Do you pull your handbrake with a 'grrr' sound?

Adwin

I noticed almost all of my friends and colleagues pull the handbrake with a 'grrrr' sound.

Years ago, my driving instructor had said that this was not the way as it wears out certain mechanisms faster... true?

What are your habits?

I personally dont.

The purpose of the sound is to let u know how much brake u left.

the maximum u should hear is 7 click

if more then that, then ur real drum is running out of brake pad already.

Correct me if i m wrong.

for me, depends lo. if i park at a lot which is a bit sloppy den i pull it with grr sound in case it rows back or front. [rolleyes]

I noticed almost all of my friends and colleagues pull the handbrake with a 'grrrr' sound.

Years ago, my driving instructor had said that this was not the way as it wears out certain mechanisms faster... true?

What are your habits?

Sure u did'nt pull the dog's tail? Where got "grrr" sound?

I don't pull my handbrake with the grr sound for the previous car.

the current car is foot brake, sure got grrr sound. no way to stop that

so i don't think it will cause premature failures

I dun think the ratchet gear will wear that easily. My instructor also told me the same thing way back dan. But I still uses his way today cos of habit.

I think ppl call it the "rat tat tat" sound. "grrrr" is the sound my wife make when she's ready to come to bed.

An example of a ratchet gear...

post-18163-1242108433.jpg

Clutched

I also remembered i was taught this way. Been practicing that for so many years so it becomes a habit as well.

I noticed many drivers pull with the tock tock tock sound when they just parked their vehicle. I can even hear it from outside.

Talking about instructor's teachings, up till today i still remember being told that when approaching strips, the recommended speed is 60km/h. Any more than that is not advisable cause it may damage your suspensions. These words always ring in my head whenever i go over those strips! [idea]

What are your habits?

I always push the button to release or engage handbrake silently.

i press the button before pulling handbrake too..its a habit..

that noise produced if one don't press the button is really annoying.

i press the button before pulling handbrake too..its a habit..

that noise produced if one don't press the button is really annoying.

I press the button and pull then let go when I feel the resistance , then slowly pull handbrake again to listen to the clock-clock-clock ....shiok . :D

I also remembered i was taught this way. Been practicing that for so many years so it becomes a habit as well.

I noticed many drivers pull with the tock tock tock sound when they just parked their vehicle. I can even hear it from outside.

Talking about instructor's teachings, up till today i still remember being told that when approaching strips, the recommended speed is 60km/h. Any more than that is not advisable cause it may damage your suspensions. These words always ring in my head whenever i go over those strips! [idea]

This goes to show that a good instructors teachings goes a long way. Same as mine as to use engine brake to slow down. A habit liao......

Clutched

This goes to show that a good instructors teachings goes a long way. Same as mine as to use engine brake to slow down. A habit liao......

Agree.. his words definitely left a deep impression in me.

Me too have been using engine break. Indeed makes slowing down easier to control.