Mustank Hypersonic March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 i know of one musso ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 To TS, Bro, actually i dont wish to debate, but bo bian, i think i join in this small discussion ba. I believe everyone will have difference mindset, so lets brainstorms... keep left if not overtaking (By LTA), need me to explain? If you dont keep left, by thinking, hey, i am already at 80km/h on PIE, so ask yourself this question, how to overtake you, and where is the overtaking lane? Firstly, what is Overtaking? For you to find out!!! I can tell u one thing, one day if your wife is giving birth , in the hurry to hospital, and people maintain at 80km/h, i tell u, u will cry M cry F. Note: i am not trying to hurt anyone neither your family. /cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 whenever coming to traffic lights with camera, always MUST slow down becos u wont know if the car in front kiasi and jam brake. somehow i see that the musso driver like no intention to stop leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunrise Neutral Newbie March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 Well traffic is not slow..its about 80-90km/hr...few cars are ahead of me...so i kept about 3 car lengths. I see. In which case 3 car lengths is reasonable. We are in this rat-race and sometimes people do get too heated up or impatient in this pressure cooker. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 definately no intention to stop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 Actually, the speed at which you drive on Lane 1 is sometimes not relevant. There are times when the expressways are so crowded that cars on lane 1 are all cruising at say 70 km/h. If so, and if Lane 2 is packed, I will also cruise along at 70 km/h along with the whole long line of cars. The point is - if the front is clear and someone wants to pass, you are road hogging. But if the front is not clear and there are many many cars ahead of you, and you are cruising along at that same speed, then you are not road hogging. For tailgating, that is a definite no no for me. I won't even bother to high beam or honk. Just wait till traffic is clear and quickly overtake on the left. No point high beaming/honking as it just pisses some people off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getzoooom Neutral Newbie March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 Theory is only theory... I would say 2 cars length is more reasonable. Unless u are sure that ur brake is super buay jiak, then give it a 3 to 4 car length. Else, imagine, if every car on road leaves a four car length, a 100m stretch of road can only pack around 5 to 6 cars!! everyday's morning jam will be jammed till batam.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 whether is 2 car or 5 car length, this is not a foolproof solution. when you drive, you dont just look at the front car ahead, instead is a few cars ahead. 1 car length is good enough. if you know you car is a little faster, just slow down abit and maintain. if the front car not kuai lan, nothing wil happen. i only keep 2 car length away from taxi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 sorry, borrow your reply 1st thing, to the TS, you tap brake then the fella behind also brake, you call him no guts? Then what you expect him to do? Crash into you? I am neither a road hogger or tailgater but i got this to say, the debate over this issue has gone on and on in many threads.... To the tailgaters, if you want tailgate, pls bear the consequences if there is accident... dun need kpkb see who coward, etc. I have encountered my fair share of road hoggers, kpkb does not change a thing. To the roadhoggers, if you think there is nothing wrong in roadhogging as long as you are within speed limit, pls ensure that you do not be pissed off by others doing likewise, especially if you are in an emergency....... and if cannot tahan kena kpkb at, then move to the left lane, alternatively, stop the car and whack the fella... same thing, no point kpkb.... And to both of the kinds, make sure you can afford to total loss your car....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bornno1 1st Gear March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 Whats with the complaining of tailgaters and road hoggers? Not happy with them then DON'T DRIVE And wats so difficult in keeping centre lane???? It amuses me that those speeders overtaking me needs to brake damn hard at the red traffic junction and i pull over beside them and look at them with curiousity. So fast for wat? we will still reach home/work only mins in difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rs_mini Neutral Newbie March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 just a personal opinion and experience: Just a couple of days ago, my fren was rushing to hospital to visit a relative in ICU, maybe for the last time - so as u imagine wat kind of rush he was in. and of coz he bumped into a couple of "legal speed + 10%" drivers on the right lane.. travelling at same or maybe 5km/h faster than the centre lane? he horned them, flashed them, but to no avail - the only response he got? either a tap on the brakes or a finger. just imagine how he felt.... but how else cld he inform the drivers of his urgency? when traffic was clear, he was doing abt 120km/h or even more - frankly, if he encountered a TP, he'd prob ask the guy to catch him for speeding then escort him to the hospital and get the "legal speed + 10%" drivers to give way. he did make it in time. just barely thou - to say his gd byes. So please try and give way, u nvr know why the guy is in a rush or whether there's an ambulance 500 meters behind you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 like i already said, if u are not overtaking keep left if theres a faster vehicle approaching, let the vehicle go tailgate the guy infront. its not necessary to tap brakes. i think overtaking on right lane does not apply on normal roads except expressway. am i right to say this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vince69 Neutral Newbie March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 sometimes, not the car infront play punk or what, one other thing to take note, another car from the next lane may decide to cut in sharply, causing a series of jam brakes... then you 1 car length may not be enough... (oh... this is what happened to me when I had my first and only one accident ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eternity_gal Neutral Newbie March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 Hmm. Tailgaters are common nowadaes u see.. Wat do u see them as? Impatient or simply just always on the rush when driving. Seriouly, I 've nth against them, but if there is one or a few cars in front on mine which are slow and hogging in the lane, i think the car behind should not tailgate my car. I encountered tailgaters and I think most of them dont look far and tends to blame the hogging just on the car in front of them. Thus, when countering them, I usually dont tap, cose tapping show the braking light. I just pull up the handbrake, and make sure the tailgater wont want to play any more stunt behind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 Like what i have highlighted, dont just look at the front car, we should monitor a few cars ahead. Actually hor, i have come to a notice, when our age is getting more mature, we tends to drive slower and carefully. keke /me. I dont rush, dont squeeze with people when diverging or converging. You want the way, i give u, you want to overtake, i give you, most importantly, i still reach home in full piece. So TS, just give way, you wont die or lost anything one. Tapping brake will worsen the situation. I know driving in SG is hectic but what to do, you want to drive, so bared with it lor. Always think of consequences. If the driver behind cannot make it in time, and bang into you hor, i cannot guarantee you will survive too. Be friendly on the road, learn to give in or give way. Disclaimer: I am not proclaiming you are fault, just sharing a caring moment with you as a driver. If we dont care, who cares? If you dont make the first move, who will? 好人有好报: hope you heard this before, trust me, it worth to give it a try, you may not see it instantly, is a long term investment in religious world. keke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 Thus, when countering them, I usually dont tap, cose tapping show the braking light. I just pull up the handbrake, and make sure the tailgater wont want to play any more stunt behind. You are really vicious! But, I like it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eternity_gal Neutral Newbie March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 heh.. Vicious? It can be dangerous u know.. I met a few tailgaters on expressway nearly just kissed behind my car..If the tailgater is not alert or realli an inexperienced one, better not pull this stunt, he or she will bang behind ur car for sure, cose there is little sign of warning for slowing down. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...