Cumzilla 4th Gear March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../332731/1/.html whats the point of taking taxis to the CBD when they can only alight at taxi stands, might as well take bus there where there are more bus stops around. Really stupid. Someone pls explain what the LTA meant by 'in the interest of the passengers' safety' to have this rule ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 I don't understand the rationale . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 Dumb can only get dumber. make themselves look more silly with this ruling. How u gonna enforce it? waste of manpower. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sirbrian Neutral Newbie March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 well that's wht you get from garmen who only insist in employing 1st class honours and scholars only. All work with only brains but no eq and sa. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 My understanding of it is that they want to smoothen the traffic flow. Rather than stop at anywhere, the taxis are supposed to pickup/alight at the bays that will not interrupt with the main flow of traffic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 those PHDs...really no logic study 2 much till become no logic liao IQ all skr@w up... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paikia_rav Neutral Newbie March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 Bcos all these fellas highly paid and dun need to take cabs. They either drive or get chauffeured around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 while i do agree the positioning of the taxi stands leaves much to be desired, i do not necessarily agree that the taxis and passengers should be allowed to stop anywhere they like. as a driver, i have seen so many instances of being inconvenienced or traffic jams caused by passengers wanting the taxi to drop them or pick up them at any location they fancy. some are main roads with heavy traffic, others are 1 lane passage ways that obstructs the rest of the traffic when the taxi stops to pick up or drop passengers. then taxis swerving sharply to pick up a passenger at the main road also posed danger. If there had been designated stops for taxis, it would have reduced the unpredictibality (in the perspective of fellow drivers, taxi drivers) of the taxis swerving in and the danger that comes with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 Dun pray pray, i think DK is in the same league problem is, he is trying to be there but not there yet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 (edited) dun OT la... ppl serious discussion u know..unless TS ok with OT leh... Maybe the PHD from LTA was previously from SMRT. So tot apply same alighting and drop off point method would works Edited March 4, 2008 by Blue2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 If they implement this on taxis, does that mean normal drivers also cannot any how stop and drop off passengers in CBD areas? So far, I am only aware we cannot drop off passengers when there's zig-zag lines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 those PHDs...really no logic study 2 much till become no logic liao IQ all skr@w up... PHDs = Permanent Head Damaged lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 while i do agree the positioning of the taxi stands leaves much to be desired, i do not necessarily agree that the taxis and passengers should be allowed to stop anywhere they like. as a driver, i have seen so many instances of being inconvenienced or traffic jams caused by passengers wanting the taxi to drop them or pick up them at any location they fancy. some are main roads with heavy traffic, others are 1 lane passage ways that obstructs the rest of the traffic when the taxi stops to pick up or drop passengers. then taxis swerving sharply to pick up a passenger at the main road also posed danger. If there had been designated stops for taxis, it would have reduced the unpredictibality (in the perspective of fellow drivers, taxi drivers) of the taxis swerving in and the danger that comes with it. ____________________________________________________________________ I agree with you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 As a motorcyclist & motorist...i am happy with the rule..now i dun need to worry taxi anyhow ebrake to pick up or alight passengers..since i dun taxi oso..haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenic98 Clutched March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 i am fine with having cab stands if there are enough signages telling people where the nearest cab stand is. Also have enough bays for cabs to Q up, bot just one or 2 bays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lv3338 Clutched March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 by in term of passenger point of view, it's a total inconvenience to them :) Pay such expensive taxi trip , but have to walk like hell . Let's be fair to them.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixus 1st Gear March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 while i do agree the positioning of the taxi stands leaves much to be desired, i do not necessarily agree that the taxis and passengers should be allowed to stop anywhere they like. as a driver, i have seen so many instances of being inconvenienced or traffic jams caused by passengers wanting the taxi to drop them or pick up them at any location they fancy. some are main roads with heavy traffic, others are 1 lane passage ways that obstructs the rest of the traffic when the taxi stops to pick up or drop passengers. then taxis swerving sharply to pick up a passenger at the main road also posed danger. If there had been designated stops for taxis, it would have reduced the unpredictibality (in the perspective of fellow drivers, taxi drivers) of the taxis swerving in and the danger that comes with it. Agree, Hong Kong is using this system and I find it working quite well. Can't stand taxi drivers who cut accross lanes suddenly to pick up passengers or to let passengers alight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecerato Neutral Newbie March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 well that's wht you get from garmen who only insist in employing 1st class honours and scholars only. All work with only brains but no eq and sa. BTW these ppl high pay drive car, never take public transport.When they see taxi stop suddenly to pick passengers, they not happy so set such rules. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...