Nhrisuzu 1st Gear September 7, 2008 Share September 7, 2008 just wondering, the cameras are placed on the straights uhs? cause it's like sometimes people take the down sloping corners quite quickly, won't they be subjected to the speed limits? drove past the place many times.. still can't see the camera.. i think finding cameras on the ERP is easier than finding in the tunnel.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear September 7, 2008 Share September 7, 2008 My friend counted 11 cameras. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_young_once Neutral Newbie September 7, 2008 Share September 7, 2008 bro watcheels, why all your comment so caustic? wind30 just bring out something to discuss, nothing wrong with that, but any your comment also feels like press others down and shut them up like that; how you like it if everyday someone talk to you say things like "use your brain and think.." not very nice man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear September 7, 2008 Share September 7, 2008 No no.... there is no speed limit in KPE, you can go as fast as you want, if you think KPE is as long as CTE's tunnel only. fyi, KPE's tunnel is 9km long. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged September 7, 2008 Share September 7, 2008 I did not read those reports as my office only shifted to ubi recently so I never had to use the KPE until now.... 70km/hr.... the expressway looks really nice. does driving at 70km/hr vs 90km/hr really help to reduce accidents? I thought 90km/hr is pretty ok.... and with all the cameras they aren't afraid of people going above 90 right? yes 70km/h does helps to reduce accidents cause u feel like moving very slowly as in road hogging Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear September 7, 2008 Share September 7, 2008 Is that true??? I read from newspapers that the speed limit is 70km/hr and there is many speed cameras to catch u if u go above. isn't 70km/hr a bit slow for an expressway????? after they spend MILLIONS of dollars digging so long.... set 70km/hr? LTA NO BRAIN !!! [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear September 7, 2008 Share September 7, 2008 i've driven past at least 10 times, yet to find the camera. ok la. i saw some camera which look like surveillance types, not those 'cop on the top' type speed cam. i think they are more for monitoring traffic conditions? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear September 7, 2008 Share September 7, 2008 Ytday just travelled on the KPE. 70km/hr is god damn soooooooooo slowwwwwwww!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear September 7, 2008 Share September 7, 2008 The typical sg driver.... U kpkb 70km/h is slow yet u are so kiasi. Let's calculate the end-to-end timing based on 12km of KPE distance: At 70 kmh = 10.28mins At 90 kmh = 8 mins (less 2.28mins) At 110 kmh = 6.55 mins This is another typical sg driver, always rushing for f**k.. Either life's too stressed or too bored.. Relak bro/sis... 70kmh, then 70Kmh loh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trusty 1st Gear September 7, 2008 Share September 7, 2008 i had seen drivers going more like over 90kmh... just makes me wonder if the system is really working or the drivers dont really care Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear September 7, 2008 Share September 7, 2008 When it first open, I saw many drivers bochap the 70kmh warning in front of me. Then, I saw flash lights Luckily, I was an obedient soldier then If rmbr correctly, the newspaper reported that within a month of KPE opened, about 700+ offenders were caught by LTA. But they decided not to take action and use the media as a final warning to drivers... Whether it works today or not, I dunno.. but it's certainly the only stretch of road in sg that drivers are most well-behaved Not very often I can be on-par with WRX, Integra, Legacy, Evo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear September 7, 2008 Share September 7, 2008 cause it's a extremly long tunnel, if there's a major accident it will cause alot of dangers to other. the explanation for the speed limit already been announced in the news long time ago i thought "someone" explained in the papers that the multiple ERP gantries were built to 'improve' safety & 'avoid' accidents? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear September 7, 2008 Share September 7, 2008 driving at 70km/h is not fuel efficient, very hard to maintain at that speed unless i drop to 4th gear 5th gear @ 2000rpm will be 90km/h already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear September 8, 2008 Share September 8, 2008 i've driven past at least 10 times, yet to find the camera. ok la. i saw some camera which look like surveillance types, not those 'cop on the top' type speed cam. i think they are more for monitoring traffic conditions? Camera Location ECP --> PIE 50m away from Exit Tuas/Changi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 Speed limit at sections of KPE to be increased to 80kmh By Yahoo! Singapore The Land Transport Authority (LTA) will increase the speed limit of certain sections of the Kallang-Paya Lebar Expressway (KPE) 80kmh (from the current 70kmh) by as early as next month. Currently, one part of KPE is set to 80kmh and that is the 8.5km stretch between the expressway to its interchange with the Tampines Expressway (TPE). The speed limit for expressways in Singapore are mostly set to 80kmh or 90kmh, according to One Motoring. A Straits Times report said that the change in speed limit will be taken place so that it can be in line with the limit for the new Marina Coastal Expressway (MCE). The LTA today announced that the MCE will open on 29 December and that it will be linked to KPE, East Coast Parkway (ECP) and the Ayer Rajah Expressway (AYE). The new 5km MCE, which will be Singapore’s tenth expressway, includes a 420-metre underwater tunnel that crosses the Marina Bay seabed. It was also reported by The Straits Times that new speed limit signs, currently covered in black plastic wrappers, have already been placed in the tunnels. However, the report added that certain stretches with sharper curvatures may retain the current speed limit. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 Speed limit at sections of KPE to be increased to 80kmh By Yahoo! Singapore The Land Transport Authority (LTA) will increase the speed limit of certain sections of the Kallang-Paya Lebar Expressway (KPE) 80kmh (from the current 70kmh) by as early as next month. Currently, one part of KPE is set to 80kmh and that is the 8.5km stretch between the expressway to its interchange with the Tampines Expressway (TPE). The speed limit for expressways in Singapore are mostly set to 80kmh or 90kmh, according to One Motoring. A Straits Times report said that the change in speed limit will be taken place so that it can be in line with the limit for the new Marina Coastal Expressway (MCE). The LTA today announced that the MCE will open on 29 December and that it will be linked to KPE, East Coast Parkway (ECP) and the Ayer Rajah Expressway (AYE). The new 5km MCE, which will be Singapore’s tenth expressway, includes a 420-metre underwater tunnel that crosses the Marina Bay seabed. It was also reported by The Straits Times that new speed limit signs, currently covered in black plastic wrappers, have already been placed in the tunnels. However, the report added that certain stretches with sharper curvatures may retain the current speed limit. Progress! 70kmph is really crawling. Hopefully, after the limit is raised, they don't forget to change the speed camera's settings too. Else sign put 80kmph, but everyone kena fined. Haha.. Also, I think the speed limit for above ground expressways should be raised from 90kmph. And first lane hoggers should be punished more severely. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 90kmh people already taking initiative to do 110. If raise to 100/110, people will self add 20 to 120-130. But TP seem more serious about the KPE. I got a warning letter for doing 85 (excess 15). Hence, I infer that the unwritten rule for KPE tunnel is + =<10kmh. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 Progress! 70kmph is really crawling. Hopefully, after the limit is raised, they don't forget to change the speed camera's settings too. Else sign put 80kmph, but everyone kena fined. Haha.. Also, I think the speed limit for above ground expressways should be raised from 90kmph. And first lane hoggers should be punished more severely. haha....dun you start on hoggers leh 90kmh people already taking initiative to do 110. If raise to 100/110, people will self add 20 to 120-130. But TP seem more serious about the KPE. I got a warning letter for doing 85 (excess 15). Hence, I infer that the unwritten rule for KPE tunnel is + =<10kmh. that why most maintain at 79 on lane 1 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...