Watwheels Supersonic October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 I think driving a tank is more suitable for u. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 I don't drive a van/lorry but in my view , as long as they road hog on centre lane can liao. Lane 1 ? My passenger is always carrying a camera , I heard he sometime snap the picture and email to TP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 (edited) I have notice is too. Lorries and vans speeding like nobody business. And i thot their speed limit is 60-70km/hr maximum nia ? Those i saw were easily at 90km/hr+. some even more. Edited October 29, 2007 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Focusdude Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Kudos to you for being such a patient driver but simulation models have shown that just one vehicle road-hogging on the centre lane of any expressway is able to drastically slow down all the lanes behind if the traffic volume is high (relative to the maximum capacity of the expressway for the tested stretch). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whitemondeo 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Aiya, We have 3~4 lanes in our First Class Xpressway. In Malaysia, 2 lanes and not much of a problem. Why huh??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 bro, im a van driver here, as rule of thumb i keep left, centre lane only for short stretch to overtake --i feel van/lorry can use ANY lane, as long as the speed is fast enough, so going by my view, to use lane 1, the van must run at 90+ or 100? if the van is in lane 1 and doing 100, no reason to complain, but if kena TP then steady liao sorry for my confusing post, what i want to say is, as long as van/lorry dont road-hog, should be able to use any lane, but if get TP caught for speeding then its their own fault for speeding summary: van can use any lane, dont road hog ok liao, at OWN RISK (in terms of speeding) PS: i kena stealth camera once for travelling at 81km/h---stated in the letter they sent me Aiya. Some ppl here very funny one lah. When u keep to speed limit but travel on middle lane, they comprain. CB MF @#! road hogging KNNCCB, cry father & mother etc. When u drive more than 70km/hr to keep up with others, they again comprain, they say van/lorry speeding like speed demon etc. U keep to your left most lane at 50~60km/hr. Nobody here praise u say u'r good. It's like that one lah. Ppl and their crap theories on overtaking lanes and such. Live and let live. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Aiya. Your car cannot overtake them meh? overtake need to waste extra petrol. How much torque oso lose to diesel engines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 No TP on the road, of course the van drivers are so daring. No TP = No Law! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 agree. more commercial vehicles are overtaking others using the first lane. while some bad sheep tends to drive on Lane 1 like they own it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 I think driving a tank is more suitable for u. a red rhino will do fine... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 i'm used to it liao. sometimes i just drive slowly behind them. helps to save fuel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 (edited) overtake need to waste extra petrol. How much torque oso lose to diesel engines. I mean if u really buay song, just overtake lah. If u really cannot be bothered and wanna save some petrol, just let ppl be lah. Why come here and whine like a sore loser? As if Van/lorry drivers are of 2nd class ppl. Although I'm not a van/lorry driver, but putting ppl down like u'r some high class driver is really arrogant. Edited October 29, 2007 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 It is not about class. commercial vehicles have a speed limit to adhere to. But they are not. Speeding commercial vehicles are dangerous if they are carrying heavy goods as they need a longer distance to stop while braking during emergency. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amuze Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 The best avenue is - The Straits Times FORUM. But ST may reply with a - We receive xx no. of letters each day, and with the limited space, we are unable to publish your letter. Thank you for writing in.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 quote "Let he who is without sin to cast the first stone." unquote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wl3gan Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Hi, Road-hogging and speeding are two different issues. Many people get confused about the two, for some unknown reason. You can be a road-hog at any speed as long as you are on blocking someone behind you from travelling faster e.g. from overtaking. You speed when you exceed the speed limit of the road that you are travelling on. There are four possible combinations: a. you are both a road-hog and speeding when you are travelling at 120km/h on the fastest lane on the CTE (90km/h speed limit) and a car behind you is prevented from overtaking; b. you are a road-hog but not speeding when you are travelling at 90km/h on the fastest lane on the CTE (90km/h speed limit) and are blocking the car behind you from overtaking; c. you are not a road-hog but speeding when you are going at 120km/h on any lane on the CTE (90km/h speed limit) and you are travelling faster than vehicles on lanes to your left and are not blocking any vehicle behind you from overtaking; d. you are neither a road-hog nor speeding when you are going at 90km/h on any lane on the CTE (90km/h speed limit) and you are travelling faster than vehicles on the lanes to your left and you are not blocking any vehicles behind you from overtaking. Contrary to popular belief, going at 90km/h on the fastest lane with a speed limit of 90km/h doesn't obsolve you of the wrong of road-hogging if there is a vehicle behind you wishing to overtake and you are blocking it from doing so. It does not matter if you are already travelling at the maximum permitted speed for the road and that the vehicle behind you will exceed that speed if/when it overtakes you. Just my two cents worth. To me a and b not consider road hogging if there is car in front of me and the distance I keep between the car in front is for safety reason. On contrasts, I consider somebody is tailgating me if the safety distance is less than one car distance and I have car in front of me that I that block my way to drive faster. Anyway, I have an experience that lorry hight beam and tailgate me at first lane at the condition I mentioned above. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Focusdude Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 To be pedantic, even if I'm behind another vehicle that's causing someone within the queue to be unable to overtake, I'm road-hogging as I'm part of the reason why overtaking by the latter is not possible. I would consider tail-gating another wrong which can exist quite independently of road-hogging and speeding, although it is often (and is closely) linked to road-hogging. Anyway, I think most people won't bother to remember all these. Therefore the easiest maxim to remember is "keep left unless overtaking!". :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 u kena smoked by vanners or truckers iszzt...u sound so unhappy... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...