Recession ? Mum and dad will provide

Wt_know

To me, the issue here is rather her nonchalant way of viewing money matters, not whether she can afford to spend or not.

Just look at her comments on her less well to do friend, "'I don't understand why she cannot just ask her parents for money,' sighed Miss Lin"

I hope not all 20 yrs old NTU undergrad think the way she do. If not, i dun see much light on Spore future in their hands.

DC

"'I don't understand why she cannot just ask her parents for money,' sighed Miss Lin"

EQUALS TO

isnt the current garvment system teaching them the same thing...??? no money arh.... more 'Every Road Pays' loh.

with the rate of my salary increment, guess my old man still have the power to get me to wash the toilet bowl.. [:|][:/][:/][:|][:|]

well, if this comfort you, be glad you still have a toilet bowl. some others got their solid gold bowl auction off and have to squat [sweatdrop][laugh]

hhhmmm, the person in this report sounds like someone dim we know in here.

But this one probably dimmer than Leepee.

rolleyes.gif

I am going to cut out this article and bring it to work so that I remember the face and name... If I do see her CV in a few years' time, I will definitely grant her an interview and knock her stupid head smash.gif

Mannn... how dumb can this person get?? First saying those things, 2nd for saying she will get a $4k bag with her 1st paycheck (assuming no support from the even more duh parents) and third... having her picture taken in the national paper so that everyone knows who she is... the ultimate dimwittedness I have ever seen.

From the way this photo was crop, I doubt it was a willing decision.. maybe taken from facebook and that to buy her own chanel bag was her dream and motivation.

as for the getting money from parents, maybe she was marvelling how lucky she was to have parents that support her spending....

To date, I still hold back my comments due to the one sided-ness of this report...

Discerning people will hold their spanner and not throw it yet [;)]

Common sense will dictate that no reasonably sane or educated person would totally and completely give the media carte blanche to cast himself or herself as the modern day Morgan Le Fay with such reckless and self-damaging comments.

However, the majority of people, and I really do mean the majority, rarely stop to question process or digest what they see or read, and take the time to give the issue some thought. They simply take what they read at face value and proceed to the accusatory and abusing stage, because hey, it ain't fun if everybody is all logical and take the time and effort to consider both sides of the story, right? [laugh]

Exactly why the local media and the PAP are able to so easily manipulate the hearts and minds of people.

sad that the majority partake in bringing down others without considering that they might be subjected to such flaming in future.. [:/]

but so be it... there's no barrier of entry to be internet hero

Gone to her facebook, seen like she is being SABOR by SPH, EDMW also clarify her innocence,

She is really tio pwned dip dip by 154th media... [:|]

There are super poor and super rich people in Singapore.

I suppose this girl just happen to be lucky to belong to the super rich group.

No matter how we bombard her attitude towards life, it will not hurt or change her.

She will continue to be rest assured that her house in her name at orchard area is safe and will housed her till old.

She will continue to be rest assured that the money in her bank(>$1mil, not forgetting future inheritance) will serve her well even if she slurge 100% on her monthly salary.

She will continue to be rest assured that her CLK, will serve her well for the next few years, untill she changed car.

Her only propblem will come when there is food shortage or no more new luxury goods or cosmetics that she fancy or no new place on earth for her to go holiday to!

Not that I want to cursed her.....this type of richie rich will only realise and learn when she kena incurable illness. She only fear she got not enough lifespan to enjoy her riches!

how come u state she stays in condo when the report mentioned she stays in 4 room flat in marine parade?

so sure >$1mil? dun need split with her bro meh? didnt noe plastic bag so good to earn leh..

If this news article isn't some fabricated nonsense, then her remarks are totally uncalled for and offensive.

Just because she's provided with everything, she automatically assumes everyone is like her. Her useless parents have spoilt her rotten.

"She thinks a friend of hers, who is left with $20 to last until the end of the month, is silly to consider taking up a part-time job to earn some extra cash.

'I don't understand why she cannot just ask her parents for money,' sighed Miss Lin."

How insensitive and ignorant can someone get??

She might be rich with cash, but she's seriously lacking in humility and manners.

There are many people out there barely making ends meet and starving themselves so their children don't have to, and this is the kind of remarks that comes out from the mouth of an esteemed undergraduate from our Uni.

Edited by Xtrider82

Even worse, most are blind to the fact that the media is obliged to sensationalise stories to sell the papers...

Its good to see that there are still some people around who are discerning enough not be led round the nose...

Sadly, not many do. Take a look at our book shops and libraries with screaming kids. [shakehead]

Whether the report is exagerrated or not, I hope I will already be dead by the time they govern.

Do not trust newspaper reporting too much on the small small details lah.

I guess she does not want to reveal too much details to the reporter lah.

Just imagine it yourself, would any businessman(especially hawkers) tell the report he drives two farali and stay in landed house and two other condo in orchard rented out?

Many businessman will never reveal their business details unless its a listed company, then cannot lie!

Like what I have said....Silence is Golden.

Edited by Leepee

No doubt the report was twisted, exaggerated or sensationalized. But I can't help but to wonder why she was "picked" in the first place.

Perhaps within her social circles, she is well-known for splurging on expensive products such as branded handbags, shoes, etc. which in turn attracted one to many 'green-eyed monsters'? Or could have her mannerisms combined with a pinch on insensitivity to the "poorer" folks around crowned her with label of boastfulness? Whatever the reasons for being "arrowed" remains a speculation with the truth known only to the reporter.

One thing for sure is her mistake and short-sightedness in accepting the interview. When reporters request for an interview with you, they would most likely make you feel as if you were the most "worthy" or important individual for their article; whilst behind your back, they might just be laying you out as a subject for public scrutiny. Overly egocentric individuals are usually easy prey.

A lesson for all: Do not accept adhoc interviews if you are not within the protection of a formal organization or have a strong hand in charting the course for the editing and publication of the article.

Yep saw that from the link to the blog earlier. It's not going to be easy to sue SPH as the story is not entirely fabricated albeit written from the reporter's perspective. Additionally, there are no defamatory or aggravating remarks made towards her. You can also see from her blog that she does indeed purchase branded stuff, so the story isn't all fictitious. At most SPH might post a tiny apology for misrepresentation... which I doubt would even be the case.