Wisdom tooth

Antonee

Best is to remove the wisdom tooth lar bro as it will give a lot of problem to the rest of the teeth. I had to remove 2 of my molars (upper) even though both wisdom teeth (upper) had grown normal. The lower wisdom teeth was operated on and i have no problem with the lower set of teeth. Now thinking whether i should do bridging or inplants for the lost. [:(][:(]

Yup, following up from my earlier post, a month later I went for the op to remove both wisdom teeth, upper and lower, at one go. Top one is normal extraction, cheap cheap. Bottom one needs surgery and breaking up into pieces, more expensive, not to mention scary sounds to endure. But I'm surprised it was all relatively painless even after that. No severe pain after the painkiller wore off. Just some soreness. Technology has certainly advanced in this field!

But as some posts had also mentioned, surgery of wisdom tooth sometimes alters the neighbouring teeth and gum conditions. Maybe some parts of the gum also cut out and removed before the wound is sewn up. After the lower wisdom tooth was removed, the rear two molars seem a bit "exposed" at the roots and became sensitive. Got to live with it lah...

Would like to share my experience 2 month ago in Woodlands polyclinic at the cost of $86.10 with Xray, emergency charges and extracting of my upper right Wisdom tooth done in the same day ard 45 min. Waiting time for this is almost 1 hour as my wife make the call to polyclinic for appointment only in the morning. Tell them as I can't sleep well for the last 2 days and they treat this as emergency case.

Dentist explain to me very clearly on the process on this extraction. He will try to extract and if root of wisdom tooth broke, he will try to dig it out and if it can't be dig out than I will have to proceed to hospital for an opt. Overall experience I still felt pain after 3 injection but come to think of it it is worth it as I do not want to have more sleepless nite.

Good to hear u are fine now.

Mine was surgery for lower wisdom impacted and decayed. I had actually booked appt in hougang mall QandM in dec then went holiday( luckily the toothache did not act up when i was oversea ). Back in sg in early Jan, went to dental as schedule.. The dentist asked me relac told me the procedure and signed some form.

She sprayed some gel-like ma zhui the gum and injected 4 Jabs. First 2 Jabs was nothing to tali no feeling at all. The 3rd jab took me feeling Like some ant bite, 4th jab was no feeling too. After that, my whole chin and lip become Seh seh no feeling , went x ray , after that lie down, my eyes was covered by the missy. Whole ordeal took Like 30min job and the last is stitches. Heard a lot of drilling and cutting plucking..

Cotton bite on and Done [laugh]

MC for a week and have light porridge diet .. Feel sian eating same food so i go buy ban mian after 3 days when the swollen is cool down [cool]

went Back removed stitches after one week. Follow up was filling my Good molar tooth which cause some hole form the impacted wisdom tooth. But ^Pu ya^ the feeling was awful as gum was beri sensitive :wacko:

hi..how much do they charge per wisdom tooth? Mine was quoted 300++ depending on the position of the tooth

There is one dental clinic located at cbd ..charge me 800 per wisdom unsure.gif

all dentist advise surgery ..

$650拔一颗智慧牙 妇女与家人闹诊所
25/11/2013on 我报
MY_25_11_2013_CJ_2_23453216_23446864_lim
双方僵持不下,诊所的大门甚至被人踢破,惊动警方到场调查。(图/新明日报)
一名妇女到淡滨尼32街的一家牙医诊所,花了650元拔了一颗智慧牙,结果,她和4名家人大闹牙医诊所,惊动警方到场调解。
47岁的妇女说,她因为牙疼到诊所拔牙,医生介绍了两个配套,其中一个是拔牙及缝合伤口,收费650元。
“我的家人觉得非常不合理,因此到诊所去,要求医生解释每个项目的收费。不过,医生却表示他已事先说明收费,并也获得同意,所以不愿多作解释。”
据悉,双方僵持不下,诊所的大门甚至被人踢破,惊动警方到场调查
诊所的牙医表示,动手拔牙前,已清楚解释配套的费用,包括打麻醉针、拔牙、缝合伤口、药物和复诊等,一共是650元。
“由于王太太怕痛,要求不要缝针,所以我用一种特殊的止血棉花来代替。在王太太同意后,我才开始拔牙。”(新明日报)

remove liao then feel it was too expensive!
woman went to a dental in Tampines to have her wisdom teeth removed. Dentist recommended 2 package and she opt for the $650 one. The family member after learning the cost not very happy and demand a cost breakdown from the dentist. Dentist refused to explain as he already explain to her prior to the surgery.
someone broke the dental front door and police was called.
honestly dental care is quite expensive [:(][:(]
Edited by Jman888

Dear all,

Wanna check which dental can use medisave for extraction ??

Are ther dentists in poly clinic and can use medisave ??

Or go national dental centre ??

Mostly cannot.

Poly clinic can use ??? Anyone knows ?? Or national dental center?

Normal extraction don't go polyclinic LA. Takes months for an appointment...

I mean wisdom tooth can go poly clinic to extract ???

They will probably refer you to the dentist.

Only if need surgery then can use medisave?

I removed mine during NS time. Foc...

Now NS(police) also pay same price at poly clinic.

polylcinic dont do wisdom tooth surgery. they will refer you to NDC.

i heard NDC waiting list is very long and you cant choose your doctor if you're subsidised patient.

sometimes the person doing the surgery may be a trainee and you're none the wiser, especially if you are sedated or knocked out.

Edited by Glyuen

How about national dental centre for wisdom tooth ?? Can use medisave ?

I don't think medisave can be used unless is surgery. Below is the list of the withdrawal limits for medisave.

https://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/costs_and_financing/schemes_subsidies/medisave/Withdrawal_Limits/Summary_of_Medisave_Withdrawal_Limits.html

There is not a word on dental.

Perhaps you could check with your company insurance whether are you covered for dental care. Some do.

Hi, I m one of those who got 4 wisdom toothy.....so had 3 surgeries to remove them 2 upper one + 1 + 1........

I didn't stick to the same dental surgeon because my first experience was bad, after extraction got infection and couldn't eat, always taste blood in the mouth....

The bottom molar extraction also need to chisel the jaw bone kinda

My subsequent 2 surgeries were ok, unlike the first one

I think it depends on how big is the tooth and how it's growing on the x-Rays, if it's not the straight forward extraction kind, I suggest to go for better surgeons

My 2 cents

Hi, I m one of those who got 4 wisdom toothy.....so had 3 surgeries to remove them 2 upper one + 1 + 1........

I didn't stick to the same dental surgeon because my first experience was bad, after extraction got infection and couldn't eat, always taste blood in the mouth....

The bottom molar extraction also need to chisel the jaw bone kinda

My subsequent 2 surgeries were ok, unlike the first one

I think it depends on how big is the tooth and how it's growing on the x-Rays, if it's not the straight forward extraction kind, I suggest to go for better surgeons

My 2 cents

Which surgeon you went to? I am thinking for complicated wisdom tooth surgery, it is better to go to private hospital surgeon?

polylcinic dont do wisdom tooth surgery. they will refer you to NDC.

i heard NDC waiting list is very long and you cant choose your doctor if you're subsidised patient. 

sometimes the person doing the surgery may be a trainee and you're none the wiser, especially if you are sedated or knocked out. 

Wah. How come there is a waiting list everywhere these days?

Back in 2006 when I removed my wisdom teeth at NDC, it took me 2 months to get a polyclinic appointment and that was the longest wait in the entire process.

NDC appointment was within 2 weeks of the polyclinic appt and at NDC, they said the earliest slot for removal was the very next week. I requested to do it 1 month later instead because I wanted to plan my ORD leave.

Which surgeon you went to? I am thinking for complicated wisdom tooth surgery, it is better to go to private hospital surgeon?

Some private dental clinics are authorized to use medisave for wisdom tooth surgery. Note that it's surgery, for those wisdom tooth that grows horizontally and needs drilling to extract. Normal extraction which costs about $100, you cannot deduct from medisave.

I went to this private clinic for my second round of surgery, due to bad experience from the first. The doctor who did my surgery was Dr Tan Min Seet, had a much more positive experience and recovery. Their clinic is medisave-accredited.

http://www.lemints.com/content/our-specialists

try khoo teck puat hospital, they are quite good.

Khoo teck puat hospital? Think needs to wait quite long for appointment, esp if my gum/tooth is painful now.