Recession ? Mum and dad will provide

Wt_know

hhhmmm, the person in this report sounds like someone dim we know in here.

But this one probably dimmer than Leepee.

rolleyes.gif

I am going to cut out this article and bring it to work so that I remember the face and name... If I do see her CV in a few years' time, I will definitely grant her an interview and knock her stupid head smash.gif

Mannn... how dumb can this person get?? First saying those things, 2nd for saying she will get a $4k bag with her 1st paycheck (assuming no support from the even more duh parents) and third... having her picture taken in the national paper so that everyone knows who she is... the ultimate dimwittedness I have ever seen.

From the way this photo was crop, I doubt it was a willing decision.. maybe taken from facebook and that to buy her own chanel bag was her dream and motivation.

as for the getting money from parents, maybe she was marvelling how lucky she was to have parents that support her spending....

To date, I still hold back my comments due to the one sided-ness of this report...

Discerning people will hold their spanner and not throw it yet [;)]

we cant blame her...its her parents fault i must say..

I still remember when i was 14 yrs old... my father make me to earn my own pocket money... i was abused child worker, under paid, over worked in my father's friends shop and my father's plantation back in Malaysia... my friends easily earned $2/hr in a petrol kiosk and i only earn $1.00 in a plantation like a bangla worker [:|][:|][:|], the blo*dy fertiliser and pesticide causing my skin itchy + pain like h*ll and i the money i earn for the whole weekend is just enough for me to buy a packet of ciggie (i start smorking at 13yrs old [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] ) to last for a week and $2/ day of pocket money... at that time, i was telling myself, im going to make that old man clean the toilet to earn his meals when he gets old [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

But when i grow up, i start to undestand his intention... i really appreciate that, i told myself that that shall be the way im gg to teach my kids.. [whip][whip][whip][whip]

so is your old man washing his own pee hole or the maid is doing that on his behalf? [sly]

sadly, with the affluent of today, the method of teaching of yesteryear is never going to be effective today. and today's teaching will not work 5-10 years down the road..

To curb the spending of youngsters, we need to let them learn the way to do budgeting and saving. and how to effectively spend their money and grow their saving.

and never let them go without money coz there's plenty of "ways" for them to earn.. thus don't push them over the edge.. the forest is full of wild animals...

that's not too bad an idea.

Hhhmmmm funny how when we're talking about this topic, Leepee is nowhere to be seen?

how come?

Leepee, come out leh, for once i like to hear your comments regarding someone who is clearly not too different from you.

i know reporter like to publish controversial story but what about miss lin, the student. what's in her mind when she do this interview ? can't believe she study in ntu, she must be a 'genius'.

Mum and dad will provide...

ST_IMAGES_NURECESSION1m.jpg

Miss Lin says she has never once run out of spending money. -- ST PHOTO: CHEW SENG KIM

For 20-year-old undergraduate Agnes Lin, the recession could just be academic.

The Nanyang Technological University first-year student has never been in need: She carries a $2,000 Louis Vuitton handbag to school and uses only Shiseido cosmetic and skincare products.

She carries around the latest mobile phone and goes on overseas vacations with her friends where she would bust $1,000 on shopping alone.

Twice monthly, she shops at her favourite stores - Topshop, Zara and Forever21.

Mum, a private tutor, and Dad, a businessman selling polythene bags, pay for her expenses.

Miss Lin is aware that Singapore faces a recession but the news does not bother her.

She said: 'I think it is okay for me to maintain my current lifestyle. I may be spending a little bit more than my friends but I don't think I'm overspending.'

At the moment, she has her eyes on the latest mobile phone in the market, the HTC Touch Pro, which costs about $700.

Although her mother has said 'no' to her buying yet another mobile phone, Ms Lin has an inkling she will still get it.

'I think my mum will still buy it for me. My birthday is coming up!' she said with a giggle. She confessed that since young, she has never run out of cash. Her parents give her money whenever she asks.

Since she was 16, her monthly pocket money has been $500.

She has an older brother, also an undergraduate. The family live in a four-room flat in Marine Parade.

She thinks a friend of hers, who is left with $20 to last until the end of the month, is silly to consider taking up a part-time job to earn some extra cash.

'I don't understand why she cannot just ask her parents for money,' sighed Miss Lin.

She will enter the working world only after three years but she is already planning ahead.

With her first pay packet, she will buy a $4,000 Chanel bag. 'After that, I will probably get more bags and watches,' she added.

Youngsters nowadays dunno what is hardship . . . . . [gossip]

There's another article at the side, describing how a retired teacher is now sitting comfortably with his $400k lump sum pension. Sigh!! Those days are gone now... when ordinary civil servants could afford to purchase landed property and look forward to pension.

All we have now are CPF sums that are pretty much locked up. CPF is the reason why so many people are unable to retire peacefully these days... More good years! [furious]

Hhhmm, let me calculate briefly.....

$400,000 for retirement ?? ? ? better than some people but still definitely not enough.

HE must really watch his expenses like a hawk and better not owe a car or have any housing loans.

Yup, this guy in the article still working part-time teaching and MLM, claims to earn around 4k a month and enough to maintain his MPV and house. Not bad lah. I think if educated and got skills, won't starve here in singapore.

Ya, he is a mother tongue teacher. Being an adjunct teacher, is he supposed to be doing MLM and wedding decor? Could the MOE clarify?

NTU accept many CMI students from A levels and Poly...

Anyway with her looks, she can be a $20 "kuay bu" at Jalan Besar, if all else fails.. heheheh she services 10 men a day, can buy a fake LV bag liao hahahahhaa

living in fantasy world! she better pray v hard that her parents continued to be earning income , time for her to wake up! Guys wld want to go near her with a 10ft pole....head will break or rob the bank to support such brats............ [rifle]

aiyah, she claim in her blog she was misquoted, machiam the reporter need to turn in sensational news..

who to believe? better take SPH nonsense with a pinch of salt.

anyway both side also got truth and half-truth.

next time don't give interview to SPH or sure knife in the back one.

haha you're right, the reporter doesn't need to turn in sensational news la. what sensational news can there be in our little island? what the reporter needs is just one controversial news to set the town talking.

anyway, the fact that the article actually appeared in Straits Times says a lot about how desperate they are for news. Afterall, such news are better left to TNP... Talk about a drop in standard. I am surprised the chief editor actually signed off this story.

hhhmmm, the person in this report sounds like someone dim we know in here.

But this one probably dimmer than Leepee.

rolleyes.gif

I am going to cut out this article and bring it to work so that I remember the face and name... If I do see her CV in a few years' time, I will definitely grant her an interview and knock her stupid head smash.gif

Mannn... how dumb can this person get?? First saying those things, 2nd for saying she will get a $4k bag with her 1st paycheck (assuming no support from the even more duh parents) and third... having her picture taken in the national paper so that everyone knows who she is... the ultimate dimwittedness I have ever seen.

From the way this photo was crop, I doubt it was a willing decision.. maybe taken from facebook and that to buy her own chanel bag was her dream and motivation.

as for the getting money from parents, maybe she was marvelling how lucky she was to have parents that support her spending....

To date, I still hold back my comments due to the one sided-ness of this report...

Discerning people will hold their spanner and not throw it yet [;)]

Common sense will dictate that no reasonably sane or educated person would totally and completely give the media carte blanche to cast himself or herself as the modern day Morgan Le Fay with such reckless and self-damaging comments.

However, the majority of people, and I really do mean the majority, rarely stop to question process or digest what they see or read, and take the time to give the issue some thought. They simply take what they read at face value and proceed to the accusatory and abusing stage, because hey, it ain't fun if everybody is all logical and take the time and effort to consider both sides of the story, right? [laugh]

Exactly why the local media and the PAP are able to so easily manipulate the hearts and minds of people.

i think most normal guys..see gals like her will run sweatdrop.gifshakehead.gif....

her one bag alone...is wad most of us earn in 2 monthssweatdrop.gifunimpressed.gif

That's why more guys are marrying foreign bride. [sweatdrop]

Simi Taichi Throttle?

Chinese saying said " Ye Maio, Ye Hei" or English saying said "Silence is Golden"

I decided to sit this one out, to avoid misunderstanding, my mouth is zip on this topic.....main reason is I know this lady friend.

that's not too bad an idea.

Hhhmmmm funny how when we're talking about this topic, Leepee is nowhere to be seen?

how come?

Leepee, come out leh, for once i like to hear your comments regarding someone who is clearly not too different from you.

[lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][scholar][scholar][scholar][scholar][scholar][scholar][scholar][scholar][scholar][scholar][scholar][scholar][scholar][scholar][scholar][scholar]