Blackforte Neutral Newbie September 29, 2009 Share September 29, 2009 Then go to sleep oreddy, lah - what are you sleep posting for? you reply me,i have to reply you too. its courtesy. you dont reply anymore huh. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2bfree Neutral Newbie September 29, 2009 Share September 29, 2009 Racism exists everywhere, true. But as a bunch, Asians tend to have more deeply entrenched racist tendencies than the "whites". The Chinese are probably the most racist, even among the Asians. The South Asians (Indians, etc.) are probably less racist when it comes to judging "other" races, but are plenty discriminatory when it comes to cherry picking amongst their own race, separating people by caste and sub-caste, etc. This, to me, is a form of racism, too. I know it's ironic to state what I did as baldly as I did, because even that is arguably a "racist" sentiment. Too bad - it is what it is, and the truth should be self-evident to anyone candid enough to want to own up to it. Even these forums contain plenty of racial epithets ("negro", "blackie" for a person of African descent, "Ah Neh/An Neh" for Indians, etc.) This is especially remarkable given all the moderation that goes on here (note to mods - you do a fine job, and this is not a slur against you, it's just hard to keep up), and all the sword-waving by our dear government about sedition and what-not. Yet the racist rhetoric somehow keeps slipping through into the ether. In contrast, you would be fairly hard pressed to find a racist epithet being weaseled into a post on a US car forum, for example - despite all the emphasis on free speech there, they're far more sensitive about these things, and an errant poster will immediately be challenged or shouted down, or a mod will step in. I should know, I've been a moderator on a US car forum for ages. But even though Asians tend to be more "racist" in their thinking than the whites, there's far less violent acting-out. If I were in US or Europe, my chances of encountering overtly expressed racist sentiment in a social setting would be far less than in an Asian setting - however, it's far more likely that if I do encounter such a racial element, there's a high chance of it getting physically ugly. Note that I didn't include Australia here, but that's only because the Australians have the somewhat dubious distinction of apparently harbouring more vehement racists per capita than the rest of the predominantly "white" countries. And it's quite likely to get violent down under too, which can make visiting Australia quite a nightmare for an Asian if you happen to get unlucky in your encounters. Asians are not as racist as u think. If u look at history, u will realised dat the "whites" are racist. Most genocides are frm Africa & Europe, like the Armenians, the Jews etc. Most crimes against another race is frm the States, The Native Americans/The African Americans. Btw, since u are a moderator for a US car forum, dun u knw dat "negro" & "blackie" originates frm States. And there are even worse for the Asians, Latin Americans etc. & "NEh" is a simple & non-offensive calling for Indians, they call each other "Neh" too. Hope u can hav a beta insight to Asians. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic September 29, 2009 Share September 29, 2009 (edited) Are you saying certain groups get preference shares, special permit to buy car without paying prohibitive tax, or buying a house with 15% discount although you are a millionaire and can jolly well afford it and the likes? I do not know if such things occur here, I've not heard of it. But these are the affirmative actions I'm referring to that exist in certain country. Way to bring in a straw man - you just stated "Affirmative Action" in your original post, and that can take many forms. No, I've not heard it take the forms you describe in your post, but it does take other forms. And I wouldn't be surprised if there's a lot you "haven't heard of". You are saying certain group gets preference in university entrance. If you can't put forth the evidence, perhaps you should not even mention it in the first place. This is your mere conjecture and sheer rubbish for the sake of writing a post. Is there a need to get so offensive? You should know as well as I do about the bullying tactics used by the establishment here - none of these things are likely to be declared openly, in writing. And the establishment is likely to challenge any naysayer pretty much as you did, but with the added burden of legal threats. But these things do happen - or at least they did, in the not too distant past, and nothing you say can negate that. But I will not say anymore to convince you, since it involves breaking a confidence. Believe what you like. Edited September 29, 2009 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic September 29, 2009 Share September 29, 2009 (edited) I know what you're saying. The US has gone through a very dark period of racism in its recent past, but it's far better now. In their process of open, nation-wide soul-searching, they've largely managed to eradicate such sentiments in most people (the mainstream). However, the remaining stalwart fringe elements that harbour such sentiments are likely to be the really hardcore "violent" white supremacist types. Which is why I stated that if you encounter white racists, good luck, because you might just have your head bashed in before you're even aware of it - they tend to be far more physically violent than Asian racists. Edited September 29, 2009 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear September 29, 2009 Share September 29, 2009 Racism is a distant second as compared to elitism, nepotism and cronyism here. These traits are natural by-products when a society has obscenely wide income gap such as ours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear September 29, 2009 Share September 29, 2009 You seemed very perturbed by the reply by double quoting here. More than that, you were offended, really. But that wasn't the intention. I was merely expressing my opinion which I could not agree with your point. And which faculty was that by the way?? Do we have such law or affirmative action which guarantees places for these group of people you mentioned? Not that I know of. I personally have not experienced it during my time nor my mates. I can't agree more with you there are really a lot things which I do not know or heard of. Never mind if you are not comfortable of mentioning it for fear of prosecution. That's okay with me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 really? then how come you got 2 yellow cards? okay kiddin again. hahaa [laugh] i am indeed a racist person, so i dun want to hide that and pretend that i am a good person. its just that in spore we cannot talk openly about this type of thing. too bad..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 to all chinese, malays, indians etc.... there will be people who like your race and there will be people who dun like your race. dun need to be too upset about this....its part and parcel of living in spore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freemen 2nd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 Its not about race, its about Human Selfishness. Discrimination occurs when one is selfish. They seek differences to pinpoint. Even in their own race, they discriminate among themselves base on dialect group, area group etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Intervuurt Neutral Newbie September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 was reading some forum re the F1 Rocks concerts, and one indian forummer commented there that the concert organisers are racists because they never bring in famous indian artiste, only bring in famous chinese and english artistes. when i read that, i immediately tried to think of one famous indian artiste but couldn't. as if the indian forummer could read my mind, he had another comment: that if we can't think of a famous indian artiste, it's because we are racist. WTF. This kind of farked up logic also got. i think indian or chinese or caucasian or what, so long as we're human, we're farking idiots sometimes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 Just look at our air force and navy. Is there a certain reason to exclude certain races??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 Just look at our air force and navy. Is there a certain reason to exclude certain races??? think 'arty too leh....but ESP Airforce Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbine Neutral Newbie September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 Neh means brother in Tamil, just like Abang in Melayu... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 i thot Air Force got Malay pilot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 that was after there was some ruckus....but think C-130 or heli....not f-16 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 no leh.. is F-16 fighter pilot.. and before him got another malay pilot, now is flying instructor in Aussieland for RSAF.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 was reading some forum re the F1 Rocks concerts, and one indian forummer commented there that the concert organisers are racists because they never bring in famous indian artiste, only bring in famous chinese and english artistes. when i read that, i immediately tried to think of one famous indian artiste but couldn't. as if the indian forummer could read my mind, he had another comment: that if we can't think of a famous indian artiste, it's because we are racist. WTF. This kind of farked up logic also got. i think indian or chinese or caucasian or what, so long as we're human, we're farking idiots sometimes. i would put the decision in not bringing in indian acts to be due to commercial reasons more than anything else. The forumer who commented that it's racist is stupid. p/s: I'm not racist in making that comment cos he was simply using his arse to think Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 think 'arty too leh....but ESP Airforce arty now got leow.... saw a few NSFs when i went back for ICT and they are holding appts like gun commanders etc. Not GD role like storeman or driver. Even my reservist battalion has them as drivers Signals - i think still don't have ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...