Thug Clutched March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 (edited) I have a very close friend who is expecting her 1st child this August. She asked me to give her comments on the names she listed down for her child and told me she having headache over it. To me surprise its all english names(to me its the same as christian names). My question is if u got a child, would u give him/her an english name? What is ur reason? Edited March 26, 2008 by Thug ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched March 26, 2008 Author Share March 26, 2008 upz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 nope..i will give only chinese names..no matter how much my future wife will protest..can say i have a very strong cultural identity in me.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 tat makes 2 of us bro i strongly believe in our own culture n furthermore we r not christian. have n always educate them to be proud of their names given by none other than their old man papa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 er..fyi, i am a christian..but i am still proud of my culture and heritage..so english name is a no no.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smurfy76 Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 I have named my boyboy both. In this multi racial country. be it at school or workplace, I find that it easier for others to pronouns n remember our english name. Juz my 2cts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Give lor. Easier to identify also. Just remember not to name her daughter Si Li if her surname is Soh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Novicej Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 (edited) It is natural for an excited parent to brood over this issue. There is no right or wrong. Some parents might insist, no no must chinese... As the child grows, he/she might decide to use a christian name themselves, and their friends starts calling, "hi, can i speak to Edison/Paris" - what to do? you can'nt do very much to insist..... I have another chinese friend - a must for christian name... I think the aim should be, the parent must educate the child the significant of the given name. As long as the child knows the significant bearing it in mind, its good enough. Edited March 26, 2008 by Novicej Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Only Chinese in IC, But give an Ang moh name.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Novicej Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 lol... I sincerely hope your future wife doesn't have a stronger opposite opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 (edited) my gf says she wants a christian name for her child..i have yet to convince her otherwise.. Edited March 26, 2008 by Shull Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beavc Clutched March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 (edited) I have a very close friend who is expecting her 1st child this August. She asked me to give her comments on the names she listed down for her child and told me she having headache over it. To me surprise its all english names(to me its the same as christian names). My question is if u got a child, would u give him/her an english name? What is ur reason? This whole thing about Christian names is so...*sigh* These things started in our father's time...no such thing liao lah these days in modern times...it is just an English social name not just for Christians lah.... so not the same unless u specifically pick one that has Christian meanings or links to th Bible that don't say lah those are real Christian Names...elses no need to be Christians to have English names... e.g. do u have to be Chinese to have Chinese Names...Indian to have Indian name? Edited March 26, 2008 by Beavc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gasgasgas Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 english name probably carry some 'class'...but prob is ppl having the same english name is very likely...'eric', 'john'..etc...thousands of ppl having similar name... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spas Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 There's no written rule that says a Christian must have an English/Christian name. It's just a tradition - to some, no less. I'm Christian, but I do not have a Christian name. Does it make me less Christian? Nope. I think it's just some people being a little, erm, "peasantry". I shall not go into details. But i think it's a pandemic that affects all modern asians - particularly Chinese - Christian or not. But really, I'm seeing more and more weird English names amongst young Singaporeans. Taking every single word in the english vocab as a potential "name". From Apple to Fish, and taking a normal sounding english name and giving it a weird twist by raping its spelling... It's sad and really very wannabe. As an angmo person I know once mentioned to me (knowing that I don't have an english name) when he heard a room of asians introducing themselves with english names, "what a pity that people these days don't have names in their native language." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 give jippo name like xing ben qiang lang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 (edited) Having both chinese and english name will be a blessing to the child later on. Especially if they end up working in a 'meet client' type of job, where it's easier for people, especially foreigners, and more importantly, bosses, to pronounce and recall the name. Worse still, if the child has a hanyu pinyin name spelling. Will end up having to teach people how to pronounce his or her name all the time... I had a friend who went into banking and finance industry and added an ang-moh name for practical purposes. It need not be a christian name if you are not comfortable with it. By christian names, I mean names like daniel, john, peter, michael, etc. Some ang-moh names have no or less religious connotations, so can easily use these. For convenience, especially together with hanyu pinyin names. Myself, people call me by my first name initials Edited March 26, 2008 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Yes, why not look East? No reason why cannot have jap names, or russian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched March 26, 2008 Author Share March 26, 2008 (edited) nope..i will give only chinese names..no matter how much my future wife will protest..can say i have a very strong cultural identity in me.. I agree with u bro. However to myself, i'll give my child a english but not in IC. Just for future use. BUT I won't give my child some weird english that spellng is even created out of nowhere. More like customising something rather then giving a name. Name is forever! If I, as a parent, die the name is the only true thing I left for my child...I'm very much into chinese traditions... Edited March 26, 2008 by Thug ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...