Albeniz Turbocharged August 20, 2008 Share August 20, 2008 (edited) Dear folks, I am currently using a Nokia 6233. It's about time for me to change my handphone again. I am looking for a cheap-good camera hp which could allow me to take clear photo within a short focal distance, example: snapping newspaper article or content of a library book. I am tired of going to the photocopier to zap a hardcopy. My current 6233 is good in taking far, scenic picture but performs very badly for close distance object. Photos of document page with font size of 12 would appear blur using my 6233. Do you know of a cheap-good hp (which could satisfy me needs) to recommend? Many thanks. Edited August 20, 2008 by Albeniz ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 20, 2008 Share August 20, 2008 (edited) I dun think there's one. Inorder to take closeup shots, u gotto have a camera with macro function or else it'll be in a blur. It has nothing to do with how big or small the megapixel. The symbol for macro is a flower icon. I suggest u keep your phone and just get a cheap compact camera. Edited August 20, 2008 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 20, 2008 Author Share August 20, 2008 Thanks for your reply. I remembered quite some months ago, there was a discussion on hp and someone demonstrated this capability by posting captured document contents using his hp. It was expensive. I am looking for a cheaper version. A cheap compact camera might be too obvious. Librarians disallow photo-taking in their premises. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 20, 2008 Share August 20, 2008 I dunno what's your purpose of doing that but I think u gotto wait for technology to advance inorder to get your hands on a cheaper version. In the mean time, I still think it's cheaper to borrow the books and photocopy elsewhere. Happy waiting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged August 20, 2008 Share August 20, 2008 hey did u encounter copyrights issue? cos i went once to queensway to photocopy, bind a medical book and was questioned by the staff there. nowdays how tight is the security?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged August 20, 2008 Share August 20, 2008 bro i realised that where tech is concerned no such thing as "cheap & good". either get a digicam or tablet that can scan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 20, 2008 Share August 20, 2008 (edited) Oh? I use my office photocopier. I bought the copier and I even got another one 4-in-1 copier. Copyright issue is BS. If so concern dan pull out all the copiers lah. Plus so many ppl taking picture in the library. Pull out all the compact cameras and related products. While at it dun use the CDRs & DVDRs, thumb drives, portable drives blah blah blah...BS! The thing on illegal downloading of movies and music is also very stupid. Ppl downloading/sharing all these get warned and some even arrested. But I think they're stopping the wrong ppl. If really wanna stop, they should start with portable media player manufacturers. If not for these devices u think ppl will illegal download? If ppl really want to control copyright, they should start with devices. But they are too late, these devices spread like wild fire. LL. Edited August 20, 2008 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear August 20, 2008 Share August 20, 2008 i think u r talking abr n82. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear August 20, 2008 Share August 20, 2008 Yalor...and i posted the macro photo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fondue Neutral Newbie August 21, 2008 Share August 21, 2008 Can consider the Nokia 6500 slide w/ 3.2 megapixel camera. Main thing is must have auto-focus. Picture quality is basic, but at least can read the all words. Should be quite cheap by now. I took this picture from 20 cm away. Width of subject is about 20cm too. Just need to make sure lighting is bright enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 21, 2008 Share August 21, 2008 The below picture is taken from a nokia N82 under normal lighting. N82 is quite cheap it should be well below $300 if its still on sale. [inline N82.jpg] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 23, 2008 Author Share August 23, 2008 Absolutely impressive! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear August 23, 2008 Share August 23, 2008 So far use before N6670,N6680,N70,N73and N82 N82 is the BEST Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nerdyfrog Neutral Newbie August 23, 2008 Share August 23, 2008 how about sony K-series phones. All cybershot phones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 23, 2008 Author Share August 23, 2008 how about sony K-series phones. All cybershot phones. Pardon my ignorance. Do all cybershot phones come with autofocusing capability by default? I need one which can take the photo of document at a close distance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 23, 2008 Author Share August 23, 2008 Thanks. The 6500 seems to strike a good balance between my needs and my budget. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 23, 2008 Author Share August 23, 2008 bro i realised that where tech is concerned no such thing as "cheap & good". either get a digicam or tablet that can scan. I think Nokia 6500 might be the one which I am looking for. It may not be so expensive and yet could satisfy my requirement. I will also add N82 into my watch-list. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged August 23, 2008 Share August 23, 2008 eh, the quality of Nokia phone machiam like dropped liao or my sister has a bunch of nokia lemons which i see her sending in every quarterly. i'm on k800i n i find this phone though old but still can capture quite decent shots but i cant use it to "copy" books as i got Lao Hua. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...