The_Bear Turbocharged January 24, 2014 Share January 24, 2014 Go for it. It doesn't mean you HAVE to buy a bike after you 2B'ed, but it's always nice to have the option. Plus you'll have picked up a new skill which is always good. It could even come in handy on vacation somewhere. You might even want to upgrade gradually until you're 2'd just in case one day you see something you REALLY want (like a Harley Davidson penis extension or something I dunno). The only hassle is going through the whole process, but if you approach it with an open mind and without impatience you'll be fine. ps. Chicks dig guys on motorbikes. Female bears might too. But I dun wan my license to be probationary again... ps About chicks digging guys, shouldn't it be the other way around? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic January 24, 2014 Share January 24, 2014 But I dun wan my license to be probationary again... ps About chicks digging guys, shouldn't it be the other way around? cant be helped lah. They want to keep a watchful eye on bikers as riding bike is wrong to begin with. Ride bike & do wrong x 10 the wrong. Just like 2b, probation 1 year, 2a repeat, 2 repeat. When I took 3, repeat again. Our bike license system I understand was based on Japan's. But Japan has already ditched it many years ago for a more relevant 1st world system. Meanwhile in Sin, we remain archaic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic January 24, 2014 Share January 24, 2014 last I heard got bike shops offering 6 or 7 year loans ahh. then you see after awhile these people selling or passing-on their bikes and hoping to break even on their outstanding loans+interest. all COI COI COI, siao. But what to do, just like cars there are people who can't afford the cash but die die must ride big fancy bike with all kinda of gaudy accessories. This is because during 2009, the big 4 kup together and decided to increase prices by 40% for models designated 2010 & later. Hence, 20k R6, 24k R1 is now approx. 27k R6 & 34K R1. Even Super 4, from 14k for an 08 model jumped to near 20k during 2010. I guess that's why the typical 4 yr install limit was increased. Last I heard was 6 yrs. But bike interest rate damn siao. Benchmark is 5% if u don't want to be caught by fine print. Those 3-4%...terms & conditions apply.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged January 24, 2014 Share January 24, 2014 But I dun wan my license to be probationary again... ps About chicks digging guys, shouldn't it be the other way around? It's not like you'll need to display a P-plate on your car. Just means you'll need to behave yourself more when you drive is all. The year will pass quickly and then you're back to 24 points, until you decide to upgrade again. Oh yes don't forget when you're learning too, you have to keep yourself below 12 points or else can't take TP test. They will scan your license before the test. Chicks dig guys, guys dig chicks, guys dig guys, chicks dig chicks, bears dig bears. Whatever floats your boat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged January 24, 2014 Share January 24, 2014 during 05-06 onwards, new class 2 bike sales fell noticiebly. This group went for the 40-60k picante, getz, avante, fit.....etc. over 10 yr loan. Hence, they planning to catch this group went they come back to 20+ - 40+ k new class 2 bikes with 5 yr loan. They standby liao.... No matter which group, you can never run from Pay And Pay system! last I heard got bike shops offering 6 or 7 year loans ahh. then you see after awhile these people selling or passing-on their bikes and hoping to break even on their outstanding loans+interest. all COI COI COI, siao. But what to do, just like cars there are people who can't afford the cash but die die must ride big fancy bike with all kinda of gaudy accessories. Remember discuss with my friend before.. Singapore is the only place where you can let people COI your bike, and don't make losses.. end of the day, the bike is still yours... But I dun wan my license to be probationary again... ps About chicks digging guys, shouldn't it be the other way around? I don't see why would have a problem being under probation. Unless you always chiong red lights!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
-zion88- 4th Gear January 24, 2014 Share January 24, 2014 Remember discuss with my friend before.. Singapore is the only place where you can let people COI your bike, and don't make losses.. end of the day, the bike is still yours... I ever let ppl COI my bike when I was still riding. end up lots of problem, defaulting payments, getting into accident etc... And all whatsoever written agreement is crap imo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged January 24, 2014 Share January 24, 2014 Yeah COI is just a bad idea, too much liability particularly with insurance and tp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear January 24, 2014 Share January 24, 2014 Go for it. It doesn't mean you HAVE to buy a bike after you 2B'ed, but it's always nice to have the option. Plus you'll have picked up a new skill which is always good. It could even come in handy on vacation somewhere. You might even want to upgrade gradually until you're 2'd just in case one day you see something you REALLY want (like a Harley Davidson penis extension or something I dunno). The only hassle is going through the whole process, but if you approach it with an open mind and without impatience you'll be fine. ps. Chicks dig guys on motorbikes. Female bears might too. I once saw a middle age guy wearing a baju melayu riding slowly on a 125 cc type bike swaying within the right most lane of CTE....he swerve from the left side of the lane then to the right then back all the way ... he even went so close to the wall that his bike actually scrape against it for a second......knn...though he was drunk .... was driving behind him dont dare to go close to him also...after closely examining him for a distance i realize that his action is just like when we started taking our 2B, bike wobbling all over the place, wrong gear shift etc ..so i guess either he is riding without a license or he so decided to ride again after a long period.( suicidal to do it on the CTE right? ). i guess for youngters it is easier to pick up 2B after a prolong period, but not easy for older people....eyesight issue, coordination issue....thats why now i see alot of ah peh riding 3 wheeler..haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged January 24, 2014 Share January 24, 2014 Maybe, maybe not. Depends on the individuals, not so much the age. I've seen youngsters who've had problems grasping the basics and older folks picking it up with ease. And vice versa. Drivers have the advantage of a) judgement and anticipation of traffic b) a sense of vulnerability once they sit on the bike, so they rarely ride like dongs c) an understanding of how manual gears and clutches work (if they learnt/driven manual cars). Plus anyone who rides a bicycle will have some idea of the balance-on-two-wheels thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator January 27, 2014 Share January 27, 2014 Maybe, maybe not. Depends on the individuals, not so much the age. I've seen youngsters who've had problems grasping the basics and older folks picking it up with ease. And vice versa. Drivers have the advantage of a) judgement and anticipation of traffic b) a sense of vulnerability once they sit on the bike, so they rarely ride like dongs c) an understanding of how manual gears and clutches work (if they learnt/driven manual cars). Plus anyone who rides a bicycle will have some idea of the balance-on-two-wheels thing. Quite different when you ride a bike and bicycle actually. I still remember my first lesson on riding, I almost banged into a stationary bike because I had forgotten how to brake. Forgotten whether to clutch in, or brake first, and stupidly decided to head on with the stationary bike. Haha. Come to think about it, it wasn't a almost incident. I did banged into the bike and other learners came to help me lift my bike up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear January 28, 2014 Share January 28, 2014 (edited) i'm interested in how you became a moderator. lol anyway, if you know how to ride a bicycle competently, it helps in figure 8 and slalom when u are learning bike Edited January 28, 2014 by Ngck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator January 30, 2014 Share January 30, 2014 i'm interested in how you became a moderator. lol anyway, if you know how to ride a bicycle competently, it helps in figure 8 and slalom when u are learning bike Do like what the other MCFers like to do. CSI me out. To me riding a bike and a bicycle are completely different things. The only thing similar is the balancing concept. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear January 30, 2014 Share January 30, 2014 Do like what the other MCFers like to do. CSI me out. To me riding a bike and a bicycle are completely different things. The only thing similar is the balancing concept. its true ...knowing how to ride a bicycle b4 learning 2B helps in balacing and a bit of confidence only...motorbike needs a totally different learning curve because of its relative weight, size, speed and maneuverability to that of a bicycle and not to mention the numerous stressful traffic rules/conditions each learner needs to watch out for. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged January 30, 2014 Share January 30, 2014 Do like what the other MCFers like to do. CSI me out. To me riding a bike and a bicycle are completely different things. The only thing similar is the balancing concept. Humans were built to walk and run only. Anyone who has never operated a moving vehicle will need time to understand how speed and braking works. This is where riding the bicycle helps vs someone who has never ridden one before (eg. they know not to jam the fookin brakes when they want to slow down or stop). Not to mention better understanding of speed and distance. Basically the person who has ridden before will have less to adapt to and be less task-loaded during the learning process, because some of the basic understanding is already there in the brain. Better still someone who has ridden a bicycle with gears, because they will understand the concept of gearing as well. Then it's a matter learning where the controls are and putting the coordination together. Also a big jump is the innate understanding and experience of the gyroscopic effect that rotating wheels have to stabilise a two-wheel vehicle. They might never even heard about gyroscopic forces before, but if you can explain it in layman's terms most people understand and it helps speed up the initiation to handling a motorcycle. The same kind of applies to learner drivers. If they have ever operated something smaller, eg. go-kart or forklift etc, they will find it easier to relate and pick up things. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear January 30, 2014 Share January 30, 2014 Do like what the other MCFers like to do. CSI me out. To me riding a bike and a bicycle are completely different things. The only thing similar is the balancing concept. CSI u out for what? i only interested in how u become moderator. not u.... lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 its true ...knowing how to ride a bicycle b4 learning 2B helps in balacing and a bit of confidence only...motorbike needs a totally different learning curve because of its relative weight, size, speed and maneuverability to that of a bicycle and not to mention the numerous stressful traffic rules/conditions each learner needs to watch out for. Yeap. After four months of riding, there's still so much to learn. And before I know it, I'm gonna be taking my 2A soon, in another seven months. 4 stationary drops and a skid has summed up my riding journey so far. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela525 4th Gear February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 (edited) I also wanna apply to be moderator..how ar? Must spray my car to pink? Edited February 6, 2014 by Axela525 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 I also wanna apply to be moderator..how ar? Must spray my car to pink? You can try that and come back to us again. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...