Singapore jets scrambled to intercept small plane

Sirbrian

Taken from Yahoo News:

SINGAPORE, Jan 23 - Singapore closed its commercial airspace for almost an hour on Tuesday as fighter jets scrambled to intercept a small plane headed towards the city-state without permission, the Civil Aviation Authority said on Wednesday.

The Defence Ministry said two Republic of Singapore Air Force planes took off around 6:45 p.m. local time to intercept a single-engine turboprop Cessna 208 and escort it to land at the Changi Airport.

Police have started an investigation, local media reported.

The closure of commercial airspace for about 50 minutes affected 23 aircraft, disrupting flights in and out of Changi Airport, a Civil Aviation Authority spokeswoman told Reuters.

She said 16 incoming flights and six departing aircraft were delayed for between 15 and 40 minutes each. Another inbound aircraft was diverted to Senai Airport in neighbouring Malaysia, she said.

Anybody witness this account?

2nd case liao... The first was some Portuguese guy who lost electrical power and wondered into the "western" airspace... Think it's about 3 - 4 years back...

"Anybody witness this account?"

How to have witness when all these is happening in the air....... [sly]

Unless you are the one affected by the delays of landing or taking off. Anyway, the Captain of the plane will not inform you of the incident.

If MINDEF spokeman did not comes out to the press, we don't even know it had happened.

Cheers.... [wave][wave][wave]

Edited by Picnic06

The plane landed at CHANGI!!!! A Cessna 208 at Changi! OMG! Those at T3 should be able to see low flying F16s beside the Cessna... what a sight that will be.

[inlove]

"The plane landed at CHANGI!!!! A Cessna 208 at Changi! OMG! "

I was wondering, why Changi Airport ? [confused][confused]

We have Paya Lebar Airbase and why Changi. What happen when the pilot decided crash onto T3....... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Even if the F16 shot down the Cessna, the derbis would be all over CA and will cause it to closed down further and affect more delaying. [hur][hur]

Sounds like they are overdoing it leh.

Why the need to close the entire airspace unless they are ready to fire at the intruder and worry that the missile might hit a commercial jet.

Also they can escort it to land at paya lebar airbase instead of changi. [rolleyes]

maybe it's because they are not sure what kind of stunt the pilot might pull. if the plane is coming in unannounced it means something is definitely not right, correct?

hopefully we can see more news on this soon. quite an interesting run up to SG airshow [laugh]

[laugh] Scully it is a planned interception. [sly]

M'sia recently planned a commando raid on an airfield as an opening performance for their air show, so SG responded by having a real-life interception [thumbsup]

"quite an interesting run up to SG airshow "

Maybe, he is selling his plane at the airshow. [sly][sly] . So he comes in early to chop a good places mah.......... knn, SG sent 2 F16 to welcome him.... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop].

Someone should had told him that he can use tissue to chop place...... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Can imagine the scene between the SAF F16s & the Cessna 208.. laugh.gif

SAF 16s: Pilot of Cessna 208 U have intrude the air space of the Republic of Singapore, please identify yourself

Cessna 208 : Singapore? couldn't find it on my navigation map?

SAF 16s: We request U to land at our Brand new Changi T3 airport for further investigation

Cessna 208 : Sure maybe can buy some DF goods before I leave

SAF 16s: Control Tower T3 Terminal this is Escort 1 & 2 we will be descending at gate *** with un-identify aircraft Cessna 208 for further investigation, please made arrangement for our landing.

Control Tower T3: Roger take and Welcome to Singapore..

laugh.giflaugh.gif

not only northern neighbour, southern neighour also play punk...regardless land or sea. those in the service should know..

lucky got rsn/rsaf, or else sg already kena overrun by them nong nong time ago..[;)]

Edited by Pocus