14 October 2007 @ ~7.05pm: Accident along the junction where Punggol Road meets Buangkok Dr

Ad23

Last nite i saw this accident at the junction of Upper Thompson Rd & Seletar Expressway exit points. Abt 8pm. This car hit direct smack into the divider....i couldnt see clearly as i was driving. But wify said she clearly saw the driver slump at the wheel.....probably dead liao. ambulance & police was there oredi.

Did any bros saw that ??????

The worst of the 2 deceased is the pedestrian [:(]

Bo Dai Bo Chi tio buang inbetween 2 vehicles while waiting for the green light [:(]

It's a tragic death for her [smallcry][smallcry][smallcry]

one kind of rice, can feed million types of people...

some are chongsters, some are just trying to make ends meet... some at the expense of safety on themselves and others... shakehead.gifshakehead.gif

i am starting to see commerical vehicles on LANE 1 shocked.gifshocked.gifshocked.gif

anyone else??

Count me in [flowerface][flowerface][flowerface]

If they overtake from Lane 2 to Lane 1 and then back to lane 2, i have no problems with them [nod][nod][nod] but some simply jus zoom all the way on lane 1 [rolleyes][rolleyes][rolleyes] and with some even to the extend of hogging the lane [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

How i wish TP was there whenever these fellows execute these fine moves [:|]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

2 out of 3 vehicles involved are G-plate.

People may argue, but it is solely my opinion (you can't argue with that) that light goods vehicles of late have been getting more and more out of hand.

It is not the Eurovan modder types - those have toned down a lot. You know, the kind that has neon lights, loud music, lowered suspension, bucket seats and sports rims. In fact I applaud the Eurovan and Goo clubs for cleaning up their image (if not everybody's eyes, then in my eyes).

Nowadays even workvans drive around at the same pace as I on the expressway. If I am a devil for going 10kph over, they are going 30-40 kph over their limit (which the sticker on the back says 60 or 70kph). Mind you, this is not short bursts, this is sustained (all the way down KJE).

I was driving conservatively cruising at 80kph on the middle lane, trying to save fuel ($1.744 per liter!!!), one came up and tailgated me for a bit, then passed me on the 1st lane. OK lah, I should mind my own business, but with things becoming monkey-see-monkey-do it will not take long before I get involved in some kind of incident with one of these sort of drivers.

I am all for the authorities to come down hard on these errant van drivers (before you MCF van drivers get huffy at me, I'm just talking about the bad ones. If you get pissed off at me, then I guess I was referring to people like you).

to all mr know it all and mr always blame it all on commerical /taxi vehicles

whenever there is a crash before waiting for the actual report

try arguing with this article

wanbao_article_crash.jpg

for those whom can't understand chinese

cause of the crash

a car whom stop infront of a traffic light to let pedestrian cross the road ,

vehicle behind fail to stop, resulting in 3 vehicle accident and 2 person dead.

out of the 3 vehicle 2 is from same direction one is from opposite direction

which one is which side, not stated clearly..

so please get back to topic

e.g why most car driver love to spot in the middle of the road all out of sudden without indicating , to let their passenger in or out. or wait for something

and not why commerial vehicles are in the whatever lane, or what speed the malaysia tour bus wish to travel at

thank you

Edited by Mingsect

The worst of the 2 deceased is the pedestrian [:(]

Bo Dai Bo Chi tio buang inbetween 2 vehicles while waiting for the green light [:(]

It's a tragic death for her [smallcry][smallcry][smallcry]

The poor pedestrian and the passenger of goo.

Somehow, paper din mention who and the age of goo driver ?

from the above article

owner of the kangoo . guy age 40 ..

please stop stero casting

does not matter if the guy is 18 or 81..

Edited by Mingsect

I drew no conclusions from my post other than the fact that 2 of the 3 vehicles involved in the accident were light goods vehicles.

After which I went off into a tangent regarding the current driving habits of LGV drivers. If you choose to view that as accusing the drivers involved, apologies for I don't know enough to judge them.

I only commented on what I see, when I drive on the roads.

Based on your news report, one vehicle failed to stop (stop in time, or stop at all?). It doesn't state that the LGVs were at fault but it didn't state that they weren't at fault either.

Did I strike a raw nerve regarding those LGV drivers' driving habits?

hi , since you had a sort of disclaimer in your post,then my post is not directly at you. [grouphug]

no raw nerve struck,, just simple tired and sick of those who add fuel and fire before check out the truth.. [thumbsdown]

e.g

the 3 car accident, between nissian , merc and lotus

surely say the 2 most faster racing.. merc and lotus [:/]

Edited by Mingsect

Me too..a few weeks ago on KJE I had a CONTAINER TRUCK doing a F1 race on his own..i drive..erm..90kmph and he juz zoomed past me..weaving in and out of lanes and overtaking everybody. [hur] Totally stunned man..and he disappeared from my view before i could close my dropped jaw..haha..

AYE in the morning also wad..3 lane road can have lorries and trucks in 1 nice line across.. what to do? TP sleeping we also cannot say anything.. [sleeping]

TP Can't be everywhere at once. If they could I'm sure they would, because their coffers will be ringing with the sound of perpetual speeding fines.

The only practical measure is legislation. And make the punitive measure tough on such acts.

People will continue to get killed on the road. that is the reality ever since Henry Ford's Model T.

I also don't want TP to be everywhere, haha, because everybody drives at 10kmph BELOW the limit whenever a TP rex or bike is around, they cause jams everywhere they go.

I think better education should be the key. Driving schools are not really teaching much on driving etiquette, and some drivers make you wonder how on earth did they pass.

I'm not a perfect driver, nor a very good one. But i do consider myself to be a safe and courteous driver, and if everybody can be safe and courteous then there would not be as many accidents on the roads IMHO.. [thumbsup]

It's really very sad to know that 2 rather innocent people have passed away.

I used to drive an LGV too. I guess it's really the driver and not the vehicle.

But then again, it's a sad day man. Earlier that sunday morning at 4am, there was also another accident as was already discussed in another seperate thread.

I pray that your souls will rest in peace and that their families will be alright, especially the 2 kids who lost their mum. May God bless them all.

Condolences to the family of the deceased.

I was in the area around 7.45pm and there was a huge jam tailing back to prev junction. I went another way to avoid the jam. Returned to the area at around 10.45pm and saw the Merc being hauled into a flatbed truck. 2 vans no longer in sight.

Didn't know what happen till now.

Sigh...drive safe bros [smallcry]

among the ones who are involved, i think while the kangoo driver is now shivering of guilt and thoughts of jailterm, the benz driver is the one who will be the saddest...

imagine u r waiting at a traffic light and u witness a death right in front of ur car, and you can't possibly do anything about it... [smallcry][:/]