Benchmark for executives

Sci10213

yah man...and we have to slog to carry other ppl bodies...

life is unfair [furious][furious]

at least u carry other ppl bodies. my company is doing really bad and i may end up on the chopping board soon. probably the next body u carry with be me...

It is normal for people to seek approval from peers. It is common to have your old time friend quickly flashing out his namecard to you when he holds a fanciful title in some big corporation. But I totally agree with what many here who says money is king. I will want to add, time and freedom is king too.

What is the point of being say a VP and make 4k plus a mth? Or even if you make 10k a mth but you work 15hrs a day, even on sat?

I am 30 years old. I do not have a job. I make my money from other means (not ah long or orh gui gong ok). I work 2 hrs a day, i make more that most of my friends. I dont have a title. And I am happy. In fact, i dun even noe what to say when my friends ask me what am i doing for a living..

Whatever title bestowed upon you is just superficial, it is what you get from what you do that truly matters.

p.s: Just like throttle being the happiest table cleaner in singapore. He has no fanciful title, but he wears Daytona, buy car with cash, and drive a 5 series.. he is my hero..

2 hrs a day and drive 159, you are my new idol. care to teach me? [thumbsup]

wat he tell you? managers in his company get close to 180k and above and GMs get close to 300K or more and that this renumeration level is benchmarked to 55-65 percentile in the industry? It does sound electronics sector dun usually pay tat well from wat I heard but I might be wrong but at same time I'm not sure if you can use your friend's case purely as the yardstick to say it is the norm..on the otherhand, in my previous company, the FM told me the management also did a research on the industry and budgetted salaries according to the "usual market standard" tat is around 50-55 percentile and well, the managers in tat company certainly wasn't paid anyway near that level.

I have some examples here...from my own experience, my siblings/relatives experience as well as some friend's:

1)A company belonging to a conglomerate of around 20,000 employees where I worked for in the past with the GM pay being around 200-230K depending on how good the bonus was tat yr

2)The managers in a large US company which my sis in law worked for earns around 100-130K and they are in the aviation industry.

3)The managers pay in a US company which my bro worked in was receiving around 100-120K

4)My friend who is manager level working in one of the largest pharmaceutical company in the world is earning below 100K

5)In my last company where I worked in (stated in paragraph 1) with over 1000 employees, the managers received 70-100K and GM level around 150-250K

6)I was on the verge of being offered a manager job in an MNC of 15,000 employees sometime ago with renumeration at just around 85-90k

I think I have only encounter one example so far that earns around 180-200k for a normal manager in petrochemical industry(he is a relative of mine) compared to quite a few cases indicated abv that dun earn so much...this would cause me to have reasons believeing 180K and abv for a manager in SG is more of the exceptional cases rather than the norm.. :blink:

agreed. 180 - 200k is a bit extreme in petrolchemical industry. I am in this line and pay is not really good. My ex boss once made about 100k pa when i started my career in oil and gas line some 6 yrs ago. Though he's now making around 180 - 200k pa but his offers to many of my ex colleagues are in the range of 100 - 130k basic and many of them have > 10 years of experience.

at least u carry other ppl bodies. my company is doing really bad and i may end up on the chopping board soon. probably the next body u carry with be me...

we will give you special package..

use paper bag instead of plastic bag? can i be carried in RadX's coming cayman? :D

oni if the parts in 200 pcs...and oput in goth front and back boots

I worked for a conglomerate with 20000 employees before and the GM is like drawing just slightly over 200K...I din say its impossible a GM can't earn 300K but its the exception rather than the norm..and a CEO of one of the largest local company I worked for is just receiving abt 500K per annum and dun tell me tat company is small as they have over 1000 employees and the CEO is listed among the 40 richest person in SG..

Your GM is probably a "local GM" without regional responsibilities. As I mentioned, your portfolio will define what you get, there is no money for Singapore-only role. Period. Anyway, your definition of a GM, manager, etc may be different from mine but I am certainly not pulling numbers from thin air.

Go and look at what some of our listed GLCs and TLCs are paying and it is a good benchmark for what global MNCs are paying for top managers with regional portfolios. It is after all a competitive world and our government believes in paying market rates for talents (hope I am not opening a new front here)!

My advice to the TS is to access your current portfolio, look for regional opportunities. If scope is limited and you are at the same time not working for a good name company and not compensated sufficiently as well, it is time to move on. But maybe not now....

use paper bag instead of plastic bag? can i be carried in RadX's coming cayman? :D

well, we can use the cayman but then, whether that bugger is cumming, you got to try harder on the forepay [sly]

wah steady Wind30.

Financial services is highest paid.

For Basic and for Bonus [inlove]

Cleaning services one of the lowest, damn it.

but at least i'm getting almost double of the gross median salary of $1,400. [knife]

well, we can use the cayman but then, whether that bugger is cumming, you got to try harder on the forepay [sly]

that bugger said cum sure cum one la, it's just a matter of how long the forepay only, he's not leepee leh :D

but you think he jamie yeo meh.. sit cross legged can cum already

you mean jamie yeo can do that?

by the way, she is not aging too nicely, 5 yrs ago still look ok, now beginning to look like auntie.

but her worst baggage is Glen Ong.

sorry OT.