Blackyv Turbocharged September 5, 2008 Share September 5, 2008 (edited) ok.. actually, i have this problem all the while but just too lazy to send in and get it check..i realise the problem for the first time when i went back to kl ..... when i travel at high speed, let's say above 150km/h, very high chance my horn sound by itself... i have to press the horn to stop it... it seems to be due to vibration which causes short circuit somewhere to activate my car horn..... i cannot replicate and wont know when it will come but if i continue to travel at 150 and above, once a while, the horn sounds.. can be a few times if i maintained at high speed but sometimes, it doesnt have problem... not sure is it due to my wiring or the steering problem.... i change to magnum2 horn the very first day of car collection... quite sure it is due to lousy wiring work.... anyone has experience and think otherwise? Edited September 5, 2008 by Blackyv ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edmund932 Neutral Newbie September 5, 2008 Share September 5, 2008 hello blackyv, to sidetrack a little bit on magnum2 horn, can i know if the installation of magnum void the warranty of your car? Cos I am contemplating on whether to install it or not. Sorry for not being able to advice you on your problem as I'm a noob too. Let's hope the gurus come in soon to help point out your problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 5, 2008 Share September 5, 2008 Y not u just go back to the fella that installed ur horn and tell him the problem so he can try to sort it out? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged September 5, 2008 Author Share September 5, 2008 no lar..just a horn, no problem one lar..changing horn is just like changing tyre lor... btw, if ur current ride doesn't come with relay for horn, make sure they install a relay..... this horn will burn ur fuse if no relay... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged September 5, 2008 Author Share September 5, 2008 as i said, lazy mah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 5, 2008 Share September 5, 2008 I tink asking here will take much longer time and effort to solve it than to drive ur car down and juz slack one corner for kopi while the guy check ur car out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged September 5, 2008 Author Share September 5, 2008 i was hoping for someone to come in and tell me otherwise or other possibility.... even if i let someone help me fix i, i wont know has it been fixed or not IF i dont speed and i wont go to that lvl of speed in singapore.., so, the last thing i want is i paid someone to fix it, thinking it's fixed but realised it's not a few mth later...then i have to waste time again to get it fxi and history repeats itself... in fact, i can live with it since it wont happen in singapore.. only happen on NSHW but at that speed, who really cares or can hear the horn .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear September 5, 2008 Share September 5, 2008 hmmm...then again how come the horn got no problem at Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zedzee 1st Gear September 5, 2008 Share September 5, 2008 i think the installer sabo-ed you lah.. Make your horn like army vehicles' SWD. Theirs beep when exceed speed limit, yours honk when exceed speed limit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged September 5, 2008 Author Share September 5, 2008 not likely... latio can hit 170+ and still stable IMO...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged September 5, 2008 Author Share September 5, 2008 maybe this is a new conspiracy btw them and LTA hor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 5, 2008 Share September 5, 2008 probably raining and water enter into the horn... water short the coil together resulting in horn. make sure the horns r tilted down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear September 6, 2008 Share September 6, 2008 Frankly have not come across a car horn circuit without relay in place unless the horn is using very minute amp which is not be succficient powered to activate the coil.Allowing heavy current to pass directly via steering horn switch will definetly cause burn to the contact point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear September 6, 2008 Share September 6, 2008 i was hoping for someone to come in and tell me otherwise or other possibility.... even if i let someone help me fix i, i wont know has it been fixed or not IF i dont speed and i wont go to that lvl of speed in singapore.., so, the last thing i want is i paid someone to fix it, thinking it's fixed but realised it's not a few mth later...then i have to waste time again to get it fxi and history repeats itself... in fact, i can live with it since it wont happen in singapore.. only happen on NSHW but at that speed, who really cares or can hear the horn .... the likely problem is not your horn, is your brake, the car scare it can't stop intime so keep horn-ing others to SIAM you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 6, 2008 Share September 6, 2008 cud b minah the car in front... his car become horny... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 6, 2008 Share September 6, 2008 ok.. actually, i have this problem all the while but just too lazy to send in and get it check..i realise the problem for the first time when i went back to kl ..... when i travel at high speed, let's say above 150km/h, very high chance my horn sound by itself... i have to press the horn to stop it... it seems to be due to vibration which causes short circuit somewhere to activate my car horn..... i cannot replicate and wont know when it will come but if i continue to travel at 150 and above, once a while, the horn sounds.. can be a few times if i maintained at high speed but sometimes, it doesnt have problem... not sure is it due to my wiring or the steering problem.... i change to magnum2 horn the very first day of car collection... quite sure it is due to lousy wiring work.... anyone has experience and think otherwise? If you have to press your horn to stop it, it sounds like a sticky contact somewhere under steering wheel. Under vibration at high speed, it touch the contact and sound the horn. You can look at steering wheel horn contact first, possibly clean and lubricate. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...