still not good enuff, pls change to 15" rims minimum.. actually 14" can use hankook RS2 which has phenomenal grip but relatively stiff sidewalls and quite noisy as well

I concur with you on the grip of Hankook RS2s, but I'm finding that the sidewalls are a tad soft and lack steering feel.

Care to share how much air you pump into your tires?

what tyres were u using previously? i was using G3. maybe u were using sth harder

i pumped 230 kpa for my getz. when the RS2 was in front. now at the rear, i pump 210kpa. my standard pressure whichever tyre i use

Just to add, rainy season is here therefore pls drive carefully and get new tyres if your existing ones are worn.

Would like to add my experience on Nexen N3000 which can be summed up in four words, "Hopeless piece of sxxt".

The tyres themselves cause rim to wooble on balancing machine(verified by two tyre shops), steering feel is extremely vague, compound is very hard, grip is lacking and noise level is horrible after a few months.

Don't be fooled by its aggressive thread pattern, it aquaplanes very easily on the highway, I now drive extra slowly when its raining and stay on lane 2 to avoid any puddles.

The roads were wet after an early morning downpour yesterday and while on the bend from PIE to ECP, a taxi suddenly veered into my lane and I applied moderate braking pressure, bloody wheels locked and I drifted outwards for a good 1 ft at least before regaining control, I was travelling at about 60km/h and following traffic flow during the morning peak hour, thankfully the car behind was not too close. [sweatdrop]

Average in the dry and very scary in the wet.

Edited by Garlic

My Goodyear NCT5 skidded again on wet road today.. my closest encounter to a near accident dizzy.gifsweatdrop.gif

Feel it's time to change to safer tyres. From the feedback here, shortlisted Bridgestone GR80 and Hankook K415. Current tire size is 175/65/R14, but i would like to change to 185/60/R14 if the rims can fit. Understand GR80 is around $75, K415 is how much? Any others to consider that is within this price range?

bro,

dun always blame the tyres.

1st question to ask; what's yr ride and the car weight?

2nd question: what kind of suspension u using? is it soft? is it stock?

3rd qestion: what u were doing when the car skidded? cornering a bend?

if yr ride has soft or stock suspension and not lowered, stock height, and u are doing a sharp cornering, any tyres u use, sure skid la.....

some cars are just not made for any cornering above certain speed la.... u cannot blame the tyres.

somemore u are on only 14"... so small and thin.... sure skid la.....

u got to understand what yr car can do and cannot do first.

alot of drivers dun understand this point and start to say tyres no good, steering no good, alot of rollovers, blah blah blah

if u change yr suspension, lower yr ride and upgrade yr rims to better size, there is a WORLD OF DIFFERENCE.

Edited by Jusnel

Yah agree with what Rtth84 says. Get a reliable & known brand of tyres from a reliable shop.

I'm using Michelin XM1 on 185/65/14 for >2 years already & they r pretty solid in wet & dry. Noise is also pretty low even after such a long time.

BTw, don't over-inflate your tyres cos that one sure cause u to skid on a wet road. I only pump 200 to 205kpa as that is what is recommended in my handbook.

My Goodyear NCT5 skidded again on wet road today.. my closest encounter to a near accident [dizzy][sweatdrop]

Feel it's time to change to safer tyres. From the feedback here, shortlisted Bridgestone GR80 and Hankook K415. Current tire size is 175/65/R14, but i would like to change to 185/60/R14 if the rims can fit. Understand GR80 is around $75, K415 is how much? Any others to consider that is within this price range?

I skided this morning, second time already

I went straight to tyre shop to change a pair (Federal 535 @ 95/tire)

My previously tyres was a pairs of Yoko S Drive..Supposed to be good but have skidded twice on them.But the problem should be the different profile cos my rear are a pair of Yoko S306 and profile for front is 15/55/195 and back is 15/50/195..Maybe changing the back to the Federal 535 as well although I still like Yoko than others... Now all at 15/50/195..

Is 95 for one Federal 535 ex? Kindly advice..

$95 for 195/50/15 Twn rubber. [knife] WAY over priced bro, kena kon liao. [knife]

I got 17" SS595 for S$120. BOTCOTT the shop

Sianz

Cos I skid then mind come to a blank..

He saw my S-drive tire kanna a cut gonna burst then take advantage..

Almost wanted to go back to do my rear ones as well and also wanted to do my I.C.E there but now after your advice..They shall never see me spend another cent there.. [thumbsdown]

Just called them up.

Say fren intro to them for the Federal 535.

Guess what he quoted me. He quoted me 88/pcs, then I hanged up and call back as the guy who stupidly paid 95/tire.. (That day they also chopped me on a audio board Say 40 dollors no carpet. I onz then tell me is a hundred when Nan Kang sell me at 80 with carpet)

He even hanged my phone why I asked why one day difference the price so much differences..

This shop chop people one..

Don't go "K*tong car audio @ upper seragoon Road"

i guess its always better to do a research here before committing to a purchase.

recently city tyres quoted me $75 ea for 15" SS535

ic. i very kiasu type. my tire is due to change next year but i already on the lookout for the replacement liao. [sweatdrop]

its also better to have a couple of regular workshops which u always visit. lesser chance to get cheated [nod]