PSP415 Supersonic December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 26 minutes ago, Victor68 said: I am sure if a chio bu from another country come by, he will accept her and there is no racist concern. Why should he worry about his daughter marring who. It is a 'he can, others cannot' attitude lah. Nah, he's against his own daughter's choice, hence, she had to run away from home. Its beyond skin deep with his mindset, chio bu or otherwise. Guess only he alone knows and is convinced whether his racism stays or goes. Anyways, its up to the whoever who he/she wants to marry or befriend, gone are the days where parents alone hold the final say in such matters. Yada-ing Cheers ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 Food for thought. Many in his position would also proudly say must be certain religion.. cos family tradition etc etc. Why then is it ok? Or is it ok to have such views... just keep to yourselves? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 52 minutes ago, Playtime said: Food for thought. Many in his position would also proudly say must be certain religion.. cos family tradition etc etc. Why then is it ok? Or is it ok to have such views... just keep to yourselves? Haha sensitive topic. Best not to go further. Anyway if my kid want to marry angmoh/angmoh brought up Asian ethnicity. I also will advise them against it. It's like statistically 50% failure. Many of their marriages don't last. Lol. 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 (edited) 3 hours ago, Playtime said: Food for thought. Many in his position would also proudly say must be certain religion.. cos family tradition etc etc. Why then is it ok? Or is it ok to have such views... just keep to yourselves? Yeah, some communities (plural, here, not pointing at any particular, just that we all know there's more than one) are quite conservative about the need to marry within their "own feather" so to speak. But just keep these views to themselves and not expressed publicly, no one can say they are wrong. As for this lecturer, his mistake was to go on a tirade in public. Mixed race couples already have a tough time getting together and deciding many things for their children (whose language/culture/religion to follow, what 2nd language to pick in school and what if neither parent is proficient in it, etc. etc.) - just give them a break lah. Edited December 29, 2022 by Sosaria 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 2 hours ago, Lala81 said: Haha sensitive topic. Best not to go further. Anyway if my kid want to marry angmoh/angmoh brought up Asian ethnicity. I also will advise them against it. It's like statistically 50% failure. Many of their marriages don't last. Lol. I fully agree. I married a vietnamese so is still Asian ethnicity. And there are lots of difficulties and issues. Can't imagine if I married an Ang Moh. 4 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 43 minutes ago, Philipkee said: I fully agree. I married a vietnamese so is still Asian ethnicity. And there are lots of difficulties and issues. Can't imagine if I married an Ang Moh. Radx will say you marry Chinese also will have lots of difficulties and issues 🤭 1 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 Nothing wrong for parent/s to have expectation on kid's partner background like educational level, cultural upbringing, social economic status. But to publicly announced it on a specific attributes, then riles the general public or the law. Then too bad lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 1 hour ago, Philipkee said: I fully agree. I married a vietnamese so is still Asian ethnicity. And there are lots of difficulties and issues. Can't imagine if I married an Ang Moh. Singapore Chinese Marrying a PRC Chinese also can have serious problems... dunno can consider racist for a local Chinese to say that 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 2 hours ago, Sosaria said: Yeah, some communities (plural, here, not pointing at any particular, just that we all know there's more than one) are quite conservative about the need to marry within their "own feather" so to speak. But just keep these views to themselves and not expressed publicly, no one can say they are wrong. As for this lecturer, his mistake was to go on a tirade in public. Mixed race couples already have a tough time getting together and deciding many things for their children (whose language/culture/religion to follow, what 2nd language to pick in school and what if neither parent is proficient in it, etc. etc.) - just give them a break lah. The issue was he did it publicly in Singapore. Has he likewise done the same in some western country he won't face such a backslash publicly or legally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 During old days, ppl form their clans, villages and kampongs by same family name, by same dialect, by same skin color, religion, etc. Because plane, car, train, ship and more importantly internet not invented yet. Many older gen ppl have grew up with their "traditional values" taught by their elders but unfortunately now in 2022 still stuck with those ideas today. Younger gen live in a different more connected world now. If old ppl cannot adapt and still stuck with old ideas, there will only be struggle and conflict with their children. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 (edited) 34 minutes ago, Jellandross said: During old days, ppl form their clans, villages and kampongs by same family name, by same dialect, by same skin color, religion, etc. Because plane, car, train, ship and more importantly internet not invented yet. Many older gen ppl have grew up with their "traditional values" taught by their elders but unfortunately now in 2022 still stuck with those ideas today. Younger gen live in a different more connected world now. If old ppl cannot adapt and still stuck with old ideas, there will only be struggle and conflict with their children. @Jellandross I told my son and daughter they are responsible for their own happiness, marriage........ Thus I don't really interfere in whatever race, religion, age etc............it is their choice But But, told them to make sure they meet their future MIL first before deciding further on marriage............best is not to stay together 🤣 As long they don't make the same mistake like their father 🤣 If they have further doubts, pls refer to the below 🤣 We, the citizens of Singapore, pledge ourselves as one united people, regardless of race, language or religion, to build a democratic society based on justice and equality so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress for our nation. Edited December 29, 2022 by Mahjong74 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 6 hours ago, inlinesix said: Radx will say you marry Chinese also will have lots of difficulties and issues 🤭 I never say but now that u mention it… 😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 7 hours ago, inlinesix said: Radx will say you marry Chinese also will have lots of difficulties and issues 🤭 At least he didn't say i marry a man then no problem. Or... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 4 hours ago, Mahjong74 said: @Jellandross I told my son and daughter they are responsible for their own happiness, marriage........ Thus I don't really interfere in whatever race, religion, age etc............it is their choice But But, told them to make sure they meet their future MIL first before deciding further on marriage............best is not to stay together 🤣 As long they don't make the same mistake like their father 🤣 If they have further doubts, pls refer to the below 🤣 We, the citizens of Singapore, pledge ourselves as one united people, regardless of race, language or religion, to build a democratic society based on justice and equality so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress for our nation. Someone say it's just an aspiration only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 49 minutes ago, Philipkee said: At least he didn't say i marry a man then no problem. Or... Even mother Teresa or Gandhi will give up on u 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 (edited) It's due to different culture, it's not being racist. But if the skin colour so happen to be different, you'll chalk it up as being racist. So we have a new word "culturist" ? Edited December 29, 2022 by Kb27 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 In certain countries they even marry within… so there 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 (edited) 32 minutes ago, Kb27 said: It's due to different culture, it's not being racist. But if the skin colour so happen to be different, you'll chalk it up as being racist. So we have a new word "culturist" ? So if i say you cannot marry a different sex, i am sexist? Actually in the USA, they would call me homophobe or bigot if i said that. 😞 Edited December 30, 2022 by Philipkee ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...