Albeniz Turbocharged November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 Dear folks, I encountered a persistent problem while using my laptop to open up the hotmail webpage to read my Emails. After signing in hotmail and gaining access to read my Emails, my laptop would suddenly slow down reaching to an almost "hang" state. The temperature of the CPU would suddenly rise to a high level till I could feel the heat with my hands. At this point, when I go to the Task Manager, it would show 100% CPU utilization by the hotmail internet page. It will continue for a very long time. Fearing that it will spoil my laptop, I have to abort the process by pressing "Cntrl, Alt, Delete". Clues anyone? Appreciate your inputs. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 could it be the fan spoilt..time to change new one ? better go haf it checked...for mine it will shut off immiediately... when over heat and fan was spoilt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 Do u have Norton Antivirus installed and run at startup? I got the same 100% CPU utilization when i used NAV. Now i changed liow. Better already... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 (edited) try with other browsers and see if you still get this problem. copy and paste the following link in your "Start/Run" box to download firefox immediately. http://download.mozilla.org/?product=firef...=win&lang=en-US also take note to hear if the fan is working. you can hear one, but don't mistaken for the humming of the harddisk. Edited November 27, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged November 27, 2007 Author Share November 27, 2007 Thanks all for the prompt replies. The problem only occurs uniquely when I am at hotmail page. At other websites, the web surfing is normal and CPU utilization is very low. BTW, the fan is working, I could feel the air vibration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 could be the IE got corrupted. try with the firefox and see.... you should use firefox to access hotmail anyway, with the anti-ad extension, you can weed out most useless advertising on the net. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 Are you using the new Hotmail Live? Try reverting back to the classic Hotmail interface and see if it improves? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 This might help... http://forums.microsoft.com/MSDN/ShowPost....811818&SiteID=1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged November 27, 2007 Author Share November 27, 2007 (edited) Thanks to all who have responded. Yes, using Mozilla Firefox seems to solve the "hanging" problem encountered while I am at the hotmail page. Appreciate your help. As I have already expected, there are really many IT experts in this forum. The MCFers here really consist of Crouching Tigers, hidden dragons. Many earning more than $65k per year, I am sure. Edited November 27, 2007 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 No worries. IE7 is very resource hungry... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 Convert to firefox you can do everything in firefox except for visiting certain badly designed .sg sites like poems, iras, cpf, ns.sg...etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 Anyone actually uses Maxthon as a browser? I find it the least resource hungry browser around. Very important for me as my lappy has only 512MB RAM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged November 27, 2007 Author Share November 27, 2007 I should have brought this issue out for you guys' advice earlier. My CPUs might have been stressed unnecessarily for the last few days. Luckily I killed the process when I see a 100% CPU over an unreasonable period of time. Thanks all! Great help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 Not sure... I'm more pro firefox because i've not been suffering system hangs due to web browsing for years. thing with firefox is that you can tweak it's performance and behaviour w/o screwing up your registry (or rebooting) here's a few articles on firefox mem management. http://weblogs.mozillazine.org/ben/archives/009749.html http://kb.mozillazine.org/Reducing_memory_usage_(Firefox) more technical ones: http://plugindoc.mozdev.org/faqs/memusage.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 don't worry bro. CPUs are like engines, they are made with a higher upper threshold than what you normally think it will take. But heat is a killer for electronics.... CPU may not burn out first your other components might. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 Dear folks, I encountered a persistent problem while using my laptop to open up the hotmail webpage to read my Emails. After signing in hotmail and gaining access to read my Emails, my laptop would suddenly slow down reaching to an almost "hang" state. The temperature of the CPU would suddenly rise to a high level till I could feel the heat with my hands. At this point, when I go to the Task Manager, it would show 100% CPU utilization by the hotmail internet page. It will continue for a very long time. Fearing that it will spoil my laptop, I have to abort the process by pressing "Cntrl, Alt, Delete". Clues anyone? Appreciate your inputs. Check your processes ... when ur TURBO kicks in or VTECK kicks in..means resources is being maxed out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 Cumputer got VTEC one meh? Turbo I know have cos certain brand names called Turbo... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear November 28, 2007 Share November 28, 2007 got lah.... old one 1 core is called WOT 2 Core one is MIVEC, QuadCore one is 2 stage beetech. if use hyperthreading tio si VVTi ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...