Data Recovery for Laptop

Sabian

u upload my video (if i have any), i think the mod will delete within 5 min.

cannot meet standard, they tell this one shd go to youtube.

I know. If I am corporate customer and need clean room, then the $400 charge is cheap.

But it's those back "alley" SLS kind, no proper signboard nor tables and chairs (all retrieved from void deck and dumpster kind) asking for that kind of charges.

Ya, understand. But the scary thing is... what if they do more damage than what it already is? Look for some tech savvy friends for advice lor. Maybe they can suggest some precautionary measures b4 sending to back alley shops.

don't tell me you in Vietnam... that Mixa virus is out of control in Vietnam now. every tom dick harry has got that virus. shakehead.gif

told u liao, must find busty kopi soh.. not just any changi airport ah soh, look like bamboo one.

so how, ai mai?

sat i can help. otherwise u on ur own.

Thanks for the offer bro.

I asked my brother to look at this thread and his more IT lieterate firend followed one of the suggestion to remove the HDD and plug into another and he managed to retrieve some of the data.

According to them, it is QED. But for noob like me, only know who to do forum postings.

Thanks!

ha ha... if you've been to vietnam then it is confirmed Mixa_I virus. dead.gif I got that too earlier this week while I was in HCM.

After infected, you will hear "ha ha ha ha...." and then some rock music starts to play mad.gif when you try to hit ctr + alt + del, the computer will log you off mad.gif and then thereafter cannot log in le. When you log in, after 2 sec it will immediately log you out. dizzy.gif

The virus will not destroy your data. Just need to clean it away and you can have your computer back to normal le thumbsup.gif I still got the cleaning CD can lend to your bro or he can create one.

Please tell your bro not to remove the drive and connect to a PC as it will immediately infect that PC and can spread via LAN too if someone tries to access the infected drive because the virus creates a autorun.inf in any drive.

For your bro info:

Virus is designated W32/Autorun-DH by Sophos.

The virus will create the below hidden files, and if you tries to unhide hidden files, the virus will counter that by unabling the "show hidden file" options.

The icon used by the file is a dancing lady gorgeous.gif

c:Mixa_i.exe

c:windowsMixa.exe

c:windowssystem32systemio.exe

c:autorun.inf

c:windowssystem32restart.scf

c:Documents and settingsuserApplication DataMicrosoftMedia Indexwmplibrary_v_0_12.Ird

It will also modify your userinit.exe.

Thanks for the heads up.

I just informed him to do a virus scan.

When you mention virus and Vietnam...I was thinking abt something else.

Does anyone have contacts for data recovery?

Went to Sim Lim and kenna scared off when 3 different shops have conflicting diagnosis (some say virus, some say HDD spoil and another one say the password mgr corrupted...) and quoted some unbelievable fees up to $400.

I am IT noob but not noob until like that.

Not worried abt privacy stuff as the lappy is used to do word processing and generate letters.

If the harddisk is encrypted, it will be very difficult to recover. Thats the purpose, should the harddisk is lost, no one can attempt to decrypt to retrieve confidential info. For unencrypted harddisk, typical fee can go from $400 to $2000.

Regards,

i think is rather rare for a normal user to have Pre-boot authentication encryption in their laptop.

usually only govt or some bank will practice this...

nope.. but u can do wat i do.. buy norton ghost and clone ur HDD. buy getbackdata for NTFS (lifetime update) and u sud b able to recover almost anything if ur HDD ever crash

Thanks for the heads up.

I just informed him to do a virus scan.

When you mention virus and Vietnam...I was thinking abt something else.

check your credit card bill bro.

I was charged 2 funny transactions originating outside Singapore a few days after getting the virus unimpressed.gif

and both of them are some adult friend finder website mad.gifmad.gifmad.gif

IPAY-Friendfinder

Frndfndr228

dead.gifdead.gifdead.gifdead.gif

Does anyone have contacts for data recovery?

Went to Sim Lim and kenna scared off when 3 different shops have conflicting diagnosis (some say virus, some say HDD spoil and another one say the password mgr corrupted...) and quoted some unbelievable fees up to $400.

I am IT noob but not noob until like that.

Not worried abt privacy stuff as the lappy is used to do word processing and generate letters.

Have you tried removing the hdd and plug it into another computer as a portable drive? From there you can retrieve your data and re-format the hdd.

I have tried that for mine but it stops reading after a while.. I am trying to retrieve all the games especially Counterstrike. I spent a lot of time downloading maps and stuff..