Kelpie 2nd Gear August 24, 2009 Share August 24, 2009 Hi all, If we have given up hope on some charitable organization and reluctant to donate to them directly, what do you do to as an alternative? Thinking aloud of becoming a regular blood donor instead. Give life and yet don't have to give to those notorious bodies. Any regular blood donor here? wonder how often can we donate? is it like once or twice a month? Is it a time consuming process? What else do you guys do if no longer donating money, be it fund raising activities or as part-time social worker? Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear August 24, 2009 Share August 24, 2009 i donate blood precisely because i don't wanna donate money. anyway, blood is sth money can't really buy. not in SG at least (that i've heard) should i find out that the blood bank makes a profit (they don't), i sure as hell will stop. anyway, only applies if ur lifestyle is compatible . for pple who have too much fun and already donated much sperms to many pple [sly] .. better do community service instead of donating blood. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged August 24, 2009 Share August 24, 2009 Hi all, If we have given up hope on some charitable organization and reluctant to donate to them directly, what do you do to as an alternative? Thinking aloud of becoming a regular blood donor instead. Give life and yet don't have to give to those notorious bodies. Any regular blood donor here? wonder how often can we donate? is it like once or twice a month? Is it a time consuming process? What else do you guys do if no longer donating money, be it fund raising activities or as part-time social worker? Regards, A normal healthy person can donate blood once every 3 months, recommended not more than 4 times per year. it's just a 10 min process, very fast and no pain, unless you got those inexperience nurse who poke and poke. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear August 24, 2009 Author Share August 24, 2009 i donate blood precisely because i don't wanna donate money. anyway, blood is sth money can't really buy. not in SG at least (that i've heard) should i find out that the blood bank makes a profit (they don't), i sure as hell will stop. anyway, only applies if ur lifestyle is compatible . for pple who have too much fun and already donated much sperms to many pple [sly] .. better do community service instead of donating blood. Where do you donate your blood? Do you go straight to the blood bank? Pardon me, what has donating sperm has to do with donating blood har ? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear August 24, 2009 Share August 24, 2009 yup.. if u frequent certain blood donation centre.. (for me, Outram HSA).. the nurse there are well-trained.. i always request them to poke the same hole.. my friend's arm got lots of holes liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear August 24, 2009 Author Share August 24, 2009 A normal healthy person can donate blood once every 3 months, recommended not more than 4 times per year. it's just a 10 min process, very fast and no pain, unless you got those inexperience nurse who poke and poke. Only can do every 3 months? I thought can do like at least once a month. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged August 24, 2009 Share August 24, 2009 for me no fixed lah, sometimes follow friends to donate, sometimes at those exercise and hospital. But had a not so good experience at N*H where I got poke and poke. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged August 24, 2009 Share August 24, 2009 The doctor and nurse will tell you it's better to follow the recomended practise. Your body need time to reproduce those blood. For blood, once every 3 months For sperms, if you are strong, once a week also can. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alienbat 1st Gear August 24, 2009 Share August 24, 2009 u can donate once in 3 mths, not more than 4 times a yr.....to be honest, u can go to HSA to donate blood, parking is free at the HSA car park, juz take the redemption ticket frm the counter shd u go n donate blood......the nurses there are quite experienced.....i always go to HSA to donate blood....only takes 10-15min to donate......singapore always require regular blood donor, i m for one, donate 6 times liao, goin for the next donation in early sep.... good to see a potential blood donor coming up, thanks for your donation...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maded Neutral Newbie August 24, 2009 Share August 24, 2009 You can opt of Apherisis, which takes only the platelets and the plasma. The nurses tell me they need this stuff more than whole blood, because they use it for burn victims, and other cases where blood matching is a problem. Something like that... You can donate every 6 weeks (if I remember correctly), but the downside is that it takes a heck of a lot more time. Like 1.5hrs. And you need good veins for the nurses to poke. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear August 24, 2009 Share August 24, 2009 when donate blood, i think have to answer a questionaire, like did you engage in paid sex, or anal sex. so be prepared to tell the truth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged August 25, 2009 Share August 25, 2009 yr answers how do you determine whether blood are not exchange for $$ many yrs back, one of my immediate family members was involved in a hit & run. was admitted to icu for a period of time. he kept losing blood & to stablise his condition to prepare for surgeries, we were informed that for every packet of blood it would cost a few hundred bucks, we agreed to it. subsequently, compounded to the issue was blood bank supplies running low. thus, his company ended up organising a blood drive. anyway, kudos to those regular blood donors because not everyone can be one. i aspire but i cannot...wait ended up receiving 2 packets after donating 1 packet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear August 25, 2009 Share August 25, 2009 good for you bro!been a regular blood donor.the blood donation is quick.done in abt 10-15mins.I always go to HSA @ outram coz the nurses there are well trained and they are very kind&helpful.You will get complimentary parking and complimentary snack+drink for your donation. As for option of Apherisis,i understand it takes longer coz i saw the donors have individual small LCD tvs attached to their seats for them to watch tv. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 25, 2009 Share August 25, 2009 I'm a regular blood donor too. Now I think should be 30times? Aphresis donation that can do once a month or every 4 weeks like what bro Maded said. For whole blood, 3months interval. Plasma Aphresis is about 1hr, actual process maybe 45mins. Platlets Aphresis is almost 2hrs. Actual process around 1:30 to 1:45hrs. Last time regular blood donors have medical benefits. Nowadays blood donors only look forward to the milo/kopi/barley with currypuff/nasilemak/pastry after each session. For aphresis, there's a small LCD screen and you can watch TV channels or in house movies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redlavita Neutral Newbie August 25, 2009 Share August 25, 2009 Here's some pictures of one of my donation @HSA It's apheresis process extracting platelets and plasma Video A gift to take home Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear August 26, 2009 Author Share August 26, 2009 Those pictures are really eyes opener. Thank you for the information. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear August 26, 2009 Share August 26, 2009 Hi all, If we have given up hope on some charitable organization and reluctant to donate to them directly, what do you do to as an alternative? Thinking aloud of becoming a regular blood donor instead. Give life and yet don't have to give to those notorious bodies. Any regular blood donor here? wonder how often can we donate? is it like once or twice a month? Is it a time consuming process? What else do you guys do if no longer donating money, be it fund raising activities or as part-time social worker? Regards, You donate blood to hospital but hospital will charge patients for the blood.... Or use it to keep veggie Gecko alive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched August 26, 2009 Share August 26, 2009 Hi all, If we have given up hope on some charitable organization and reluctant to donate to them directly, what do you do to as an alternative? Thinking aloud of becoming a regular blood donor instead. Give life and yet don't have to give to those notorious bodies. Any regular blood donor here? wonder how often can we donate? is it like once or twice a month? Is it a time consuming process? What else do you guys do if no longer donating money, be it fund raising activities or as part-time social worker? Regards, can donate every 3 months. if donate first time got one short interview.. than got to fill up a form asking about your sex life sex partners all that lol. and they will give you iron tablets to bring home after you donate. they will also give you a small card which reminds you which date you donated and which date you can donate again. not time consuming at all. i think max only 20mins. and i really like to squeeze the ball. i went to the outram hsa. the nurses there are kinda nice. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...