Beehive3783 Twincharged September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 Signals don't have. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 not to stir up anytin..but to find them is just like finding a needle in a haystack.and surely must have been through rounds of background checks unlike others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noobcar Clutched September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 I believe that in Sg we are more racial tolerance then a lot of other country and with the gahman hard stand on racism, I don't think this problem will really surface up or turn into violent like other country had. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 I believe that in Sg we are more racial tolerance then a lot of other country and with the gahman hard stand on racism, I don't think this problem will really surface up or turn into violent like other country had. its because there's severe punishement for people who turn race into politics. without such punishement, people will go around insulting other races. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 to all chinese, malays, indians etc.... there will be people who like your race and there will be people who dun like your race. dun need to be too upset about this....its part and parcel of living in spore. Correction.. part and parcel of living Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 was reading some forum re the F1 Rocks concerts, and one indian forummer commented there that the concert organisers are racists because they never bring in famous indian artiste, only bring in famous chinese and english artistes. when i read that, i immediately tried to think of one famous indian artiste but couldn't. as if the indian forummer could read my mind, he had another comment: that if we can't think of a famous indian artiste, it's because we are racist. WTF. This kind of farked up logic also got. i think indian or chinese or caucasian or what, so long as we're human, we're farking idiots sometimes. The organisers of F1 rocks may or may not be racists, but they are a commercial entity, and thus bring in the acts that will make them money. Whats the point of bringing in an indian singer if they won't make money from him/her??? I agree on the farked up logic bit too! Not knowing about performers doesn't mean anything about any of us being racist. Do you know of any Arab singers??? Does this mean we're racist towards them?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 indian and arab singers...if bring in, sure lose $$$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 indian and arab singers...if bring in, sure lose $$$. Bring in any non-famous (by local standards) singer, and it will still be the same regardless of where they're from. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 ya lor. they can get the most famous singers from Indonesia, China and India, but it will be of no use if we don't know who they are.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 Its not about race, its about Human Selfishness. Discrimination occurs when one is selfish. They seek differences to pinpoint. Even in their own race, they discriminate among themselves base on dialect group, area group etc... tell us which human is not selfish, regardless of race? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_blue Neutral Newbie October 7, 2009 Author Share October 7, 2009 Its not about race, its about Human Selfishness. Discrimination occurs when one is selfish. They seek differences to pinpoint. Even in their own race, they discriminate among themselves base on dialect group, area group etc... i so agree with that statement! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryosuke 1st Gear October 7, 2009 Share October 7, 2009 they are not there not because they are racist. it's just to prevent conflict of interest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mechwira 1st Gear October 7, 2009 Share October 7, 2009 to all chinese, malays, indians etc.... there will be people who like your race and there will be people who dun like your race. dun need to be too upset about this....its part and parcel of living in spore. just because its part and parcel of life doesn mean we have to accept it and not get upset. its like, encountering reckless drivers is part of parcel of being on the road. doesn mean i shouldn get upset with it or i should just let these reckless drivers be. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear October 7, 2009 Share October 7, 2009 just because its part and parcel of life doesn mean we have to accept it and not get upset. its like, encountering reckless drivers is part of parcel of being on the road. doesn mean i shouldn get upset with it or i should just let these reckless drivers be. at most can complain...even report to police also not much use Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/ex-ngee-ann-poly-lecturer-jailed-trial-reveals-his-daughter-had-left-home-indian Ex-Ngee Ann Poly lecturer jailed, trial reveals his daughter had left home with an Indian boyfriend SINGAPORE – A former Ngee Ann Polytechnic senior lecturer, who was seen in a widely shared video making racist remarks to an inter-ethnic couple in 2021, was on Thursday (Dec 29) sentenced to five weeks’ jail and a $6,000 fine. Tan Boon Lee, 61, had earlier pleaded guilty to two charges – one count of wounding an individual’s racial feelings, for which the jail term was imposed, and another of possessing obscene films, which accounted for the fine. Another two charges of committing acts which he knew were prejudicial to the maintenance of harmony between religious groups were taken into consideration for his sentencing. In sentencing him, Principal District Judge Victor Yeo said Tan’s remarks were “most troubling” as they insinuated that there was something wrong with being a certain race, and could thus undermine racial harmony in Singapore. “I cannot ignore the embarrassment and hurt felt by (the couple) and the public disquiet generated. He had clearly crossed the red line,” the judge said. On June 5, 2021, Tan, who was at the time a lecturer in Ngee Ann Polytechnic’s engineering department, directed racist remarks at Mr Dave Parkash, 26, in the vicinity of Angullia Park in Orchard Road. Mr Parkash, a Singaporean who is half-Indian and half-Filipino, was with his girlfriend, Ms Jacqueline Ho, at the time. The couple were walking towards a carpark in Orchard Boulevard when Tan crossed paths with them and made the comment that it was “such a disgrace, Indian man with a Chinese girl”. Ms Ho, who is half-Thai and half-Singaporean Chinese, recorded the confrontation that followed and Mr Parkash shared the nine-minute-long video on Facebook. In it, Tan accused Mr Parkash of “preying on a Chinese girl”. He also said a Chinese woman should not be with an Indian man. Tan added: “The only thing is when you’re preying on Chinese girl, I tell you the Chinese don’t like it.” He also told Mr Parkash: “If you are proud of your own race, you marry somebody Indian.” Tan then said Mr Parkash’s girlfriend’s parents would be disgraced as she was dating an Indian man. He added: “You do not see a Chinese guy going to an Indian girl. There is a reason. There is something wrong with the race, there is something wrong with the colour. If she is an Indian you may not like her. (Your girlfriend) is Chinese.” About a month after his outburst, Tan issued a formal apology on Facebook. Separately, in June 2021, the police uncovered 64 obscene videos on Tan’s phone. These videos showed women engaged in sexual acts, and they were downloaded from online sources or sent by his friends for his personal enjoyment. Deputy Public Prosecutor Yeow Xuan sought at least four weeks’ jail for Tan, saying earlier that his racist remarks were “vile and sustained”. Defence lawyer Eugene Thuraisingam sought a community-based sentence for his client. He told the court in November that his client had taught at Ngee Ann Polytechnic for more than 30 years and had never discriminated against anyone based on race and religion. He also said that Tan’s daughter had run away from home with her Indian boyfriend and this weighed on his client’s mind when he saw the couple. The judge said on Thursday that while Tan felt it was Mr Parkash who was trying to disturb racial harmony by uploading the video, it was Tan who had approached the couple and directed his unhappiness towards them. “He was aware that Ms Ho was recording the entire incident, but he had no qualms with continuing with his racist and hurtful remarks.” The judge noted that it was to the couple’s credit that they stayed relatively calm despite Tan’s persistent harassment as the matter could have easily escalated to the use of vulgarities or violence. The judge added that the number of police reports involving racial or religious friction has risen over the years and the courts must deal with such offences firmly and severely. Those who deliberately wound the religious or racial feelings of a person may be jailed for up to three years, fined, or both. Those who possess obscene films may be fined up to $40,000, or jailed for up to a year, or both. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 Wow old story liao. This guy needs to go for check up lah. Confirm short circuit one 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 (edited) 13 minutes ago, Victor68 said: Wow old story liao. This guy needs to go for check up lah. Confirm short circuit one Think it could be partly due to his own daughter left home (article mentioned she run away from home) to stay with her Indian boyfriend. Likely this was the final light feather to trigger his pent up feelings. It is definitely not an uncommon bias but times have changed. Besides, all races have red coloured blood coursing thru their veins/arteries, what is there to be racist about. Hopefully, he will not disregard his own future grandchildren. Life can always throw such events to shatter one's better-than-thou mindsets. Yada-ing Stay safe Cheers Edited December 29, 2022 by PSP415 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged December 29, 2022 Share December 29, 2022 2 minutes ago, PSP415 said: Think it could be partly due to his own daughter left home (article mentioned she run away from home) to stay with her Indian boyfriend. Likely this was the final light feather to trigger his pent up feelings. It is definitely not an uncommon bias but times have changed. Besides, all races have red coloured blood coursing thru their veins/arteries, what is there to be racist about. Hopefully, he will not disregard his own future grandchildren. Life can always throw such events to shatter one's better-than-thou mindsets. Yada-ing Stay safe Cheers I am sure if a chio bu from another country come by, he will accept her and there is no racist concern. Why should he worry about his daughter marring who. It is a 'he can, others cannot' attitude lah. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...