Rickster 5th Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 Park at an underground carpark and take a lift up to the door of my apartment. paintwork still look like new because i parked under sheltered carpark 95% of the time. Thats one thing i like about condos. U can very coveniently a stone's throw away and yet its sheltered. One thing i hate about HDB MSCP is that u hav to walk a long way to reach your car. Even worse r that older MSCP don't have any lifts! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackreplica Neutral Newbie February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 (edited) I dont stay in a HDB but i would NEVER park in an open lot long term. Similarly i would NEVER buy a car i knew was parked in an open lot. The amount of damage all that heat does to the paintwork and interior is just crazy. Think of the UV damage to the paint and interior, the countless warm up(day) then cool down(night) cycles which force the interior and external paintwork to expand and contract. Only a little while later, everything will crack, fade, harden and turn brittle. When i look a car which has been parked indoors for 3 years vs a car which has been parked in the open for 3 years, IMO, there is a huge difference. Give you an example: My mom drives a white 1995 merc E200 which she has owned since new. The paintwork and interior is 100% original. Her mileage is 140,000km. She has never waxed or polished her car, only wash once a week. Interior is only vacuumed from time to time. Till this day her paintwork is 90% of what it was when it was new (just not as glossy as before, but not fading or white paint turning beige at all. it still white as white can be). Her interior is likewise perfect, just a bit of mild cracking on the seat bottom which you wouldnt notice unless you had your eyes 30cm away from the seat. Dashboard, door trim, steering wheel etc etc are all perfect. And she doesnt use solar film either, so there is zero protection of the interior from the suns rays. Everyone who sits in her car simply cannot believe it is 13 years old. There arent even any dents or paint chips on the door from people who swing their doors open into her car, probably because her car is built like a tank and even a lorry door couldnt dent it LOL All she did was park her car indoors, under shelter when she is home during the entire time she owned the car. She only parks outdoors when she is out from time to time (she doesnt care whether she parks outdoors or not when she is out).I think it is one of the most pristine examples of her car model still on the roads today. And she does almost nothing to maintain it! No way a car parked outdoors would be able to achieve this. It would look 10 times worse in 2 years or less Edited February 26, 2009 by Blackreplica Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 lesser mortal friends? maybe u should quit seeing them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 If given a choice, would you prefer to park your car at MSCP which is within walking distance (3~4mins) or you prefer to park at an outdoor parking lot just infront of your block where you can see your car? Let me know your preference and why? Thank you very much. Regards, It depends. Cars in open air CP are subjected to the weather, dust, and bird poo. But you get to see your car and you don't have to climb up and down the MSCP. In Singapore, there are not many brightly lit MSCP, should the cars may be subjected to theft and vandalism. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 Thats one thing i like about condos. U can very coveniently a stone's throw away and yet its sheltered. One thing i hate about HDB MSCP is that u hav to walk a long way to reach your car. Even worse r that older MSCP don't have any lifts! errrr... fyi, nowdays, not only condo has basement carpark..... i stay hdb and yes,with basement carpark design.... if i reach home early and lucky enough to park at nearest to lift lot, it's like 10-15 walking steps btw car to lift, then another ~10 steps from lift to my main door.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 If given a choice, would you prefer to park your car at MSCP which is within walking distance (3~4mins) or you prefer to park at an outdoor parking lot just infront of your block where you can see your car? Let me know your preference and why? Thank you very much. Regards, I prefer MSCP. Easier to get in and out when it's raining. Also away from the hot sun, leaves, birds dropping. Anyway, my area all MSCPs, no open air parking at all.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 You sound very elite sia.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 errrr... fyi, nowdays, not only condo has basement carpark..... i stay hdb and yes,with basement carpark design.... if i reach home early and lucky enough to park at nearest to lift lot, it's like 10-15 walking steps btw car to lift, then another ~10 steps from lift to my main door.... Oh I see, so u stay at those DBSS/BTOs units. Ya i've seen those BTOs near my home with their carpark right below the buildings. Look very Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 You sound very elite sia.. Peasent pretending to be princess. None of my princess and prince friends drive a jap car (no, not even lexus), much less a Swift Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 (edited) Thats a very good kampung spirit seldom seen nowadays! I think it started because we all don't really rush around (and this "pig karp" that almost never wants to start). If I see any of them in the carpark, I still have time to chat for a little bit before I take my slow arse time to wherever I'm going. Nice bunch of people too Edited February 26, 2009 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 Peasent pretending to be princess. None of my princess and prince friends drive a jap car (no, not even lexus), much less a Swift She is like that one lar, its ok. Used to it liao. She thinks living in landed and having 3 cars is big deal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 She is like that one lar, its ok. Used to it liao. She thinks living in landed and having 3 cars is big deal. Then I must be a prince, Landed + HDB + 3 cars too Maybe I should look down on her as my family has two properties and hers only has one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 If given a choice, would you prefer to park your car at MSCP which is within walking distance (3~4mins) or you prefer to park at an outdoor parking lot just infront of your block where you can see your car? Let me know your preference and why? Thank you very much. Regards, If I have a choice, I will park at outdoor parking, then set up tentage to shelter my car from the sun.. but so far, I have my own shelter lot either at home or at work, thus no chance to use my tentage, except to visit my less mortal friend at her house where there's only room for 3 cars in her garage.. small.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 Then I must be a prince, Landed + HDB + 3 cars too Maybe I should look down on her as my family has two properties and hers only has one nah nah.. pls share your toys.. people will reach there somehow, just given them a few more decades.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 She is like that one lar, its ok. Used to it liao. She thinks living in landed and having 3 cars is big deal. It's a big deal. most of the time, we, the elite only drive conti, then she break the tradition and get a susuki... what more can we say.. so i presume she's the lesser elite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 Oh I see, so u stay at those DBSS/BTOs units. Ya i've seen those BTOs near my home with their carpark right below the buildings. Look very punggol bto flats... ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 It's a big deal. most of the time, we, the elite only drive conti, then she break the tradition and get a susuki... what more can we say.. so i presume she's the lesser elite perhaps the susuki is for the maid leh....... remember the maid who drive a sport jaguar to buy sayur??.... her is a lesser elite, thus just a susuki lor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear February 26, 2009 Share February 26, 2009 perhaps the susuki is for the maid leh....... remember the maid who drive a sport jaguar to buy sayur??.... her is a lesser elite, thus just a susuki lor.... oh.. and the employer sponsor the maid to study to upgrade or maybe drive the kids to NUS? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...